Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th August 2021, 17:35   #501  |  Link
Gravitator
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 292
You can download > Test_VVC_AV1_x265
AV1 gives clearer textures on dark areas (lines and ship skin).
VVC:
Code:
-s 1920x1080 --framerate 23.976 --preset slower -q 29
AV1:
Code:
--cpu-used=0 --target-bitrate=1000 --max-partition-size=64 --sb-size=64 --input-bit-depth=10 --bit-depth=10
x265:
Code:
--output-depth 10 --profile main10 --qg-size 64 --opt-cu-delta-qp --tu-intra-depth 4 --tu-inter-depth 4 --hme --hme-search star,star,star --subme 4 --rect --amp --max-merge 2 --no-early-skip --rskip 0 --tskip --opt-ref-list-length-pps --bframes 6 --ref 4 --rc-lookahead 150 --bitrate 1100 --crf-min 0.00 --crf-max 0.00 --qpfile GENERATED_QP_FILE --limit-refs 0 --rd 5 --psy-rd 1.00 --rdoq-level 1 --psy-rdoq 10.00 --aq-strength 2 --sao-non-deblock --limit-sao --psnr --range limited --colormatrix bt709
__________________
Win10x64, Xeon E5450, GTX 750 2GB, DDR3 8GB.

Last edited by Gravitator; 18th August 2021 at 09:36.
Gravitator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2021, 18:28   #502  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by birdie View Post
Is this a question or a statement? If the latter it's very much debatable because from what I've seen VVC is much much better than AV1 while being a lot less computationally expensive.
Do you mean a lot less computationally expensive for encode or decode?
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 14:41   #503  |  Link
birdie
Artem S. Tashkinov
 
birdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwaggoner View Post
Do you mean a lot less computationally expensive for encode or decode?
Both.
birdie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 14:45   #504  |  Link
birdie
Artem S. Tashkinov
 
birdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gravitator View Post
AV1 gives clearer textures on dark areas (lines and ship skin).
x265 has seen many years of refinements and improvements. x266 hasn't even been released yet. We are talking about proof of concept encoders.

Also, I've no idea how to play VVC.vvc. Please just upload PNGs to imgsli or something.
birdie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 15:44   #505  |  Link
Gravitator
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by birdie View Post
Also, I've no idea how to play VVC.vvc.
A temporary solution...
Convert to Ut Video/lossless video format:
Code:
vvdecapp.exe -b c:\VVC.vvc -o c:\VVC.yuv && ffmpeg -video_size 1920x1080 -framerate 23976/1001 -pix_fmt yuv420p10le -i c:\VVC.yuv -c:v -acodec -vcodec utvideo -color_primaries 1 -color_trc 1 -colorspace 1 с:\VVC.mkv && del c:\VVC.yuv
Play it via FFplay:
Code:
vvdecapp.exe -b с:\VVC.vvc -o - | ffplay -f rawvideo -s 1920x1080 -pix_fmt yuv420p10le -
FFplay hot key control:
Quote:
- q / ESC - exit
- f - full screen mode
- f / Space - pause
- m - on / off sound
- 9 / / - volume -
- 0 / * - volume +
- s - frame by frame
Rewind:
- left / right arrows - rewind 10 seconds
- up / down arrows - rewind 1 second
- Page up / Page down - rewind to the previous / next part or by 10 minutes
__________________
Win10x64, Xeon E5450, GTX 750 2GB, DDR3 8GB.

Last edited by Gravitator; 18th August 2021 at 16:50. Reason: Added more commands.
Gravitator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 18:23   #506  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by birdie View Post
x265 has seen many years of refinements and improvements. x266 hasn't even been released yet. We are talking about proof of concept encoders.

Also, I've no idea how to play VVC.vvc. Please just upload PNGs to imgsli or something.
For amateurs. VVC codec isn't created for converting bt709 PNG images to 10/12bit bt2020 fullrange images. Despite the HDR image, there is no desire to develop HDR for JPEG2000 or HEIF. JPEG XS is to have new possibilities, but no one has seen it. The new JPEG and VVC codecs are to have much greater data protection in the fight against piracy. Yes, not every file we open. Is VVC photo codec? Not. Can raw images from Canon apertures be converted to VVC. I failed. Converting CR2 to TIFF Adobe RGB is already lossy. In theory, it is possible. When we have converter suitable for yuv files and VVC codec with HDRtools functions. FFmpeg doesn't convert raw camera files to yuv bt2020. Problem with how to convert photos to yuv and then play back on TV. After all, TVs today hasn't VVC decoder and home monitors are 8bit bt709.

ffmpeg.exe -loglevel error -i 111.png -an -f rawvideo -frames 1 -vf scale=1280:720:in_color_matrix=bt709:in_range=fullut_color_matrix=bt709ut_range=full,format=yuv420p 111.yuv

