Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st December 2015, 11:45   #21  |  Link
cretindesalpes
͡҉҉ ̵̡̢̛̗̘̙̜̝̞̟̠͇̊̋̌̍̎̏̿̿
 
cretindesalpes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: No support in PM
Posts: 712
I’ve got more or less the same performances and thread counts in both versions (i7 4770K, 4 cores 8 threads).

Old 1.0.1:
Code:
Frames processed:               200 (0 - 199)
FPS (min | max | average):      3.366 | 9.113 | 4.687
Memory usage (phys | virt):     555 | 553 MB
Thread count:                   14
CPU usage (average):            81%
New 1.0.3:
Code:
Frames processed:               200 (0 - 199)
FPS (min | max | average):      3.407 | 8.902 | 4.642
Memory usage (phys | virt):     554 | 552 MB
Thread count:                   14
CPU usage (average):            82%

Forcing avstp_set_threads(10):

Old 1.0.1:
Code:
Frames processed:               200 (0 - 199)
FPS (min | max | average):      3.286 | 7.798 | 3.997
Memory usage (phys | virt):     555 | 553 MB
Thread count:                   16
CPU usage (average):            65%
New 1.0.3:
Code:
Frames processed:               200 (0 - 199)
FPS (min | max | average):      3.270 | 7.877 | 3.948
Memory usage (phys | virt):     554 | 552 MB
Thread count:                   16
CPU usage (average):            65%
Note that in all cases, a few threads are created after the processing of 50–100 frames, not directly related to the avstp internal thread pool. I guess they are created by the VS2013 runtime library because of the use of some synchronisation primitives.
__________________
dither 1.28.1 for AviSynth | avstp 1.0.4 for AviSynth development | fmtconv r30 for Vapoursynth & Avs+ | trimx264opt segmented encoding
cretindesalpes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2015, 12:09   #22  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by cretindesalpes View Post
Note that in all cases, a few threads are created after the processing of 50–100 frames, not directly related to the avstp internal thread pool. I guess they are created by the VS2013 runtime library because of the use of some synchronisation primitives.
Yes, checking with Process Explorer shows the same number of avstp threads for both versions. For 1.0.3, some ntdll threads are created.
But why does AVSMeter show the same number of threads for both versions in your setup?
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2016, 21:48   #23  |  Link
edcrfv94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 84
Kaspersky slow avstp.dll it is Trojan.Win32.Clicker.mj
Look like it is False positive?
edcrfv94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 02:12   #24  |  Link
SSH4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by edcrfv94 View Post
Kaspersky slow avstp.dll it is Trojan.Win32.Clicker.mj
Look like it is False positive?
Trow away this slow monster (Kaspersky).
Use VirusTotal uploader for checking files.
https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/4...is/1455158866/
SSH4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2016, 22:53   #25  |  Link
bilditup1
Registered User
 
bilditup1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by cretindesalpes View Post
Put it in the usual AviSynth 2.5\plugins\ directory, or load it manually with LoadPlugin("path\avstp.dll") in your script.
When I try manual loading, I get this:

Code:
LoadPlugin: unable to load "C:\blu\MeGUI\tools\avisynth_plugin\cretindesalpes\avstp.dll", error=0xc1
Putting avstp.dll in the "C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\" and having it autoload appears to avoid this error. But, I am not actually sure if it's loaded or not though.

ED: I was attempting to use avstp with AviSynth MT 2.60, which is apparently stupid and pointless. My mistake.

ED2: I was mistakenly attempting to use the X64 version with 32-bit AviSynth (both ST and MT) and it appears that's what caused the error. Loading the one with the proper architecture (duh) avoids this nonsense.

Last edited by bilditup1; 23rd May 2016 at 01:00. Reason: foolishness
bilditup1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2020, 11:01   #26  |  Link
cretindesalpes
͡҉҉ ̵̡̢̛̗̘̙̜̝̞̟̠͇̊̋̌̍̎̏̿̿
 
cretindesalpes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: No support in PM
Posts: 712
For some reason, I just updated the internal code and compiled AVSTP with modern tools. From the end user point of view, there shouldn’t be any significant difference with the previous version, excepted that Win XP is not supported anymore (I guess this isn’t a big deal nowadays).

See the first post for download.
__________________
dither 1.28.1 for AviSynth | avstp 1.0.4 for AviSynth development | fmtconv r30 for Vapoursynth & Avs+ | trimx264opt segmented encoding
cretindesalpes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2020, 06:38   #27  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 2,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by cretindesalpes View Post
For some reason, I just updated the internal code and compiled AVSTP with modern tools. From the end user point of view, there shouldn’t be any significant difference with the previous version, excepted that Win XP is not supported anymore (I guess this isn’t a big deal nowadays).

