Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th November 2013, 19:13   #20821  |  Link
iSunrise
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6233638 View Post
Ah, I see.

How it should look:


What often happens when switching between fullscreen and windowed mode:


Probably not the exact frame as I just hit pause, but you get the idea.
It doesn't happen every time, but does happen often, and disappears after a few seconds. (I guess once the queues are full again?)

Well that's concerning, it's 100% reproducible herre. I'm not sure when this change happened either, as I've not used FSE mode for more than a year at this point - it used to work fine for me.

I've tried MPC-HC as well as JRiver now, and it's happening there too.
Do you have a small sample for that so we can verify? I also am using an Nvidia GPU. Because I have never encountered such a thing and I am using fullscreen exclusive almost exclusively.

I am using a GTX 580 and 331.65 WHQL drivers.
iSunrise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2013, 20:26   #20822  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,959
i can still reproduce this bug: http://abload.de/img/resizingbug0fsot.png

and i completely reinstalled the pc since the last time i posted about this.

it only happens with an nvdia card (an 760) with lanczos 8 ar the hd 4000 is not affected
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2013, 21:11   #20823  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by kasper93 View Post
Good work! Everything is fine now. Thanks.
Thanks for your help in locating the bug!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonik View Post
Hello, i've found a problem with brightness (too high) while playing a file, problem which i traced back to build 0.85.4, 0.85.3 seems fine. attached a sample here: http://www.sendspace.com/file/dfuqnc
Thank you!
Thanks for figuring out which version introduced the problem. That might be helpful, but first I need more information. On a quick check the sample seems to play fine here. Are you using software or hardware decoding? If you're using hardware decoding, please check whether the same problem also occurs with software decoding. Can you please post a screenshot of the "too high brightness" with the sample you've uploaded?

Quote:
Originally Posted by romulous View Post
4. Hit custom hotkey again, used arrows to move along, change some values - then when I hit F2, Zoom changed to audio mode.

I do note that only the first time I try and change some values, the 'F2' in the madVR OSD displays. Second and subsequent times, it does not (which is why Zoom enters audio mode, madVR is not attempting to intercept that F2 key). I don't know why madVR does not show the F2 prompt the second and subsequent times.
The F2 key only works (and only has any purpose) if madVR displays it in the OSD. If madVR doesn't display it, it is also not accepted. The F2 is only accepted if you changed something which is worth saving. The custom debanding settings work differently than everything else. They're always automatically saved, and to a different place than all other settings. So F2 will not be shown if you change custom debanding settings. Really, the custom debanding settings are a hack I implemented because several people asked for it, but I think it will not be used by the majority of users in the future, that's why I didn't invest the time to implement a "nicely", with F2 etc.[/QUOTE]

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
It's a lot easier spotting changes when you can enable and disable rather than running through all presets.
That may be true, but adding a further toggle would make the settings dialog more complicated, and I don't like to do that, unless there's a very good reason for it. Turning debanding on/off all the time to try spotting changes doesn't sound like something a typical user would do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ap3 n1nja View Post
I got crashes for 0.86.10, 0.86.11, deband13, as well as deband14.

Okay, I sent a report. Can't confirm if it went through or not, however.
Is your report the one with the text "opening mp4 file, does this every time but other files seems to work ok"? If so, the crash is somehow related to DXVA. Probably turning DXVA off will fix the crash. Not sure why the crash occurs, though. Maybe updating or reinstalling the drivers, or reinstalling D3D9 would help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
Does debanding only work when using the internal decoding?
There is no madVR feature that is limited to only work when using the internal decoders. Except of course decoding.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kasper93 View Post
@madshi: There is one minor problem with subtitles in MPC-HC related to this "fading" feature. Basically subtitle blinks.
Oh yeah, I understand the problem. If a fade in/out is detected, madVR has to go back 5 frames and rerender them, which also means the ISR has to go back in time 5 frames in rerender them, too. The ISR doesn't like that, it usually stutters for a bit when doing such a thing. This problem does not occur with any other subtitle renderer. I don't think there's anything I can do about it, except add an option to not go back those 5 frames. In that case the higher debanding strength would affect the whole fade in/out - with the exception of the first 5 frames. But I'm somewhat reluctant to add an option for a misbehaviour of the ISR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6233638 View Post
How it should look:


What often happens when switching between fullscreen and windowed mode:


Probably not the exact frame as I just hit pause, but you get the idea.
It doesn't happen every time, but does happen often, and disappears after a few seconds. (I guess once the queues are full again?)
Is this a new problem only occuring with the latest test builds? Or does this occur with the current official release, too? I've never seen anything like that on my PC. I somehow doubt it's my fault, but what do I know. The problem is: Without being able to reproduce the problem, there's probably not much I can do about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6233638 View Post
Well that's concerning, it's 100% reproducible herre. I'm not sure when this change happened either, as I've not used FSE mode for more than a year at this point - it used to work fine for me.

I've tried MPC-HC as well as JRiver now, and it's happening there too.
Do you have another PC you could double check this on? Maybe I didn't do exactly what you did. Maybe if I knew the exact steps you're taking and the exact settings you're using, maybe I could reproduce it, too? If you think there's a good chance of that, please feel free to create a bug entry in the madVR bug tracker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6233638 View Post
Is there any way to customize the debanding settings in the newer builds, without editing the registry?
Yes, define a custom keyboard shortcut for "debanding custom settings", press it, then use the arrow keys to modify the parameters.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stasjok View Post
I'm sorry. I didn't get it. I still get this "opaque black box" when smooth motion is enabled. Is it possible to fix this? Or is this "alpha blending in 16bit" required for smooth motion and there is nothing you can do? My GPU is GeForce 9600GT.
If this only happens with smooth motion enabled then it might be a bug which I could maybe fix. Or not. I don't know. Please report it to the madVR bug tracker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ver Greeneyes View Post
I've seen this effect as well, but usually after leaving a video paused and going to bed instead. I don't use FSE mode that much because I'm used to multitasking. My GPU is a GeForce GTX 580 and I'm using the 331.65 drivers.
Did this also happen with older drivers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i can still reproduce this bug: http://abload.de/img/resizingbug0fsot.png
And I've not seen anyone else reporting this. Still not sure if it might be a hardware issue. Or a driver issue. In any case, Lanczos 8 is not recommended, anyway. I'll probably remove non-recommended scaling algorithm in the final v1.0 build. That's still quite some time away, though.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2013, 21:24   #20824  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Is this a new problem only occuring with the latest test builds? Or does this occur with the current official release, too? I've never seen anything like that on my PC. I somehow doubt it's my fault, but what do I know. The problem is: Without being able to reproduce the problem, there's probably not much I can do about it.
I thought it was related to the debanding test builds, but it seems that is not the case. I'll post a bug on the tracker - I think I've found a way to reproduce it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Yes, define a custom keyboard shortcut for "debanding custom settings", press it, then use the arrow keys to modify the parameters.
Thanks, I missed that.
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2013, 21:27   #20825  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Did this also happen with older drivers?
Not sure - I do know it only started 'recently', but I don't really have a reliable way to reproduce it except 'pause the video for a few hours', which doesn't make for easy testing. The only reason I mentioned it is that the effect I see does look more or less identical to 6233638's screenshot.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2013, 22:05   #20826  |  Link
Demonik
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Ok, did some more tests, it's the same with hardware and software decoding. But while i was testing the madvrdeband version i noticed something else, if i put madVRdeband14 files in a clean install of 0.86.3 it works ok, but if i put them in a clean install of 0.86.4 the brightness issue occurs. here's a screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/talHMqm.jpg
Demonik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2013, 22:31   #20827  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i can still reproduce this bug: http://abload.de/img/resizingbug0fsot.png

and i completely reinstalled the pc since the last time i posted about this.