EncoderApp.exe --SummaryVerboseness --InputFile=111.yuv --BitstreamFile=image.vvc --SourceWidth=1563 --SourceHeight=1558 --FrameRate=25.000 --InputBitDepth=8 --OutputBitDepth=10 --MSBExtendedBitDepth=8 --MatrixCoefficients=0 --InputColorPrimaries=-1 --LMCSSignalType=2 --ConformanceWindowMode=1 --FramesToBeEncoded=1 --HashME=1 --IBC=1 --DecodingRefreshType=1 --Profile=auto --InputSampleRange=1 --AspectRatioInfoPresent=1 --ChromaLocInfoPresent=1 --MaxCUWidth=16 --MaxCUHeight=16 --CTUSize=32 --MaxBTLumaISlice=32 --MaxBTChromaISlice=32 --MaxBTNonISlice=32 --MaxTTLumaISlice=32 --MaxTTChromaISlice=32 --MaxTTNonISlice=32 --CostMode=lossless --InputChromaFormat=444 --ChromaFormatIDC=444 --QP=0 --BDPCM=1 --ColorTransform=1 --VideoFullRange=1 --ChromaTS=1 --DepQuant=0 --LMCSEnable=0 --RDOQ=0 --RDOQTS=0 --SBT=0 --ISP=0 --MTS=0 --LFNST=0 --JointCbCr=0 --LoopFilterDisable=1 --SAO=0 --TransformSkip=1 --TransformSkipFast=1 --TransformSkipLog2MaxSize=5 --SAOLcuBoundary=0 --Log2MaxTbSize=5 --ALF=0 --CCALF=0 --BIO=0 --PROF=0 --InternalBitDepth=0 --IntraPeriod=1 --GOPSize=1 --SearchRange=64 --QpInValCb="17 22 34 42" --QpOutValCb="17 23 35 39" --BCW=0 --BcwFast=0 --BIO=0 --CIIP=0 --Geo=0 --AffineAmvr=0 --LMCSUpdateCtrl=1 --LMCSOffset=0 --DMVR=0 --SMVD=0 --PROF=0 --ISPFast=1 --FastMIP=1 --FastLFNST=1 --FastLocalDualTreeMode=0 --AffineAmvrEncOpt=0 --MmvdDisNum=8 --OnePictureOnlyConstraintFlag=1 --GciPresentFlag=1 --Level=15.5 --Tier=high --RateControl=0 --SubpicDecodedPictureHash=1 --MaxLayers=1 --CbQpOffset=1 --CrQpOffset=1 --TemporalSubsampleRatio=1 --LCTUFast=1 --TemporalFilter=0 --DualITree=1 --MinQTLumaISlice=8 --MinQTChromaISliceInChromaSamples=4 --MinQTNonISlice=8 --MaxMTTHierarchyDepth=3 --MaxMTTHierarchyDepthISliceL=3 --MaxMTTHierarchyDepthISliceC=3 --MMVD=1 --Affine=1 --SbTMVP=1 --MaxNumMergeCand=6 --LMChroma=1 --IMV=1 --MRL=1 --IBC=0 --AllowDisFracMMVD=1 --MIP=1 --PBIntraFast=1 --FastMrg=1 --AMaxBT=1 --HadamardME=1 --FEN=1 --FDM=1 --VerCollocatedChroma=1

Last edited by Jamaika; 18th August 2021 at 18:28.
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 18:52   #507  |  Link
birdie
Artem S. Tashkinov
 
birdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamaika View Post
For amateurs.


I was talking about converting VVC to PNG which must be a lossless conversion
birdie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 19:23   #508  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 705
And here's the problem. Fraunhofer VVC Encoder isn't lossless. Is HDRtools enough for the image? Who knows that.
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 20:16   #509  |  Link
birdie
Artem S. Tashkinov
 
birdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamaika View Post
And here's the problem. Fraunhofer VVC Encoder isn't lossless. Is HDRtools enough for the image? Who knows that.
I was talking about a lossy encode by Gravitator which would be easier for everyone to check without using console. Could you calm down a bit?
birdie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 21:26   #510  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 705
Lossy coding. Fraunhofer VVC only has basic functions. For me it is codec advertisement and an attempt to catch up with the competition. The codec is lagging behind in development.
Why is it free. I do not know. It is not the only company with vvc technology.
VVC has nothing to compare with x265 presets. The first HEVC Mainconcept codecs were also underdeveloped and the quality compared with x265 was deliberately poor. Whoever made movies in Sony Vegas at low bitrates knows what it looked like.
It changed when there was youtube.
Today Fraunhofer HEVC/VVC is trying to do something with these features and that's not just a challenge. It will take time to fine tune the presets and fix the bugs. In addition, it is trying to convert the codec from c++11 to c++20 with new features, which will also take some time.

