Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th February 2017, 14:31   #5281  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,980
So long as AVS files exist, and nothing special is required in MeGUI, could try MeGUI AutoEncode Batcher,
just select a bunch of existing avs in FileSelector, click OK button and go to the pub, no patience required (unless you order Guiness).

here:- https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...encode+Batcher

EDIT: In avs scripts, can use eg RT_Stats RT_SignalDar(4.0/3.0) or RT_SignalDar2(16,9) to auto set
Display aspect Ratio in avs and pass it on to MeGUI without having to set manually in MeGUI.

EDIT: From RT_Stats Docs
Code:
RT_SignalDAR2(int darx,int dary)
  As for RT_SignalDAR() except it allows setting of numerator and denominator individually.
  Signal DAR to MEGUI. Sets Global vars MeGUI_darX and MeGUI_darY which are read during MEGUI loading of AVS file.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 7th February 2017 at 14:40.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2017, 22:59   #5282  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,405
MeGUI has to check the AVS file and has therefore to open it in several internal steps. If you have a script which need a long time for that, you will have those delays.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2017, 09:05   #5283  |  Link
kalehrl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 335
There aren't any heavy filters, just source, resize, minimal noise denoise.
I remember MeGUI being faster in the recent past.
kalehrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2017, 10:11   #5284  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,854
Well possible that MeGUI now ships more (and more complex) plugins which are scanned for functions each time a script is opened (and if your AV guard is active, it may scan their DLLs as well)...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2017, 10:42   #5285  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,854
(MeGUI 2702)
I disabled my Avisynth auto-loading plugin folder and indexed a 720p video twice (1280x536). Nothing fancy. Something I encoded myself with the x264 Slow preset and Tune Film.

Script one:
Quote:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\lsmash\LSMASHSource.dll")
LWLibavVideoSource("D:\Video.mkv.lwi")
Script two:
Quote:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\ffms\ffms2.dll")
FFVideoSource("E:\video.mkv", cachefile="D:\video.mkv.ffindex", fpsnum=24000, fpsden=1001, threads=1)
I didn't time it exactly..... 1 Mississippi, 2 Mississippi..... but the first script takes around three seconds to load into the video section (preview disabled) and it's repeatable. That's the time from double clicking on the script after opening the "Open Avisynth Script" window, to the cursor changing from busy back to a pointy thing. During that time Task Manager said MeGUI's memory usage went from just under 50000k to about 75000k and back (I'd been running some encodes, but they'd finished). CPU usage hits 25%, so I guess that's a single core of my old Q9450 working hard.

Script 2 takes CPU usage to 6%, if memory usage increases it decreases again too quickly for the human eye, and it loads too fast for me to time.

So at least I wasn't imagining the L-Smash thing, which gets noticeably worse with fancy Avisynth filtering, but maybe someone else who isn't running XP and the last XP friendly version of L-Smash can try the same thing to see if the result is similar. If it is, I don't know if MeGUI or L-Smash would be to blame. I'd assume the latter, but what do I know....

Edit: I enabled the auto preview when loading scripts and tried again. Around 5 seconds for the preview to display after loading the first script, and something approaching one second for the second script.

And one last look-see, a quick encode of the first 10000 frames using each script.

Script 1:
[Information] [08/02/17 9:02:13 PM] encoded 10000 frames, 40.57 fps, 1934.23 kb/s

Script 2:
[Information] [08/02/17 9:07:29 PM] encoded 10000 frames, 41.01 fps, 1934.23 kb/s

So it's possibly not a decoding speed issue, although I think it is time for a faster computer. Hurry up AMD, I want to see what Zen is like first.

Last edited by hello_hello; 8th February 2017 at 11:11.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2017, 22:43   #5286  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,405
Do you have the same loading times with these scripts in e.g. VirtualDub?
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2017, 15:26   #5287  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,854
I can't check that properly today as I'm in the middle of a run of encodes, but I'll test and report back tomorrow(ish),
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2017, 14:16   #5288  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
Do you have the same loading times with these scripts in e.g. VirtualDub?
I guess nobody wants to test a newer L-Smash, but yes..... it's slower loading a script using LWLibavVideoSource with VirtualDub than with FFVideoSource. Maybe not quite as much difference in speed, but I assume VirtualDub doesn't have any checking to do.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2017, 19:56   #5289  |  Link
nandoom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 22
Forgive me if this has been answered before. I wonder if it is possible to add AvsP plugin in MeGUI so one can able to edit an avs? I think this will be an awesome addition.

