Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th September 2016, 12:41   #21041  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,359
It works how it works. Use it or don't.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2016, 18:07   #21042  |  Link
VictorLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russian Crimea
Posts: 335
nevcairiel
)
You are quite right and I agree in this case, but hope that in case of CUVID you'll implement HEVC 10bit support if it will be possible https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/965840
It is very very important for me. You are my last hope (if nVIDIA will not object) for smooth watching 3840x2160p50 (60) HEVC 10bit channels from SATs on WinXP with my new GTX750 GM206 - all necessary for me video including 4K HEVC 8bit is perfect with 0.68.1 - Thank you very much for your filters.
PS. I agree even on LAV CUVID Decoder i.e. 0.14 with correct 4K h265 10bit support.
VictorLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2016, 20:28   #21043  |  Link
amayra
Quality Checker
 
amayra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 286
is more than 4 months since last stable build how about last nightly is look stable enough for me
__________________
I love Doom9
amayra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2016, 20:54   #21044  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 260
Has any progress been made on decoding the object based audio portion of Atmos and/or DTS:X?

What new features of bug fixes could we expect in the next stable version?
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2016, 23:12   #21045  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,998
what's the point of decoding object based audio codecs?

you need a mixer/audio renderer that can handle this type of audio too.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 04:14   #21046  |  Link
VictorLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russian Crimea
Posts: 335
max_verem from https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/965840 with philipl's help can hardware play 4K HEVC 10bit (as I understand with 8bit dithering) using CUVID on Linux already.
Developers of LAV Video Decoder, tell please is it possible, theoretically, to do the same with CUVID in LAV Video Decoder?
And one more question: why CUVID not work on Win10 totally?
PS. Despite of last question I need CUVID H265 10bit hardware decoding on WinXP and Win7x64.

Last edited by VictorLS; 2nd October 2016 at 05:04.
VictorLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 04:51   #21047  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,926
@nevcairiel

what is that ?

every scene change in the Transformer (ATME Kyrion Encoder) sample causes a massive latency spike of 15 ms ?

http://demo-uhd3d.com/fiche.php?cat=uhd&id=22

Lav Video (15 ms latency spike every scene change)




Lentoid Decoder (no issue)




I Frame decoding performance issue ?

i guess it could match with this

Lav Video CPU




Lentoid CPU

__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 2nd October 2016 at 05:43.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 07:19   #21048  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
what's the point of decoding object based audio codecs?

you need a mixer/audio renderer that can handle this type of audio too.
The same reason we wanted to be able to decode DTS-HD MA...

To fully experience the audio track without compromises.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 08:52   #21049  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,998
even if you can decode it you can't use it.

what is the compromises of bit streaming object based audio. every hardware has to bit stream it.

even if we could decode object based audio and send this decode data to your AVR it couldn't do anything with it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 10:33   #21050  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
The same reason we wanted to be able to decode DTS-HD MA...

To fully experience the audio track without compromises.
DTS-HD MA is a "traditional" format. It decodes to a fixed number of channels, like TrueHD or FLAC. Object-based audio is a completely different paradigm entirely, which makes things harder. If the audio decoder outputs decoded object-based audio, the next step in the chain (the audio renderer) needs to know what do to with it. In practice, that probably means someone needs to write an audio renderer that is capable of correctly mixing and rendering object audio while taking end user setup into account (how many speakers and where they're located). That's a lot of work - way more work than would be required to support a traditional format.
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 19:50   #21051  |  Link
markanini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 299
I'd love to see replaygain support.
markanini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2016, 00:08   #21052  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,926
Hmm lav 68.1-31

causing sync issues again

sonyvegas14_best_hightier_360°.mov

https://www.sendspace.com/file/87bq1x






Something wrong on the splitter side or the decoder or both ?


tried the file with nightly MPV it plays fine


PS: Just tried MPC-BE Internal nightly filters they work also just fine with the bitstream so looks like a bug, though the scene change issues with the transformer bitstream remain untouched.





Lentoid still fails with the bitstream and mpc-be splitter combo

__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 3rd October 2016 at 01:06.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2016, 15:51   #21053  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,664
The Frame Time Correction option in MPC-HC can 'fix' the problems with that sample.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2016, 18:21   #21054  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,926
right just pushing c with lav video and the problem is gone

aiks what is the right/wrong behavior now ?

should it always only playback with the FTC correctly on EVR with 25 fps or should it playback from itself like in MPV (ogl) and MPC-BE without FTC @25 fps on EVR ?