Last edited by Jamaika; 18th August 2021 at 21:32.
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 21:59   #511  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by birdie View Post


I was talking about converting VVC to PNG which must be a lossless conversion
PNG is natively a full range RGB format. So you still have a color space and range conversion in the process. Normally it's fine going from 8-bit YUV to 8-bit RGB, with the inverse much more lossy. But it's still not lossless.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 22:00   #512  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamaika View Post
Lossy coding. Fraunhofer VVC only has basic functions. For me it is codec advertisement and an attempt to catch up with the competition. The codec is lagging behind in development.
Why is it free. I do not know. It is not the only company with vvc technology.
VVC has nothing to compare with x265 presets. The first HEVC Mainconcept codecs were also underdeveloped and the quality compared with x265 was deliberately poor. Whoever made movies in Sony Vegas at low bitrates knows what it looked like.
It changed when there was youtube.
Today Fraunhofer HEVC/VVC is trying to do something with these features and that's not just a challenge. It will take time to fine tune the presets and fix the bugs. In addition, it is trying to convert the codec from c++11 to c++20 with new features, which will also take some time.
It's quite normal for a variety of companies to offer their own encoder implementations in the early stage of a codec's market introduction. They've needed to build their own for internal testing, and might as well share them to promote market acceptance.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2021, 23:55   #513  |  Link
birdie
Artem S. Tashkinov
 
birdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwaggoner View Post
PNG is natively a full range RGB format. So you still have a color space and range conversion in the process. Normally it's fine going from 8-bit YUV to 8-bit RGB, with the inverse much more lossy. But it's still not lossless.
Slight changes in the color palette are barely perceivable however the loss of detail is what people will notice right away, so comparing codecs after converting their results to PNG is still valid. Besides, codecs work with the same color space which means converting them to PNG will affect them equally.
birdie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2021, 00:49   #514  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,125
VTM 14.0 is out.
hajj_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2021, 15:54   #515  |  Link
Gravitator
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 292
The reason for the encoder's refusal to assign an I-frame for frame №60 (scene change) ?
Themselves encode and check.

VVenC v1.1.0/VVdeC v1.1.2:
Code:
ffmpeg -i c:/raw_1080p30.mkv -pix_fmt yuv420p -f rawvideo - | vvencapp.exe -s 1920x1080 --framerate 30 --threads 2 --preset medium -q 30 -i - --output c:\test.vvc && vvdecapp.exe -b c:\test.vvc -o c:\VVC.yuv && ffmpeg -video_size 1920x1080 -framerate 30 -pix_fmt yuv420p10le -i c:\vvc.yuv -c:v -acodec -vcodec utvideo -color_primaries 1 -color_trc 1 -colorspace 1 c:\final.mkv && del c:\vvc.yuv
Download source video file (305.6MB) > raw_1080p30.mkv
Attached Images
 
__________________
Win10x64, Xeon E5450, GTX 750 2GB, DDR3 8GB.

Last edited by Gravitator; 7th September 2021 at 15:02.
Gravitator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2021, 13:03   #516  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 541
Haha, wow. https://thenextweb.com/news/h266-vvc...ming-standards

First H.266 streamer.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2021, 13:06   #517  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gravitator View Post
The reason for the encoder's refusal to assign an I-frame for frame №59 (scene change) ?
Themselves encode and check.
Not all I frames are key frames. /Facepalm
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2021, 15:08   #518  |  Link
Gravitator
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balling View Post
Not all I frames are key frames. /Facepalm
I corrected it to the number 60. What's the difference? The encoder did not catch the change - it did not allocate the necessary bitrate. It turned out correctly on x265.
__________________
Win10x64, Xeon E5450, GTX 750 2GB, DDR3 8GB.
Gravitator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2021, 15:49   #519  |  Link
Funky080900
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 16
What do you mean VVenC did not allocate necessary bitrate? You encoded with constant QP (-q 30). If you want to use rate control, specify a bitrate E.g. -b 1000000. And there's no scene change detection in VVenC currently, so keyframes get placed in regular intervals.
Funky080900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2021, 19:43   #520  |  Link
rwill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 347
Damn, guys...

I just remembered some test of VP3 where someone compared VP3 to DivX 3.11 and he set the keyframe period to 9999 sec or frames, can't remember, in VP3 and then continued to complain about quality and seek times. Now DivX 3.11 was (hacked?) to place keyframes on scenecuts but VP3 just did what it was told. Didnt serve it well to take user input literally.

@Gravitator: Would you complain about broadcast too ? Because most broadcast encoders do not insert I frames on scene change as well. They rather run with a large fixed open gop because they do not care about the screen content.
rwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.