Thanks

Last edited by nandoom; 13th February 2017 at 18:12.
nandoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2017, 21:50   #5290  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by nandoom View Post
Forgive me if this has been answered before. I wonder if it is possible to add AvsP plugin in MeGUI so one can able to edit an avs? I think this will be an awesome addition.
What about copying and pasting the script into MeGUI's script creator?
You'll have to specify the input video first, but you can use Lsmash and DGindex index files for the input video, or ffms2 index files if they're in the same folder as the source, so you don't have to index again, and once the video has opened you can copy and paste the rest of the script into the script creator to edit it.

Another method is to load the script into the video section and open the preview. Edit the script with Notepad, save the changes, and click the reload button at the bottom of the preview window to see them. You can keep Notepad and the preview open as you do it. No need to close either till you're done.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2017, 23:01   #5291  |  Link
nandoom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 22
Yes, those are the ways that I know to edit an avs file. However it requires you to manually edit ( not bad thing at all ) and you got to know the right text for any new arguments you might want to add. The script creator doesn't populate the script parameters in the respective tabs after pasting the script. The AvsP offers more controls, options, tools. So I just thought the AvsP integration would be an awesome feature to add on. I understand that it's easier to say than done. Of course, the developers would better and would know the feasibility of the integration. So I thought to ask away.
nandoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2017, 10:46   #5292  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,980
Display Aspect Ratio bug.

Code:
Avisource("Test.avi")
Trim(1000,-200)
BilinearResize(720,480)
MeGUI_darX = 16 MeGUI_darY = 9
return last
MeGUI Development Output file DAR 16:10 (ERROR)
MeGUI Stable Output file DAR 16:9

Logs + MediaInfo for both:- http://www.mediafire.com/file/8fipgo..._DAR_Error.zip

EDIT: Both versions MeGUI current.

EDIT:

Code:
[Information] Log
...

----[Information] Format: AVS
----[Information] AspectRatio: 16:9
----[Information] AspectRatioString: 

...

-[Information] Log for job2 (video, _TEST.avs -> _TEST-Video.264)
--[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:02] Started handling job
--[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:02] Preprocessing
--[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:02] Avisynth input script
---[NoImage] Avisource("Test.avi")
---[NoImage] Trim(1000,-200)
---[NoImage] BilinearResize(720,480)
---[NoImage] MeGUI_darX = 16 MeGUI_darY = 9
---[NoImage] return last
--[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:03] resolution: 720x480
--[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:03] frame rate: 24/1
--[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:03] aspect ratio: 16:9 (1.778)
--[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:03] Job command line: "C:\NON-INSTALL\MeGUI\tools\x264\x264.exe" --profile main --preset fast
   \ --crf 21.5 --keyint 240 --qpmin 10 --qpmax 51 --sar 16:15 --output "C:\Z\_TEST-Video.264" "D:\_TEST.avs" 
--[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:03] Process started
--[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:03] Standard output stream
--[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:03] Standard error stream
---[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:04] avs [info]: 720x480p 16:15 @ 24/1 fps (cfr)
---[Information] [18/02/2017 09:32:04] x264 [info]: using SAR=16/15

...

----[Information] Width: 720
----[Information] Height: 480
----[Information] FrameCount: 200
----[Information] FrameRate: 24.000
----[Information] FrameRateOriginal: 
----[Information] FrameRateMode: 
----[Information] ScanType: Progressive
----[Information] Codec: AVC
----[Information] CodecString: AVC
----[Information] Bits Depth: 8
----[Information] Format: AVC
----[Information] AspectRatio: 1.600
----[Information] AspectRatioString: 16:10
----[Information] Delay:
EDIT: Can someone else reproduce and verify above results. (should get same with ColorBars.ConvertToYV12.BilinearResize etc).

EDIT: Eg
Code:
Global MeGUI_darX = 16 Global MeGUI_darY = 9
return ColorBars(Pixel_Type="YV12",Width=720,height=480).Trim(0,-200)
Should have set the MeGUI_darX and MeGUI_darY as Globals, but makes no difference to ERROR results.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 19th February 2017 at 19:30.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2017, 22:17   #5293  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,405
Thanks for the report, StainlessS. It should be fixed:
Code:
2706 [x264]                 fixed wrong SAR values in some cases (regression of 2683)
     [x265]                 added 16:15 to the predefined --sar values
2705 [HD Streams Extractor] improved input/output folder selection
2704 [ChapterCreator]       removed an internal md5 hash function to be FIPS compliant. #Bug 873
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2017, 19:18   #5294  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,854
MeGUI 2706 is still displaying incorrect resizing in the script creator when anamorphic encoding is enabled.