See the first post for download.
can this take benefit of internal pool of Avs+? https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...21#post1777021 and https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...46#post1778346
__________________
See My Avisynth Stuff
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2020, 11:17   #28  |  Link
cretindesalpes
͡҉҉ ̵̡̢̛̗̘̙̜̝̞̟̠͇̊̋̌̍̎̏̿̿
 
cretindesalpes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: No support in PM
Posts: 712
real.finder:
I wasn’t aware of it. Using the Avs+ threadpool is probably more logical, but supporting two APIs in each filter is a lot of work.
__________________
dither 1.28.1 for AviSynth | avstp 1.0.4 for AviSynth development | fmtconv r30 for Vapoursynth & Avs+ | trimx264opt segmented encoding
cretindesalpes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2020, 10:17   #29  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 2,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by cretindesalpes View Post
but supporting two APIs in each filter is a lot of work.
what about make AVSTP use it (act like a warper for avs+ one) if that possible? if it possible then maybe making special version for avs+ or maybe making AVSTP see if it avs+ or not to either use it own or avs+ one
__________________
See My Avisynth Stuff
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2020, 23:22   #30  |  Link
FranceBB
Broadcast Encoder
 
FranceBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by cretindesalpes View Post
For some reason, I just updated the internal code and compiled AVSTP with modern tools. From the end user point of view, there shouldn’t be any significant difference with the previous version, excepted that Win XP is not supported anymore (I guess this isn’t a big deal nowadays).

See the first post for download.
It kinda is for some people...
That's too bad, in fact the new version of the package produces an access violation on XP.
Is it just a compilation issue or did you change something complex internally not to make it XP compatible?
Would you be so kind to re-compile with the v141_xp?
FranceBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2020, 03:43   #31  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,963
Quote:
From the end user point of view, there shouldn’t be any significant difference with the previous version, excepted that Win XP is not supported anymore
Well, as Cretindesalpes rarely visits any more, and only significant difference being that it dont work with XP,
just continue using the old version, thats what I would be doing.

EDIT: Cretindesalpes probably only updated his project files for new compiler [and dumped the older compiler],
just so it would compile properly, probably just done for 'uniformity' of his projects.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 14th November 2020 at 04:01.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2020, 04:14   #32  |  Link
FranceBB
Broadcast Encoder
 
FranceBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 2,842
I see...
Fair enough, I'll stick with the older one as I've been doing so far.
Time to go to bed now, though, it's 4AM over here...
FranceBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2021, 08:15   #33  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,133
mvtools bug with avstp.dll here:
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...90#post1942490
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2021, 10:06   #34  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 2,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by kedautinh12 View Post
I think this is wrong link, you mean this https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...10#post1942510 ?

anyway, if it not avstp bug (mostly) this should be reported to pinterf since he do update mvools recently, the last login of pinterf was from 2 weeks ago I think, lets hope he is fine
__________________
See My Avisynth Stuff

Last edited by real.finder; 11th May 2021 at 10:09.
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2021, 17:35   #35  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,503
Is it possible to have an updated list of the plugins (w/versions) that work with AVSTP.DLL?

Thanks.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2021, 08:52   #36  |  Link
pinterf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,308
Hi, I saw you have fmtconv on git, will it happen to avstp as well?
I found some issues with actual 1.04 (both in linux/gcc compatibility and a threading issue), just asking if we can discuss it on git "issues" or "discussions" section or here (or in PM)
pinterf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2021, 13:03   #37  |  Link
FranceBB
Broadcast Encoder
 
FranceBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinterf View Post
I found some issues with actual 1.04
and let's also remember the "frozen as ice" thingy caused by avstp...
FranceBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2021, 19:13   #38  |  Link
cretindesalpes
͡҉҉ ̵̡̢̛̗̘̙̜̝̞̟̠͇̊̋̌̍̎̏̿̿
 
cretindesalpes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: No support in PM
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinterf View Post
Hi, I saw you have fmtconv on git, will it happen to avstp as well?
I have no plan for this at the moment, but if there is a request I could add a repository. However I’m not sure about the proper way to manage the common libraries I share between my different projects. I’m far from being a git expert
Quote:
I found some issues with actual 1.04 (both in linux/gcc compatibility and a threading issue), just asking if we can discuss it on git "issues" or "discussions" section or here (or in PM)
Of course, here or on Github if you like it better. I wasn’t aware of the freeze issue, I would try to help if I could get some “minimal steps to reproduce”.
__________________
dither 1.28.1 for AviSynth | avstp 1.0.4 for AviSynth development | fmtconv r30 for Vapoursynth & Avs+ | trimx264opt segmented encoding
cretindesalpes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2023, 01:04   #39  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by FranceBB View Post
and let's also remember the "frozen as ice" thingy caused by avstp...
It's can fix now, check AVSTP v.1.0.4.1
https://github.com/pinterf/AVSTP/releases
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2023, 12:11   #40  |  Link
FranceBB
Broadcast Encoder
 
FranceBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 2,842
Outstanding work, Ferenc!
Issue closed!
FranceBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.