Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th October 2023, 09:32   #1  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 164
Error when encoding avs with x264 from command line, "Could not open DGIndexNV.ini"

The title says it all. Sorry if this has been discussed before, but I've searched here and there and found nothing. After a LOT of testing and suffering, I found a "solution":



If x264 version is above 3020, it does not work. I'm getting the binaries from here (VideoLAN version): https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=89979

Is this normal? Is there a fix? I'm sorry, maybe I'm asking something stupid or obvious or anything but I haven't encode in a long time and I'm not up to date with latest changes and trends.
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2023, 13:06   #2  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,981
Get it working for display of avs file first, x264 use will just obfuscate the problem.
Load/play avs64.avs into VDub2, or PotPlayer, or MPC-HC.

If problem (this is expected), post avs script.

EDIT: DGDecNV v250:- https://www.rationalqm.us/dgdecnv/binaries/
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 25th October 2023 at 13:26.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2023, 13:27   #3  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Get it working for display of avs file first, x264 use will obfuscate the problem.
Load/play avs64.avs into VDub2, or PotPlayer, or MPC-HC.
I'm sorry, I should've provide more info. The script definetely works, it opens the preview in AvsP and MeGUI, for example. I always work on my scripts with its preview in AvsP.

The index I used is DGIndexNV 2053, x64 version.

Seems like something changed on x264 build and some file/ini/dll cannot be found anymore. If I remember correctly from my tests, if indexed with x86 DGIndexNV, then it works, although I don't remember if I also had to specifically inject the DGIndexNV dll in the avs.

EDIT: Keep in mind that, if with version 3020 works, there should be nothing wrong with the avs (I guess).

Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
If problems, post avs script.
The script is literally just "DGSource(test.dgi)", with DGSource options (resize, deinterlace...).

Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
BTW, when did DGDecNV became free? I haven't encoded in a long time xD

Thanks.

Last edited by eXtremeDevil; 25th October 2023 at 13:35.
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2023, 13:46   #4  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,981
Quote:
BTW, when did DGDecNV became free? I haven't encoded in a long time xD
Maybe about 12 months ago.

Dont know why it may be trying to access DGIndexNV.ini
Note, DGIndexNV.ini is created on first use of DGIndexNV.

DGIndexNV.ini should contains similar to this
Code:
Version=DGIndexNV 249.0.0.0
Window_Position=4,48
Info_Window_Position=970,48
Process_Priority=2
Playback_Speed=3
AVS_Template_Folder=C:\NON-INSTALL\DGDecNV\Template
AVS_Template_File=Progressive_169_Robo_11_Resize.avs
AVS_Template_File_Index=10
AVS_Enable_Template=1
AVS_Overwrite=0
Full_Path_In_Files=1
Enable_Info_Log=1
Loop_Playback=0
AVC_Extension=264
MPG_Extension=m2v
VC1_Extension=vc1
HEVC_Extension=265
Deinterlace=0
UsePF=0
UseD3D=0
Snapped=1
ResponseOnAudioMismatch=0
Enable_Demux=1
CUDA_Device=255
Decode_Modes=0,0,0,0
Full_Info=1
Bare_Demux=0
Disable_Encrypted_Audio_Warning=0
Force_Zoom=0
StrictAVC=1
PGSForcedOnly=0
Default_Save_Project_Path=
H2S_Settings=0,1,2000,0,0.42,1.00,1.000000,1.00,1.00,0.70
Generate_THD_AC3=1
Optimize_For_HDD=0
Preview_Path=
Save_Chapters_As_Xml=0
Languages=
ResponseOnFPSMismatch=0
EDIT: Get the latest free v250 from link (oct 2023), I'm currently setting up v250 (was on v249).
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 25th October 2023 at 13:50.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2023, 13:52   #5  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Dont know why it may be trying to access DGIndexNV.ini
Note, DGIndexNV.ini is created on first use of DGIndexNV.
I do have that file of course, and it is similar to yours.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
EDIT: Get the latest free v250 from link (oct 2023), I'm currently setting up v250 (was on v249).
I'll try with that one and post back, thanks.
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2023, 14:10   #6  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,981
I think x264 is maybe extracting location of DGIndexNV from dgi file, and probably trying to get the version + other info for debug logging (or similar).

New setup of DGDecNV and copying of DGDecodeNV.dll to your plugins (delete any existing DGIndexNV.ini in DGDecNV/DGIndex folder to create anew).
Go into DGIndex Settings and set them up again.
Re-Index video file with DGIndexNV.
Everything should probably just work OK.

Things probably just got a little bit 'out-of-whack' somewhere.

