Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > DVD2AVI / DGIndex

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th February 2005, 02:52   #1  |  Link
vapor123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Error "File is not valid D2V file"

When I Prepare VOB files through Gordian Knot version 34.6 or 33.1 I receive the error "File is not a valid d2v , avi or avs file!". I have downloaded and reinstalled GN several times and I can't get it to open the D2V file. What could be causing this to happen? I had no problems using GN 33.1 then I upgraded my HD and now GN will not work .

Any thoughts would be helpful.

Thanks in advance.


Gordian Knot 34.6
DGIndex 1.2.0 RC2
vapor123 is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 03:01   #2  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Probably you have mismatched DGIndex and DGDecode versions.

Do this. Forget GK for now. Just extract the DGMPGDec 1.2.0 RC3 release into a directory. Go to that directory. Run DGIndex right there and process a file to make a D2V right there in that same directory. Then make this AVS script right there:

loadplugin(".\dgdecode.dll")
mpeg2source(".\your_d2v.d2v")

Then load the AVS script into VirtualDub. Does it work?

Last edited by Guest; 11th February 2005 at 03:16.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 03:58   #3  |  Link
vapor123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
I ran your script:

loadplugin(".\dgdecode")
mpeg2source(".\frosty2.d2v")

and VirtualDubMod just closes, nothing runs.
vapor123 is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 04:06   #4  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Well, I left off the .dll on "dgdecode" but I added it in an edit. I assume you have that?

OK, then. Can you post the first 20 lines of the D2V?

And can you cut the clip to a reasonable size, make sure that still fails, and then upload it to my server? If you do that you are guaranteed to get a fix. I'll even guarantee it tonight if you get it to me. Here is the ftp:

ftp.neuron2.net
usr: guest@neuron2.net (enter it just like that)
pwd: guest

Up to several hundred MB is fine.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 05:34   #5  |  Link
vapor123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
I did change my script to include the .dll and I got the same result. Below are the first 20 some lines of the D2V file:

DGIndexProjectFile06
1
31 F:\FROSTY\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_1.VOB

Stream_Type=1
iDCT_Algorithm=5 (1:MMX 2:SSEMMX 3:FPU 4:REF 5:SSE2MMX)
YUVRGB_Scale=1 (0:TVScale 1:PCScale)
Luminance_Filter=0,0 (Gamma, Offset)
Clipping=0,0,0,0 (ClipLeft, ClipRight, ClipTop, ClipBottom)
Aspect_Ratio=4:3
Picture_Size=720x480
Field_Operation=0 (0:None 1:ForcedFILM 2:RawFrames)
Frame_Rate=29970
Location=0,0,0,7FF57

7 0 2048 2 1 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12
7 0 374784 2 1 12 12
7 0 477184 2 1 12 12
7 0 575488 2 1 12 12
7 0 665600 2 2 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12
7 0 1155072 2 2 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12
7 0 1636352 2 2 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12
7 0 2140160 2 2 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12
7 0 2643968 2 2 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12
7 0 3151872 2 2 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12
7 0 3639296 2 2 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12 12
vapor123 is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 05:37   #6  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
That D2V was made by a much earlier version of DGIndex. You have to remake your D2Vs with the new DGIndex 1.2.0 RC3!

Umm, why didn't you follow my directions? Just curious.

Last edited by Guest; 11th February 2005 at 05:44.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 05:47   #7  |  Link
vapor123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Well unfortunatly I received that file of DGIndex from Doom9's page and it is not the most current version as stated "DGMPGDec - latest version of the tool formerly known as DVD2AVI".

I will try to locate the correct version of the program and follow your instructions.
vapor123 is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 06:05   #8  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
OK. Get it right here:

http://neuron2.net/fixd2v/decodefix.html

DGIndex and DGDecode come in matched pairs. So be sure to use the correct version of both DGIndex.exe and DGDecode.dll. Don't mix and match from different distribution zip files.

Please post back if you have any further problems.

Thank you for your feedback. I see an opportunity to improve the documentation.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 06:39   #9  |  Link
vapor123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Alright, I have installed the correct version, 1.2.0 RC3 and I have run the script as above and I still have the same results both in GK and per your instructions above. When I run VirtualDubMod with the script it just closes.

Below is the information from the D2V file:

DGIndexProjectFile08
1
30 C:\Movies\DGIndex\VTS_01_1.VOB

Stream_Type=1
iDCT_Algorithm=5 (1:MMX 2:SSEMMX 3:FPU 4:REF 5:SSE2MMX)
YUVRGB_Scale=0 (0:TVScale 1:PCScale)
Luminance_Filter=0,0 (Gamma, Offset)
Clipping=0,0,0,0 (ClipLeft, ClipRight, ClipTop, ClipBottom)
Aspect_Ratio=4:3
Picture_Size=720x480
Field_Operation=0 (0:None 1:ForcedFILM 2:RawFrames)
Frame_Rate=29970
Location=0,0,0,7FF57

c00 1 0 2048 2 1 b2 92 b2 a2 b2 a2 b2 a2 b2 a2
c00 1 0 376832 2 1 b2 92
c00 1 0 481280 2 1 b2 92
c00 1 0 579584 2 1 b2 92
vapor123 is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 06:46   #10  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Please put a source clip on my ftp site so I can figure this out for you. Use VOBSplit to cut off the front and give that to me. Make sure it still fails before uploading it.