it only happens with an nvdia card (an 760) with lanczos 8 ar the hd 4000 is not affected
I get the same sort of artifacts with ivtc on 2 nvidia cards but it's fine on HD3000, wonder if they are related.
__________________
PC: FX-8320 GTS250 HTPC: G1610 GTX650
PotPlayer/MPC-BE LAVFilters MadVR-Bicubic75AR/Lanczos4AR/Lanczos4AR LumaSharpen -Strength0.9-Pattern3-Clamp0.1-OffsetBias2.0
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2013, 23:19   #20828  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonik View Post
Ok, did some more tests, it's the same with hardware and software decoding. But while i was testing the madvrdeband version i noticed something else, if i put madVRdeband14 files in a clean install of 0.86.3 it works ok, but if i put them in a clean install of 0.86.4 the brightness issue occurs.
Weird. Can you try to find out which one of the 0.86.4 files is responsible?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2013, 23:32   #20829  |  Link
Demonik
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
my bad on the last one, madvrdeband doesn't load with the files from 0.86.3 or before cuz of the renamed madHcNet.dll that's why it 'looked' ok but i was switching them so fast i didn't even notice it's not loading and defaulted to other renderer. back to the previous report of 0.85.3 as beeing the last working one
Demonik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2013, 23:40   #20830  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Please double check the input levels (Ctrl+Alt+Shift+i). Are they set correctly? And this problem only occurs with this one video? Which decoder are you using? DXVA deinterlacing is turned off, correct? Also double check that the Media Player and madVR brightness and levels controls are all set to neutral values.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2013, 00:03   #20831  |  Link
Demonik
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
It's beeing detected as TV, all controls are neutral, deinterlace is off, i'm using lav filters and mpc-hc, tried it in potplayer with same results. yes i've only seen it with this file happening so far.
Demonik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2013, 00:38   #20832  |  Link
XeoneR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 17
How to completely disable those blasted popups
about timestamps or filenames in the left upper corner?

Can mad resemble the same behavior as haali?
Halve the initial frame size if the source res is higher than the display.
XeoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2013, 02:41   #20833  |  Link
Ap3 n1nja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Is your report the one with the text "opening mp4 file, does this every time but other files seems to work ok"? If so, the crash is somehow related to DXVA. Probably turning DXVA off will fix the crash. Not sure why the crash occurs, though. Maybe updating or reinstalling the drivers, or reinstalling D3D9 would help?
Nope. The report I sent should have text along the lines of "Simply trying to play the file." I should have been more descriptive.

It's the mkv file in my prior post, if you happen to have missed it: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...73#post1652373
Ap3 n1nja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2013, 06:17   #20834  |  Link
omarank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Hi Madshi, the debanding feature of madVR looks really very impressive. I was trying the latest test build for debanding (madVRdeband14) and encountered a bug. I get a dropped frame for every fade in/ out while using low as default strength and high as strength during fading. This happens only when smooth motion FRC is also active. When I see the frame drops, all the queues look just fine and I don't see anything suspicious. My queues are set as: CPU - 24, GPU - 16 and frames in advance - 12. If I keep the fading strength same as default debanding strength, there are no dropped frames.
omarank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2013, 07:58   #20835  |  Link
MistahBonzai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 101
Same here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by omarank View Post
If I keep the fading strength same as default debanding strength, there are no dropped frames.
Same Here. Was using a local copy of an Emily Shephard video (monochrome with lotsa fading) and noted the frame drops. It drove me crazy 'til I disabled debanding. Then narrowed it down to using medium for both settings.
MistahBonzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2013, 10:05   #20836  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonik View Post
It's beeing detected as TV, all controls are neutral, deinterlace is off, i'm using lav filters and mpc-hc, tried it in potplayer with same results. yes i've only seen it with this file happening so far.
Very weird. I don't see anything wrong with this file and it plays with correct brightness on my PC. Do you have any other video related DShow filters in the chain except LAV Video Decoder and madVR? Do you have LAV set to default options? Can I get a screenshot with the madVR debug OSD (Ctrl+J) on? Right now I've no idea what's going on there...

