Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th June 2017, 13:01   #44081  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
sounds like a bug to me but not sure where.
you should be able to force deinterlancing with control+shift+alt+d
better than nothing i guess.
It does no more than print out the message of deinterlacing being turned on/off and change the text on the OSD. Deinterlacing still doesn't work, no matter how many times I flip it.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2017, 13:08   #44082  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzso View Post
It does no more than print out the message of deinterlacing being turned on/off and change the text on the OSD. Deinterlacing still doesn't work, no matter how many times I flip it.
if you can't force deinterlancing with the hotkey than this should be a bug in madVR.

i guess you need to ask a different progDVB user if it works for him. so nothing i can do anymore.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2017, 13:33   #44083  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
doesn't make any sense the data rate never changes.
the cable check is uesless i even talk to AMD and ask them why this check doesn't do anything and they didn't even know what this thing does. depending on the driver used you will never get the image back until you unplug it. there is something big broken.
12 bits, 10 bits, 8 bits, 4:4:4, 4:2:2, 4:2:0, 23hz, 24hz, 50hz, 60hz, 1080p, 2160p all give different data rates

I use 1080p, 10 bits, 4:2:0, 60hz on a 12 meters cable between AMD RX 480 and Marantz receiver. This works fine. Higher bit rate causes glitches and screen goes black for seconds.

True, the check does not improve the signal. It is added to tell you if the cable is not ok. This seems not to work. HDMI uses power steering at peers end of the cable. HDMI is sensitive to the HDMI implementation of the devices. It may happen that there is a mismatch between the devices and cable. A solution is to use a HDMI repeater. (HDMI 2.1 is bases on repeaters for long distances)

Beside a good cable, check updates of the TV. My new samsung KS7000 got an update to improve HDMI connection with some UHD players.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2017, 13:38   #44084  |  Link
Soulnight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 21
Hi guys,

is there any boolean value to apply a specific "profile" to hdr content with "undefined hdr"?

I created a profile with the boolean value "HDR". Problem is, I have some videos which doe have HDR but somehow with hdr flag resulting in this "HDR: undefined" instead of HDR: 4000 nits for example.
And in this case the HDR boolean value does not recognize the profile as being HDR.

@madshi: would it be possible to extend the HDR boolean value to hdr undefined?

@all: could I maybe filter with with a bollean value like "REC2020"? Or maybe H265?

Thank you!
Soulnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2017, 14:28   #44085  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,789
Quote:
12 bits, 10 bits, 8 bits, 4:4:4, 4:2:2, 4:2:0, 23hz, 24hz, 50hz, 60hz, 1080p, 2160p all give different data rates
but they stay the same every time they don't change ever.
Quote:
I use 1080p, 10 bits, 4:2:0, 60hz on a 12 meters cable between AMD RX 480 and Marantz receiver. This works fine. Higher bit rate causes glitches and screen goes black for seconds.
you are send about 1/8 of the UHD bandwidth and you are already at the limited. even for 12 meter this is pretty bad and i was using 1.5-2 meter cables.
and BTW. 1080p 4:2:0 is not part of the HDMI spec.

2160p60 4:4:4 is fine with my nvidia cards.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2017, 17:58   #44086  |  Link
SweetLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by daglax View Post
Seems like madvr doesnt recognize the display name. I tried the name that madvr shows me under the "devices" tab in madvr settings. Is this a bug?
Yes. And madshi knows this
SweetLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2017, 14:35   #44087  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you are send about 1/8 of the UHD bandwidth and you are already at the limited. even for 12 meter this is pretty bad and i was using 1.5-2 meter cables.
and BTW. 1080p 4:2:0 is not part of the HDMI spec.

2160p60 4:4:4 is fine with my nvidia cards.
The limit is 2160p30 4:2:0 on 12 meter. 30 Hz ís a too low frequency for Windows on the TV. With 2 meter cable 2160p60 4:4:4 works fine. Perhaps I should try a HDMI repeater and see if I can get more out of the 12 meter cable.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2017, 14:59   #44088  |  Link
jerryleungwh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 39
Hi I have been trying to get HDR working on my tv but with no luck. I use the passthrough option with both nvidia and win10 api, and neither one managed to send hdr signal to my tv, I suppose it's because the metadata was not sent, what could be the reason? I am using a dell inspiron 15 7000 series 7559. Also, not sure if it's related but I never got the hdr switch on the display page after the win 10 anniversary update

