Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th September 2019, 20:03   #941  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 60
I have trouble with the last both versions. Except Violation Error, if i will indexing my DNxHR HQX Content in a Quicktime Container.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 9 3950x / Gigabyte Aorus Master X570 / 32 GB G.Skill F4 3200C16-16GVK / ASUS STRIX GeForce GTX1070 8GB GDDR5
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2019, 21:00   #942  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyWu View Post
https://github.com/HolyWu/L-SMASH-Wo...ks_20190914.7z
  • VideoSource: Fix fallback to software decoder in prefer_hw.
  • LWLibav: Fix access violation in file name manipulation.




I'm not able to fix it. Need investigation by the origianl developer. A workaround is to extract the video track as .m2v file and it will work fine. Or alternatively use MPEG2Source which should be reliable for MPEG2 streams.




Please try and see whether the latest build fix your issue.
Ok. Would IT be difficult to add that auto option regarding hardware decoding? I'm asking because in distributed encoding mode some machines may have NVIDIA GPU and some Intel GPU.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 14th September 2019 at 21:04.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 09:20   #943  |  Link
HolyWu
Registered User
 
HolyWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 755
https://github.com/HolyWu/L-SMASH-Wo...ks_20190917.7z
  • VideoSource: Add prefer_hw=3.
HolyWu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 12:10   #944  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyWu View Post
It is almost perfect... However... Lsmash does not check if hardware decoder supports specific codec. I have a Kepler GPU which does not support HEVC decoding and in this case prefer_hw=1/3 returns an error message.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 13:57   #945  |  Link
redbtn
Registered User
 
redbtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 141
First of all, thank you HolyWu for updates!
Can I ask what matter to use hardware decoder? I have Nvidia RTX 2060, but I did test and didn't notice difference in encoding speed.
What decoder is preferred in my case? Thank you!

Last edited by redbtn; 17th September 2019 at 14:31.
redbtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 15:17   #946  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbtn View Post
First of all, thank you HolyWu for updates!
Can I ask what matter to use hardware decoder? I have Nvidia RTX 2060, but I did test and didn't notice difference in encoding speed.
What decoder is preferred in my case? Thank you!
It depends on your scenario

e.g if the bottleneck is your encoder/ encoding settings, or some filters, maybe offloading the decoding to GPU might not make much of a difference

eg. If decoding only uses 0.5% of your CPU (maybe SD footage), it might not make much of a difference either

Other scenarios might be different. e.g. Decoding UHD/4K footage might take significant CPU resources. Offloading that decoding task to GPU should free up CPU cycles to encode faster (if using a "CPU encoder" )
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 15:30   #947  |  Link
redbtn
Registered User
 
redbtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
It depends on your scenario

e.g if the bottleneck is your encoder/ encoding settings, or some filters, maybe offloading the decoding to GPU might not make much of a difference

eg. If decoding only uses 0.5% of your CPU (maybe SD footage), it might not make much of a difference either

Other scenarios might be different. e.g. Decoding UHD/4K footage might take significant CPU resources. Offloading that decoding task to GPU should free up CPU cycles to encode faster (if using a "CPU encoder" )
Thank you for explaining. I encode 4k HDR > 1080p HDR using x265 and VapourSynth. So, I will try again, maybe I will see the difference. Is it right, that both software and hardware decoders work the same and no difference in quality or stability? Can I safely choose hardware decoder for all my encodes and don't worry about something goes wrong?
redbtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 15:41   #948  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbtn View Post
Thank you for explaining. I encode 4k HDR > 1080p HDR using x265 and VapourSynth. So, I will try again, maybe I will see the difference. Is it right, that both software and hardware decoders work the same and no difference in quality or stability? Can I safely choose hardware decoder for all my encodes and don't worry about something goes wrong?
Money back guarantee

There were differences in earlier versions with CUVID, but this version looks to have fixed it

I don't think there has been enough testing to ensure everything works 100%

If something goes wrong, report it . That's the only way stuff gets fixed
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 15:48   #949  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,505
Quote:
Can I ask what matter to use hardware decoder? I have Nvidia RTX 2060, but I did test and didn't notice difference in encoding speed.
What decoder is preferred in my case? Thank you!
How many CPU cores? I don't think you gain something substantial if you have more than 4 cores, that's what my encoding test showed, sw 60 fps, hw 61 fps.

StaxRip hasn't the most efficient drawing implementation, dealing with 4K in the crop and preview dialog users get a noticeable improvement with a HW decoder.

Last edited by stax76; 17th September 2019 at 15:57.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 15:57   #950  |  Link
redbtn
Registered User
 
redbtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
How many CPU cores? I don't think you gain something substantial if you have more than 4 cores, that's what my encoding test showed.