Quote:
Originally Posted by XeoneR View Post
How to completely disable those blasted popups about timestamps or filenames in the left upper corner?
These are from MPC-HC. Maybe there's an option in MPC-HC to disable those? I don't know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XeoneR View Post
Can mad resemble the same behavior as haali?
Halve the initial frame size if the source res is higher than the display.
It's technically possible, but I don't like it, so no, sorry. This is really a feature the media player should offer. It's not the video renderer's job. Haali implements this by lying to the media player. Basically Haali tells the media player that the video really only has half the resolution, which is not true. That's the wrong approach, IMHO. Ask the MPC-HC developers to offer this feature. If MPC-HC asks madVR to display the video in half the size, madVR will obey.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ap3 n1nja View Post
Nope. The report I sent should have text along the lines of "Simply trying to play the file." I should have been more descriptive.

It's the mkv file in my prior post, if you happen to have missed it: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...73#post1652373
Unfortunately that sample plays fine on my PC. Can't reproduce any crashes here. I can't find your bug report. Got a couple of reports in the recent days, but none with such a description. Maybe it would be best to PM the bug report to me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by omarank View Post
I get a dropped frame for every fade in/ out while using low as default strength and high as strength during fading. This happens only when smooth motion FRC is also active. When I see the frame drops, all the queues look just fine and I don't see anything suspicious. My queues are set as: CPU - 24, GPU - 16 and frames in advance - 12. If I keep the fading strength same as default debanding strength, there are no dropped frames.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBonzai View Post
Same Here.
I can reproduce the problem. However, playback still seems perfectly smooth on my PC. It's possible that this is a false alarm in the debug OSD. I'll investigate.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2013, 10:50   #20837  |  Link
JEEB
もこたんインしたお!
 
JEEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland / Japan
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
It's technically possible, but I don't like it, so no, sorry. This is really a feature the media player should offer. It's not the video renderer's job. Haali implements this by lying to the media player. Basically Haali tells the media player that the video really only has half the resolution, which is not true. That's the wrong approach, IMHO. Ask the MPC-HC developers to offer this feature. If MPC-HC asks madVR to display the video in half the size, madVR will obey.
Just for general information, MPC-HC (and most probably -BE) has this already. View→Options→Playback→Auto-zoom, and the fitting (if larger) setting most probably does what one wants.

And yes, this most definitely is not something a renderer should implement .
__________________
[I'm human, no debug]
JEEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2013, 10:51   #20838  |  Link
Demonik
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Nope, nothing else in the chain, lav splitter > lav video decoder, default settings.
0.85.3: http://i.imgur.com/U8VW4Hy.png and 0.85.4: http://i.imgur.com/HSKyHD8.png
Demonik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2013, 11:13   #20839  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEEB View Post
Just for general information, MPC-HC (and most probably -BE) has this already.
Oh, cool.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonik View Post
Nope, nothing else in the chain, lav splitter > lav video decoder, default settings.
0.85.3: http://i.imgur.com/U8VW4Hy.png and 0.85.4: http://i.imgur.com/HSKyHD8.png
Ok, I've compared the 0.85.3 and 0.85.4 source code and the only things that changed that I could imagine making a difference are the following:

(1) DXVA related stuff. You don't use DXVA scaling, do you?
(2) File name tags. Do you use those?
(3) Custom pixel shader stuff. Do you use those? Try switching the pixel shader related "trade quality for performance" options. Does that make a difference?

Other than that I don't know what could be going on here...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2013, 12:47   #20840  |  Link
XeoneR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by xeoner View Post
How to completely disable those blasted popups
about timestamps or filenames in the left upper corner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
These are from MPC-HC. Maybe there's an option in MPC-HC to disable those? I don't know.
Hmm indeed, though i haven't seen them for ages. Haali never renders these.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xeoner View Post
Can mad resemble the same behavior as haali?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
It's technically possible, but I don't like it, so no, sorry. This is really a feature the media player should offer.
Ok that's clear.

I'm switching haali to mad. The cpu load is pretty high.
Almost can't handle rendering of a full bd. What would be the most perf optimized settings?
Scaling algos should be the most demanding? Right? But even switching these to gpu
and applying video frame normal (w/o scaling?) i still get the same high cpu load.
XeoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.