Also, use Windows search to see if you have more than one DGDecode.dll on your PC. If you do, delete all but the RC3 one in the directory that I asked you to make. It's especially important to stop Avisynth from autoloading any other versions.

Last edited by Guest; 11th February 2005 at 06:52.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 07:48   #11  |  Link
vapor123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Neuron2

I searched my HD and found the version of DGDecode.dll in the Avisynth directory was not current to the RC3 version of your prog. I corrected this and now I am not having any problems in GK, though the script still isn't functioning correctly.

I will look into that tomorrow when I am more awake. If I am still experiencing the same issue I will fillow up with your.

Thanks for your help.
vapor123 is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 10:07   #12  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Quote:
Originally posted by vapor123
I will look into that tomorrow when I am more awake.
What is this obsession people have with sleeping?

Glad to have got it resolved and working for you!
Guest is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 14:52   #13  |  Link
Squirrel Nut Zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 6
The same thing...

I have the same problem. Starting from installing GordianKnot.RipPack.0.33.1.Setup.exe and now with GordianKnot.RipPack.0.34.6.beta.Update.exe

I check dll in Avisinth folder also - it's Ok but the problem persists.

The only solution for me is the use of DVD2AVI instead of DGIndex.
Squirrel Nut Zipper is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 14:54   #14  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Here we go again...

Did you actually follow *all* my instructions as given in this thread to find out where your DGIndex/DGDecode mismatch is coming from?

Please post the first 20 lines of your D2V file.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 15:11   #15  |  Link
Squirrel Nut Zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 6
One more thing!

I'll check it but first I must say one more thing: DGIndex RC2 and RC3 doesn't respond to F3 key command!

So in fact there is a contradiction with GK instructions on the first tab of GK. It may be really confusing for some people!
Squirrel Nut Zipper is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 15:14   #16  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
My friend, there is no F3 hot key in DGIndex and this is not the GK support forum! I can help you with DGMPGDec issues only.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 15:29   #17  |  Link
niamh
Dismembered
 
niamh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Craggy Island
Posts: 873
Quote:
So in fact there is a contradiction with GK instructions on the first tab of GK.
Yes there is, those instructions have been written probably 2 years ago and are totally oudated(they refer to jackei's DVD2AVI).
Quote:
It may be really confusing for some people!
Well to be entirely honest, you are the first person I've met that was confused by it

I just thought I'd inform Squirrel Nut Zipper, and now I'm buzzing off again , since as neuron 2 mentioned rightly, this is off topic entirely.
__________________
Allen's Axiom: When all else fails, read the instructions.
niamh is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 15:45   #18  |  Link
Squirrel Nut Zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 6
Hmm...

What can I say... Actually it was in 1.1.x version.

Anyway, why don't you implement this? Don't you think it will be convenient? Is it so difficult thing to do?

Concerning the main topic I made the script as you say; it opens in VirtualDubMod flawlessly. So it seems there is a problem with some dll's coming with GK. Cannot DGIndex or GK be confused by the presence of MPEG2Dec.dll or mpeg2dec3.dll in GK folder? I think we need to move this topic to GK forum.
Squirrel Nut Zipper is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 15:57   #19  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Re: Hmm...

Quote:
Originally posted by Squirrel Nut Zipper
What can I say... Actually it was in 1.1.x version.

Anyway, why don't you implement this? Don't you think it will be convenient? Is it so difficult thing to do?
The autoincrement issue has been discussed here ad nauseum. Please read the existing threads before posting. Thank you.

Quote:
Concerning the main topic I made the script as you say; it opens in VirtualDubMod flawlessly. So it seems there is a problem with some dll's coming with GK. Cannot DGIndex or GK be confused by the presence of MPEG2Dec.dll or mpeg2dec3.dll in GK folder? I think we need to move this topic to GK forum.
I'd like to keep this thread here as a stickie, but yes, you ought to post about your GK issues in the GK forum.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th February 2005, 18:13   #20  |  Link
Cyberia
Moderator
 
Cyberia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Inside
Posts: 718
Re: Error "File is not valid D2V file"

Quote:
Originally posted by vapor123
When I Prepare VOB files through Gordian Knot version 34.6 or 33.1 I receive the error "File is not a valid d2v , avi or avs file!".
Don, since you see this reasonable often (often enough to make a sticky), how about changing the message slightly.

Can you return something to the effect of "d2v is newer than DGDecode" or "Mismatched d2v and DGDecode versions)

Leave the "File is not a valid d2v" message for truely unreadable d2v files.
Cyberia is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.