Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th September 2006, 03:24   #121  |  Link
agressiv
Registered Loser
 
agressiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 115
Single Pass AVC gave the correct file size for me on a full-length movie. Its just the two-pass that is causing the oversize.

YMMV

agressiv
agressiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2006, 06:21   #122  |  Link
sjchmura
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 352
Yeah, short stuff is fine but 2-pass is broken

So the "leaked" version did not have these problems - amazing.

Again, can't nero let the people with legit product keys that encode alot of stuff test this before release?

I am also a bit shocked thast recode (nor Nerovision) allows importing AC3 or MKV. I thought it would be great to encode AC3 files from dvd concert tracks (U2 Live in 2005 is a great DVD - was at thast concert in chicago btw
sjchmura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2006, 10:20   #123  |  Link
DarkZell666
aka XaS
 
DarkZell666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1,122
Well, I'm doing a test encode right now, and I must say I'm not very impressed by the speed ...

I'm on a 2Ghz P4, with good quality ram.
Encoding an anime episode, downsized to 512*384 (with no filtering at all), using the Cinema AVC profile with maxref=3, maxbframes=3, all encoding tools enabled, and default "quality" setting (the slider) :
1st Pass : 45fps (I said w00t at first ...)
2nd Pass : 5fps ... way behind x264, sorry.

Audio target is HE-AAC/64kbps/32000Hz.

I've been victim of the oversize problem too on another test I did yesterday, asking for a 60Mb episode gave me a 190MB episode ... wow !

Edit :Ok, the encode I was trying to do failed : the encoding progress stalled half an hour after the beginning of the 2nd pass.
In fact, it stalled when my expected 60MB were reached, and wouldn't encode further (I checked the filesize with F5 every now-and-again).
I let it run an extra 30minutes just to be sure and indeed the filesize hadn't changed.

Edit2 : Was using Nero Recode 2.3.1.8 (the one available in Nero7's update I downloaded yesterday).
__________________

Q9300 OC @ 3.2ghz / Asus P5E3 / 4GB PC10600 / Geforce 8600 GTS

Last edited by DarkZell666; 20th September 2006 at 12:52.
DarkZell666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2006, 18:33   #124  |  Link
Skuto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkZell666 View Post
maxref=3
That just makes the encoder assslow without any quality gain. Use maxref=1.
Skuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2006, 18:35   #125  |  Link
DarkZell666
aka XaS
 
DarkZell666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skuto View Post
That just makes the encoder assslow without any quality gain. Use maxref=1.
It isn't the case with x264 anyway, using maxref 4 or 5 gives me like 8-10fps on second pass with similar settings.

Thx, will try (if nero stops stalling once past target filesize ... xD)
__________________

Q9300 OC @ 3.2ghz / Asus P5E3 / 4GB PC10600 / Geforce 8600 GTS
DarkZell666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2006, 20:13   #126  |  Link
sjchmura
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 352
Deblocking Strenght: Negative values are less deblocking (with 0 being the default) I presume??? This would be similar to x264. THe default is -2
sjchmura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2006, 20:22   #127  |  Link
dvd_maniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: northeast/usa
Posts: 830
Maybe it's just me but I tried a comparison between this version of Recode and X264 using Staxrip. Both using 1-pass.
I left all the settings at default except for audio which i put to 40kbps and ref frames to 5. In Staxrip I used 512x384 on a Smallville 43 minute episode and it came out to 159MB and looked pretty good 7.5 out of 10.
I then tried a 1-pass in Recode with the same file and put the filesize to 159 using Standard AVC, 40kbps audio, Ref Frames 2. The crop was the same but Recode's resolution was 400x304. Now I figure that if both programs are using the same filesize on the same video using pretty comparable codecs and settings would have comparable results. But I would rate the 1-Pass Recode at a 5.

Last edited by dvd_maniac; 20th September 2006 at 20:31.
dvd_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2006, 20:33   #128  |  Link
ChronoCross
Does it really matter?
 