FTC has also impact on the Transformer Sample instead of 3 or 4 consective dropouts after a scene change you only get 1 bigger one though im not really sure which behavior is to prefer both is bad in its own way


with ftc



without ftc



Though if i think about it maybe it was done on purpose to get this stop hard cut effect ?



but that makes no sense at all as scene blends that got detected as sencechanges are also affected so most probably it really is a overflow situation on Atemes encoder side @ that time
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 3rd October 2016 at 20:07.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2016, 22:22   #21055  |  Link
fxv300
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
DXVA corruption

This issue also happens with AMD Polaris range.
It could be a LAV filter issue.
Blog here
video



Quote:
Originally Posted by Clemens View Post
Hello,

I have heavy artifacts if I use dxva2 (native) with my GTX 960 4gb, with Software decoding or QSV it's no problem.

The content is of a TV channel, some of the times its just fine on that channel sometimes I get the artifacts.

Here you can download the sample (is SD and I think H.264): https://www.dropbox.com/s/2zxhgqx2dh...ia_bug.ts?dl=0
Is this a known bug? Is there a workaround? Have others also problems with Nvidia graphics playing this short sample?

If needed I want to make screen record of the artifact...

Thanks and kind regards,
Clemens
__________________
AMD PhenomII 6core T1100 3.3Ghz W10_64_16G Ram Sapphire RX 480 8G SoundsOKOK QAcoustic 2020i, ROKU4
AzureWave AD-SP400 DVB-S2 BlackGold BGT3620 DVB-T2 Monitor LG 27MU67 SONY STR-DN8600
fxv300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2016, 08:24   #21056  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,359
All these issues happen with other decoder as well, sometimes at slightly different circumstances, but still happens. Polaris decoders are just broken, if its in drivers or in the hardware only AMD can tell you.
The sample you quoted for example is also broken with Microsofts decoder, so its very likely a driver or hardware issue.

People really shouldn't jump to conclusions without proper information. H264 DXVA2 decoding in particular has been well tested over various generations of hardware, so if suddenly a specific piece of hardware shows issues, its far more likely to be that hardware (or its drivers), rather than a fundamental issue in the software. Even more so if other decoders show the same problems.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2016, 00:39   #21057  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,926
As i said wouldn't really surprise seeing how catastrophically UVDs Parser behavior was especially at the beginning with Broadcast and Resilience Playback Nvidia had only very minor issues that got really fast fixed 1 after another via Firmware updates early on through lot of developer and community feedback with problematic bitstreams (not bios firmware but the VPX Firmware on the Driver side) mostly.

So this is something AMD still has to go through to get their Hardware more stable in the future lot of bad decision in the past where made and Nvidia ran so fast away with their more open ecosystem approach initiated by Roy Taylor back then, until Intel arrived and hell did they pressured.

We already see some some really great things from him now being the Corporate Vice President of Alliances for practically the whole AMD Ecosystem which even became so much more open then we just could have dreamed for on Nvidias side now feedback will be the key to domination the faster this process runs now the better.

And i really see that Doom9 once again could become the major aggregation point for this feedback and enhancing process for AMDs UVD and Media SDKs
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 14th October 2016 at 01:24.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2016, 08:17   #21058  |  Link
Joniii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 301
Is there any way to to make LAV Filters prefer AC3 core from TrueHD?

My receiver doesn't support TrueHD and LAV Filters always plays TrueHD if available and I have to manually change to AC3 core from MPC-HC.
__________________

Windows 10 Pro 2004 with Media Center, 2 x DVB-C with cable cards
MPC-HC (madVR, LAV Filters, XySubFilter)
Sony Bravia 85X950H/85XH95
Yamaha RX-V685
Yamaha Piano Black NS-777/555/C444/YST-SW315
Joniii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2016, 11:02   #21059  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joniii View Post
Is there any way to to make LAV Filters prefer AC3 core from TrueHD?
Just untick 'Dolby TrueHD' under 'Bitstreaming (S/PDIF, HDMI)' options in LAV Audio.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2016, 14:10   #21060  |  Link
Joniii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Just untick 'Dolby TrueHD' under 'Bitstreaming (S/PDIF, HDMI)' options in LAV Audio.
That's how I've always set it up, but LAV Audio selects TrueHD as default and I have to manually select AC3 core.

Name:  nimetön2.jpg
Views: 1033
Size:  197.1 KB
__________________

Windows 10 Pro 2004 with Media Center, 2 x DVB-C with cable cards
MPC-HC (madVR, LAV Filters, XySubFilter)
Sony Bravia 85X950H/85XH95
Yamaha RX-V685
Yamaha Piano Black NS-777/555/C444/YST-SW315
Joniii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.