- Open a 4:3 PAL DVD, Input DAR 4:3.
- Without cropping or resizing enabled, the resize section displays 720x576.
- Enable cropping and crop 20 pixels from both left and right, and 16 pixels from both top and bottom.
- The remaining video is 680x544
- Enable anamorphic encoding, and select "encode non-mod16" (silly name). The resizing now displays 640x512. It's not being added to the script incorrectly though.
- The "resize to selected mod" option at least lets you resize it back to 680x544, and the resizing doesn't change to red until it exceeds 680x544, so that's okay.

Oddly, if the "resize to selected mod" option is selected, and you switch to "encode non-mod16", the width in the resizing field very briefly displays 680, before it changes back to 640 again.

Last edited by hello_hello; 26th February 2017 at 19:23.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2017, 20:09   #5295  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
Never mind, I am just occasionally asking myself: Is it really more difficult to understand resizing basics and do the resizing manually, writing your own simple script, or try to understand, hangle through and trust all the tickboxes, tabs, options and windows of advanced GUIs ..... rant closed
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2017, 16:42   #5296  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
Never mind, I am just occasionally asking myself: Is it really more difficult to understand resizing basics and do the resizing manually, writing your own simple script, or try to understand, hangle through and trust all the tickboxes, tabs, options and windows of advanced GUIs ..... rant closed
I find it is, especially if you're encoding a bunch of related videos with different cropping required, but you want them all cropped neatly and resized to the same resolution and/or aspect ratio.
Often I'll crop a section of a video differently, and the aspect error calculator makes it easy to crop cleanly and resize to the same resolution as the rest of the video.

Plus.... for an anamorphic output, even if you don't resize, if you want exactly 4:3 or 16:9 you can switch to square pixel resizing, crop and resize to exactly 4:3 or 16:9, then switch to anamorphic encoding and you'll know the cropping is correct to still give you a 4:3 or 16:9 output. Saves having to do pixel aspect ratio calculations.
It's also easy to create custom input display aspect ratios and when you change the input DAR, all the usual calculations are based on that.

Having said all that, I recently created an Avisynth script function (my first) for auto-cropping and resizing based on the cleverness AutoGK was endowed with, only allowing full user control over the output aspect ratio. It not overly complicated and seems to work as intended so far.
CropResize Script

MeGUI's cropping and resizing is working fine, but for some reason when resizing is disabled it displays an incorrect post cropping resolution in the resize fields when anamorphic encoding without resizing is enabled.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2017, 17:28   #5297  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,854
Someone found a bug in the latest flac. https://sourceforge.net/p/flac/bugs/453/

In case it'd be an idea to update MeGUI's version, there's a patch on the above sourceforge page, or there's a patched exe in the Foobar2000 Encoder Pack 2017-02-13.
http://www.foobar2000.org/encoderpack
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2017, 06:12   #5298  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,854
There appears to be an odd encoding speed bug when encoding audio with the FDKAAC encoder. I haven't been able to find the cause as yet, but the details are in the post linked to below. I strongly suspect it's something to do with the encoder not handling 32 bit input well. So far, if I add ConvertAudioTo32bit() to the script and open it with foobar2000, FDKAAC encoding speed drops dramatically, but QAAC still encodes at the normal speed.

I'm not sure if the same applies to 32 bit float though because the foobar2000 AVS input plugin doesn't seem to accept it, but if I remember correctly, FDKAAC downsamples to 16 bit before encoding, in which case it'd probably be an idea to convert the audio to 16 bit for FDKAAC encoding anyway.

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...99#post1799699
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2017, 23:21   #5299  |  Link
dissory
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 51
I've been using MeGUI and found the one-click profile really helpful. One thing I noticed was that when transcoding audio e.g. FLAC -> AAC within video files, it doesn't retain attributes such as audio title name or language in the new video file with the transcoded audio. I'm not sure if the same happens with video but it does with audio.

Is it possible to make it so the attributes/metadata of the original audio stream are also transferred to the transcoded stream?
dissory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2017, 12:11   #5300  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
This could be interesting: https://youtu.be/AEFQL1LM-wI?t=156
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.