ChronoCross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skuto View Post
That just makes the encoder assslow without any quality gain. Use maxref=1.
yeah umm wrong.
ChronoCross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2006, 21:33   #129  |  Link
sjchmura
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 352
ChronoCross - can you explain this???? Why at any decent bitrate will a higher maxref matter? I thought it was only relevant at lower bitrates?
sjchmura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2006, 22:09   #130  |  Link
ChronoCross
Does it really matter?
 
ChronoCross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,542
it can and does make a difference. Just look at some of the SSIM and PSNR tests that have been done. It may have less of effect on higher bitrates but the quality gain is still noticeable.
ChronoCross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 13:40   #131  |  Link
DarkZell666
aka XaS
 
DarkZell666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1,122
Well, I've resorted to 1-pass.

Same source, 512*384, with a destination bitrate of 290kbps and maxed out settings (Cinema AVC profile, extra quality, 3refs, 3bframes, all encoding tools enabled) : a solid 9.8fps. No miracle but not too bad (Still on the same 2ghz P4).
__________________

Q9300 OC @ 3.2ghz / Asus P5E3 / 4GB PC10600 / Geforce 8600 GTS
DarkZell666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 16:51   #132  |  Link
ChronoCross
Does it really matter?
 
ChronoCross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,542
There is no lossless as well ( I thought perhaps one pass with max and min QP of 0 would have the intended effect, no such luck)

So as a recap:
No Lossless
No Interlaced (mbaff, paff, pure interlaced)
Disabling bframes is broken
AQ barely functions
No FGM
2-pass Target bitrate is broken

The only bonus is speed seems to have increased other than that it seems nero's High profile encoder is a lemon.

PS: 1000 posts w00t!

Last edited by ChronoCross; 21st September 2006 at 16:51. Reason: 1000 posts
ChronoCross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 17:29   #133  |  Link
Kostarum Rex Persia
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Serbia
Posts: 565
Some guys have some doubts about High profile, as well.

It wouldn't be surprise if someone discover that Nero H.264 doesn't have High profile at all.

Very very buggy encoder. Unfortunately. I have high hopes, but...
Kostarum Rex Persia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 17:43   #134  |  Link
DarkZell666
aka XaS
 
DarkZell666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1,122
As long as there's the 8x8 transform they can call it HighProfile ... sad but true ...
And 8x8 transform is there (at least the checkbox is there for it xD). So it's HP, that's all there is to it
__________________

Q9300 OC @ 3.2ghz / Asus P5E3 / 4GB PC10600 / Geforce 8600 GTS
DarkZell666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 18:40   #135  |  Link
Kostarum Rex Persia
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Serbia
Posts: 565
Yes, but question is how much Nero High profile is good, or better then High profile in x264 codec.

We will see what DmitryV2 H.264 codec test will show.
Kostarum Rex Persia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 19:26   #136  |  Link
Skuto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChronoCross View Post
It may have less of effect on higher bitrates but the quality gain is still noticeable.
Visibly, or just in the metrics?

I might be wrong, but my impression was that maxref != 1 was essentially not worth the disproportionate increase in time.
Skuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 19:33   #137  |  Link
ChronoCross
Does it really matter?
 
ChronoCross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skuto View Post
Visibly, or just in the metrics?

I might be wrong, but my impression was that maxref != 1 was essentially not worth the disproportionate increase in time.
both.
ChronoCross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 19:52   #138  |  Link
sjchmura
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 352
Wow, this is TRUE target bug:

Source was 1080i 3.6GB 42 minutes BSG episode ->720p
ENcoded the whole thing to a target of 1/4DVDR (1.1gig)
2-pass AVC High porfile

My final was 9GIGS - BIGGER then the original
sjchmura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 20:32   #139  |  Link
JohnV
Registered User
 
JohnV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 522
We'll fix this as soon as possible, but the problem is in the low-level encoder implementation. Looks like a recent update to the Ateme AVC codec which was put to the release compilation was buggy unfortunately. We are waiting for Ateme at the moment.
I'll let you know when more information is available.
__________________
Check Nero Digital Information Thread on Doom9

Juha Laaksonheimo
JohnV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2006, 20:37   #140  |  Link
Student Driver
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
Wow, thanks.

BTW, any luck on getting the bigger video sizes onto the iPod?
Student Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.