Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Programming and Hacking > Development

Old 9th May 2011, 23:20   #1  |  Link
diablo23q

Developing new MSU VirtualDub filter

Hello everyone!
I am studying in Moscow State University, Russia (sorry for crooked english), and now I have to start a project connected with video processing. Due to requirements it must contain interesting algorithms and must be needed to large group of people. So I'm asking you to help me decide what task to choose.

Now in detail.
Task must be in video processing area.
It will be VirtualDub filter as a result and it will be free to download from here: http://compression.ru/video/
It's desirable for task to be connected with following: stereo, 3d, depth maps, object detection, object tracking.
I will be glad to see any comments. If someone is intrested in development process - I'm ready to contact
diablo23q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2011, 23:21   #2  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer

Why not an Avisynth filter? Surely that would be more powerful, more flexible, easier to write, and usable by more people?
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2011, 23:44   #3  |  Link
diablo23q

It's recommended for me as a student. But I think it can be Avisynth filter.
Old 10th May 2011, 00:03   #4  |  Link
pbristow

I second what Dark Shakiri says. By creating an AVIsynth plugin, the result can be used by several different applications (including VirtualDub, of course), and be more powerfully combined with other tools and techniques.

Myself, I'd love to see a new approach to motion estimation & interpolation, based on 3d object recognition and tracking. At present, for motion estimation we have:
- In Virtualdub, the free MSU_Motion_Estimation.vdf plugin, thanks to you guys.