EDIT: Typical contents of dgi file.
Code:
DGAVCIndexFileNV25 DGIndexNV 250.0.0.0 X64
C:\NON-INSTALL\DGDecNv\

D:\___BLURAY\TESTING\TESTING.mkv 27611879890

DEVICE 0
DECODE_MODES 0,0,0,0,0
STREAM 2 0
RANGE 0 0 18446744073709551615 0
DEMUX 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10
DEPTH 8
CHROMA_LOCATION 0
ASPECT 1 1
COLORIMETRY 1 1 1
IS_444 0

# ... Lots of stuff

SIZ 1920 x 1088 
DISP 0,1920,0,1080 
FPS 24000 / 1001
CODED 147841
PLAYBACK 147841
0.00% FILM
ORDER 0
EDIT: And update of x264.exe is also probably a good idea.
I like Patman mods version of x264
[x264 with PatMan mods. t_mod x86/x64 8/10 bit, posix/Win32threads]:- https://github.com/jpsdr/x264/releases:-
for x265 I like this one,
[x265 with Patman mods (AVS, AQ-MODE 5, ..., 8/10/12 bit)]:- https://github.com/jpsdr/x265/releases
NOTE, some recent version compiles of x265.exe are 10 bit output only (slower/bigger for 8 bit input).
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 25th October 2023 at 14:46.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2023, 22:14   #7  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Things probably just got a little bit 'out-of-whack' somewhere.
OK, tried with new DGIndexNV free version and it works OK. For some reason, I get the mentioned ini error when using paid x64 version (IIRC the error does not happen with the paid x86 version), I mean, after cleaning all the folder dlls and stuff, maybe something is not right on 2053 paid x64 version internally, or there is some incompatibility beyond x264 3020.

I'm happy with the new free version, but seems like some options are gone, because I used to use the filter like this:

Code:
DGSource("test.dgi", crop_t=0,crop_b=0,crop_l=4,crop_r=4,resize_w=704,resize_h=400,deinterlace=1)
But now, with the new free version, only the "deinterlace" option seems to be recognized. For now I don't need the cropping, and I can do the resize with spline64resize. I hope it does not affect final result quality compared to how I used to do it.

Any thoughts on the gone options and the resize change? Should the result be the same? I will do some tests anyway

Last edited by eXtremeDevil; 25th October 2023 at 22:17.
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2023, 06:14   #8  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,770
Those parameters must be ancient, I've been using DGIndexNV for ages and never used them. See the manual for proper parameters, they are all still there.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2023, 08:44   #9  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Those parameters must be ancient, I've been using DGIndexNV for ages and never used them. See the manual for proper parameters, they are all still there.
You're right, I forgot about the manual xD

Everything is working fine now, with latest versions and OpenCL which is what I really wanted

I have just one last issue. If this is not the place to post/ask about it, please let me know and I will open a new thread.

For some reason videos are now corrupted when resizing from 1080 to 720 with DGIndexNV and deinterlacing at the same time. No issues if I resize to 704x400 with deinterlace. I tried with the exact same DGIndexNV version as before, when it was working, and also with the exact same video source I tried back then and worked. The only thing I can think of that has changed is Windows updates and my Nvidia GPU's driver updates. Check the screenshots:


VIDEO DEINTERLACED AND RESIZED TO 704x400:



VIDEO RESIZED TO 720 WITHOUT DEINTERLACING:



VIDEO DEINTERLACED AND RESIZED TO 720 :



Weird as hell if you ask me, and out of nowhere. This is happening from before I even opened this thread, so it is definetely not a side effect from my latests modifications. Again, exact same DGIndexNV, libraries, AvsP and video source that worked last time I encoded (last year). And it's not an AvsP error, I encoded it and that was the result in the mkv

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by eXtremeDevil; 26th October 2023 at 08:46.
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2023, 10:43   #10  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,981
I dont use any of the other fancy stuff in DgIndexNV/DgSource, other than the AVS template stuff.

Graft don't post here anymore, best post bug report on his forum.

EDIT: DG Forum:- https://www.rationalqm.us/board/index.php

EDIT: From Here [DGDecodeNV over network]:- https://www.rationalqm.us/board/view...php?f=8&t=1267

by olex99
Quote:
I've just bought a new computer to work on my videos. I've currently got it set up where I index and store my videos on one computer and then edit them on my new computer using avisynth+.

When I first tried to open the video in avisynth I received an error saying can't find DGIndexNV.ini. I eventually worked out a way around this by changing the path at line 2 in the index file to be the network path to the DGIndex folder where I indexed the files from.

Is there a way around needing to update the index file to point at a network location? I do use relatively paths but that doesn't work for this case. If this is by design then I can just update my process to index through the network share so the path is correct but just thought i'd ask incase there is a setting I could update.
by Graft
Quote:
Greetings, olex99, good to hear from you again. Is it just the DGIndexNV.ini that is a problem? Don't you have the same problem with the video file paths as well? Or does relative paths solve those? If it is just the INI file I may be able to concoct something. It would require a code change as there is no facility already existing that could solve it.

The only reason DGSource() needs the INI file is to get the StrictAVC option. I never liked having to do that. Maybe that could be replaced with a simple DGSource() option, and then I could get rid of that DGI file line completely. I'm thinking this would be the best thing to do.
+ more replies
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 26th October 2023 at 11:01.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2023, 11:00   #11  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Graft don't post here anymore, best post bug report on his forum.
Done, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
I think my problem was different, but in any case, with the latest 250 free version this does not happen.

Thanks all!
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2023, 11:22   #12  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,981
Quote:
I think my problem was different
Yep, I was just pointing out why DgIndexNV.ini was being opened.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2023, 12:04   #13  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Yep, I was just pointing out why DgIndexNV.ini was being opened.
Thanks!

Sent from my Mi 10 Pro using Tapatalk
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avs, cmd, dgindexnv, dgindexnv.ini, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.