StaxRip hasn't the most efficient drawing implementation, dealing with 4K in the crop and preview dialog users get a noticeable improvement with a HW decoder.
I have I5-9400f 6 core processor. On preset Slower x265 with some minor changes i get 2.4-2.6 fps.
So, if I can't see any difference after tests, the best way choose software decoder, right?

Last edited by redbtn; 17th September 2019 at 15:59.
redbtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 17:44   #951  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbtn View Post
I have I5-9400f 6 core processor. On preset Slower x265 with some minor changes i get 2.4-2.6 fps.
So, if I can't see any difference after tests, the best way choose software decoder, right?
No wonder you see no differences with hardware decoding if encoder is only requesting on average 1 frame every 400ms.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 17:45   #952  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 871
Hardware decoder can easily reach 200fps on 1080p source.
__________________
Projects
x265 - Yuuki-Asuna-mod Download / GitHub
TS - ADTS AAC Splitter | LATM AAC Splitter | BS4K-ASS
Neo AviSynth+ filters - F3KDB | FFT3D | DFTTest | MiniDeen | Temporal Median
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 17:48   #953  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeteorRain View Post
Hardware decoder can easily reach 200fps on 1080p source.
Decoding speed with blu-ray avc source is around 130fps on Kepler.
For comparison:
Q8200@2.8GHz reaches 100fps (~85% cpu usage)
Xeon E5-2690@3.2GHz reaches 440fps (~75% cpu usage)

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 17th September 2019 at 18:13.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 01:06   #954  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 871
Thanks for correcting. Although those fps are "free" fps that does not fight with encoding speed at all. When transcoding HEVC 4k, having hardware decoder can free up large portion of CPU resources and leave them for encoding. I'd still use hardware decoder whenever possible to me.
__________________
Projects
x265 - Yuuki-Asuna-mod Download / GitHub
TS - ADTS AAC Splitter | LATM AAC Splitter | BS4K-ASS
Neo AviSynth+ filters - F3KDB | FFT3D | DFTTest | MiniDeen | Temporal Median
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 09:04   #955  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeteorRain View Post
Thanks for correcting. Although those fps are "free" fps that does not fight with encoding speed at all. When transcoding HEVC 4k, having hardware decoder can free up large portion of CPU resources and leave them for encoding. I'd still use hardware decoder whenever possible to me.
In theory yes but in practice no. Encoder will still be responsible for about 98% of CPU time. You will only see difference If you encode hevc 4k 100Mbps to low resolution with x264 and preset superfast.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 18th September 2019 at 09:10.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 09:07   #956  |  Link
DJATOM
Registered User
 
DJATOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ukraine, Bohuslav
Posts: 254
If you're using heavy filters (like eedi3 or mdegrain), you'll definitely see an improvement in speed with HW decoder.
__________________
Me on GitHub
PC Specs: Ryzen 3900X, 64 GB RAM, RTX 2070
DJATOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 09:13   #957  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJATOM View Post
If you're using heavy filters (like eedi3 or mdegrain), you'll definitely see an improvement in speed with HW decoder.
Nope because those filters work on CPU creating additional bottleneck.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 09:54   #958  |  Link
DJATOM
Registered User
 
DJATOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ukraine, Bohuslav
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Nope because those filters work on CPU creating additional bottleneck.
Yeah, and offloading decoder to GPU saves CPU cycles for encoder and filters.
__________________
Me on GitHub
PC Specs: Ryzen 3900X, 64 GB RAM, RTX 2070
DJATOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 10:08   #959  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,560
Atak_Snajpera is right. The more of my CPU time "cake" is spent on filtering and encoding the less impact HW decoding will make on speed. It doesn't mean HW decoding won't make encoding faster it's just that the percentage goes down. (Exception is if my CPU isn't utilized 100%.)

Imagine you use AV1 encoder with placebo settings and very slow filtering (QTGMC+waifu2x) and software decoding of source. Then 99% of CPU time is spent on encoding+filtering, 1% on SW decoding. If you replace SW decoding with HW decoding you only free up that 1%. If you use no filtering and very fast encoder settings (x264 preset ultrafast) maybe you have 70% encoding and 30% SW decoding. Then replacing SW by HW decoding can increase speed much more.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 10:11   #960  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJATOM View Post
Yeah, and offloading decoder to GPU saves CPU cycles for encoder and filters.
You do not realize how encoding chain works. Encoder determines how fast IT needs frames from decoder. Any filtering in avisynth will only slow down frame requests.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.