Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th January 2024, 23:55   #64521  |  Link
GCRaistlin
Registered User
 
GCRaistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCRaistlin View Post
MPC-HC ... + madVR ... = no cursor in fullscreen mode
That is the case with [x] Display pointer trails on Pointer Options tab in Mouse Properties (Control Panel).
__________________
Windows 8.1 x64

Magically yours
Raistlin
GCRaistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2024, 13:04   #64522  |  Link
Flavio61
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Hello, last night I updated madVR to the latest version (204) and I "played" a bit with the HDR configuration (I only changed that part). Since I made this update the system works well with several movies (I tried Aquaman, HP and the Goblet of Fire and others) only with Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald I have a very dark screen and I don't see the image. I hear the sound but the image is barely visible on the screen. For playback I use PotPlayer. If I change the video render in PotPlayer everything works so the problem is using madVR. This is the configuration of madVR:



What can I do?
Flavio61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2024, 13:26   #64523  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,337
'display peak luminance (nits): 108' seems seem too low on a non-hdr monitor I would expext a number around 300 to be normal. -> try inclreasing that to 300 or whatever your monitor is capable.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2024, 14:25   #64524  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,998
that would make the image even darker.
having a to low peak nit is like lowering the gamma.

without a sample no one can actually tell.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2024, 16:18   #64525  |  Link
Flavio61
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
I try 'Display Peak Luminance (nits) until 500 without results. This the madVR OSD:

Flavio61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2024, 18:06   #64526  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,998
don't use DXVA2 native decode for anything. unlikely to fi it. and still no sample to reproduce the issue.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2024, 03:35   #64527  |  Link
Perenista
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 208
Having problems with madVR:

- Using Windows 11 and RTX 3060.
- HDR is disabled for my Acer XV280K-B monitor, which uses 3840 x 2160 @ 60 Hz.

Whenever I open a UHD/4K lossless MKV file, it seems the entire monitor image goes darker and gray (?), flickering once. Is that a failed attempt to enable HDR?

I reseted madVR settings (using the installation directory BAT), but that didn't help.

So I have to watch everything now with the MPC Video Decoder.

What should I do to fix this? It wasn't like that before. And my NVidia card uses the latest drivers.

https://www.reddit.com/r/htpc/commen...disabling_hdr/

This thread seems to suggest this is some sort of conflict between these cards and madVR, to a point we can NEVER disable HDR.

When I try to open one of the 4K files, this is what it says:

MPC-BE x64 1.6.11
Filters currently loaded:
- Default DirectSound Device
- madVR Renderer
- ffdshow Audio Processor
- LAV Video Decoder
- Audio Switcher
- LAV Audio Decoder
- LAV Splitter Source

The problem also affects MPC-HC. The entire monitor goes gray.

A few configs:

LAV: https://i.postimg.cc/z5fz3fRw/LAV.jpg

MPC Video Decoder: https://i.postimg.cc/YMGtfyRh/MPCV.jpg

Note: all internal filters (from MPC) were disabled.

madVR stats:

https://i.postimg.cc/sy2TLktD/MADVR.jpg

P.S. Following this (read below) didn't help, either: https://www.reddit.com/r/htpc/commen...clavmadvr_hdr/

-Update: fixed it.
Uninstalled K-Lite fully.
Rebooted to be safe.
If using Nvidia Studio drivers, switch over to Game Ready, as these include Win 11 support.
Reboot to be safe.
Install K-Lite. Do some basic config.
Fixed. (hopefully!)

Last edited by Perenista; 30th January 2024 at 04:15.
Perenista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2024, 07:51   #64528  |  Link
Pulstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 108


With AMD's FMF out of beta, I've been trying to get it to work with madVR. I mean it works but it doubles my refresh rate's FPS which is a huge drain on the GPU. Perhaps someone can think of a workaround
Pulstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2024, 20:20   #64529  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 495
You want the soap opera effect? The easiest way to do that would be instead of computing it on your computer, would be to have the output go to a television set to the interpolate frames setting, motionflow or whatever name the brand has chosen.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2024, 05:37   #64530  |  Link
Drybonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
I got a notification message today, overlaying my MadVR test build, asking me to update my build. I'm on test build 204, which seems to be the most recent I can find. Is there a more recent version?
Drybonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2024, 06:35   #64531  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drybonz View Post
I got a notification message today
204 is the latest
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2024, 16:00   #64532  |  Link
Drybonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
204 is the latest
Thanks for the reply. Any way to disable this update notification?
Drybonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2024, 16:07   #64533  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drybonz View Post
Thanks for the reply. Any way to disable this update notification?
Not at all.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2024, 16:22   #64534  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
204 is the latest
Not anymore, 205 was posted today (possibly just after your reply), and it will work for 6 months from now
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb 546.65
JRVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>Samsung 77S90C
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2024, 20:51   #64535  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 724
The new build flickers like crazy with hdr to sdr via pixel shaders...
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2024, 23:36   #64536  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,998
reporting that here is a waste of time if the build is the reason for that.
try the bug tracker there is more and more stuff that is broken.
try to switch deint on or of try to change the deint mode and such.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2024, 07:22   #64537  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
The new build flickers like crazy with hdr to sdr via pixel shaders...
There is no change in the new build, so it’s probably your settings. Look at the settings in the experimental thread and make sure you have settings that don’t cause flicker. It’s very easy to cause a lot of flicker with the wrong settings with any of the experimental builds.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb 546.65
JRVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>Samsung 77S90C
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2024, 23:17   #64538  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 168
Hey guys

Any advice here to enhance the image?
Attachments Pending Approval
File Type: png upscaling_refinement.png
__________________
My HTPC : i9 10900K | nVidia RTX 4070 Super | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED

Last edited by Betroz; 3rd February 2024 at 16:45.
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2024, 18:18   #64539  |  Link
Amuat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 59
When installing K-Lite Codec Pack, in the installer the option to boost the middle range of audio to clarify speech is ticked by default, but I didn't want to mess with the audio so dropped it. But on the other hand, it does bother me somewhat that music and effects tend to be too loud compared to speech, so can anyone tell me what changes I should make to test it out, without having to install everything all over again?
Amuat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2024, 20:51   #64540  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 495
Madvr doesn't handle audio. That's to do with your player's audio settings, windows loudness equalization, or the settings in lav or whatever else.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.