Last edited by jerryleungwh; 12th June 2017 at 15:14.
jerryleungwh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2017, 17:36   #44089  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
The limit is 2160p30 4:2:0 on 12 meter. 30 Hz ís a too low frequency for Windows on the TV. With 2 meter cable 2160p60 4:4:4 works fine. Perhaps I should try a HDMI repeater and see if I can get more out of the 12 meter cable.
there is no such limited on a 12 meter cable.
a 12 meter high speed cable has to be able to do the same as a 2 meter high speed cable or it is not high speed.
no need to discuss this in the madVR thread.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2017, 22:22   #44090  |  Link
sauma144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 89
Hello madshi,
Do you plan to add Enhanced EWA upscalers into madVR?
http://kaba.hilvi.org/homepage/cg/ewa/Enhanced_Ewa.pdf

Do you plan to add any denoiser?
I know there are a lot of forms of image noise and that creating such a good denoiser is not that easy.
I would like to toggle it easily with a keyboard shortcut.

Last edited by sauma144; 12th June 2017 at 22:39.
sauma144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2017, 23:44   #44091  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by sauma144 View Post
Hello madshi,
Do you plan to add Enhanced EWA upscalers into madVR?
http://kaba.hilvi.org/homepage/cg/ewa/Enhanced_Ewa.pdf

Do you plan to add any denoiser?
I know there are a lot of forms of image noise and that creating such a good denoiser is not that easy.
I would like to toggle it easily with a keyboard shortcut.

Looks impressive!
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 01:06   #44092  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,789
reminds me of EWA lanczos (jinc)
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 04:22   #44093  |  Link
HauteTension
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Hello.
I have questions to the MAdVR community.

1) How hardware-scalable is MadVR?
How much the performance of MadVR depends on the CPU?

For example, does it make any sense to change the 4-core Core i7 6500 to 8-core Core i7 6900K or 12-core i9-7920X?
Will this provide any significant increase in overall MadVR performance and will it allow using more sophisticated algorithms?
How about new AMD Risen multicore processors? Is it better or worse then i7 for MadVR?

Maybe, Is it better for MadVR to use processors with a higher clock rate, rather than a large number of cores?

2) The second question: does MadVR support video cards in SLI configurations?
That is, will it give any/or noticeable boost to MadVR performance by adding a second similar video card to the system?

3) Which test or test suite now most accurately represents the performance of CPU and GPU in relation to MadVR processing?
Is this OpenCL benchmarks or something else?

Will be grateful for the explanations and answers.
HauteTension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 07:23   #44094  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,192
I'll have a crack at these.

1) Very, it can work a Titan if you're upscaling to 4K or beyond. Very little depends on CPU, choose whatever you want it won't matter (Quad+ cores generally preferred these days)
Ryzen is good, madVR is designed for mostly GPU work as GPU's are far more suited for these tasks so it really doesn't matter.
2) No.
3)Nothing I know of, Nvidia generally offers better performance for most features of madVR. At this point it's best just to ask providing information about content and display , maybe one day madVR has the ability to benchmark.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 07:24   #44095  |  Link
sauma144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
reminds me of EWA lanczos (jinc)
It's an enhanced version of EWA upscaling, so Enhanced Jinc or Jinc++.
sauma144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 09:15   #44096  |  Link
HauteTension
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Very little depends on CPU
Thanks for answers!

1) I already have a Titan X Pascal for MadVR, which works with i7.
Typical CPU usage is 25-30% even on the heaviest algorithms.

Typical content: Remux 1080p, which upscale to 4K Screen.

Even Titan X is not enough for maximal algorithms, such as
"Chroma Upscaling NGU-Very High + Image Upscaling NGU Very High"

Even NNEDI3-256 for Chroma + NGU High for Image Upscaling is already a problem.

Therefore, I want more hardware power
It's a pity if my bundle of CPU and GPU is the top for MadVR for today.

2) If SLI is not supported, very sorry.
What prevents MadVR from using SLI or more-than-4-core CPU?

3) If MadVR does not much depend on the processor,
Maybe, a bundle of i3 + Titan X will provide the same performance as i7 + Titan X?
In other words, there is no point in buying a processor more expensive than i3 for MadVR?

4) That's why it would be important to have relevant tests that will show which particular increase provides more expensive hardware and
where generally reasonable CPU power limit for MadVR.
HauteTension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 09:32   #44097  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,192
That CPU usage will actually be more the AV decoding than madVR.

"Maximal algorithms" are typically bad choices without first weighing the visual benefits..
4K is a big upscale from Full HD with things like NNEDI3 and NGU, don't underestimate the amount of work that needs to be done to do this.. scale it back, I doubt you'll notice a difference.

I've said this many times.. do not use NNEDI3 256 for chroma. I have no doubt it'll be removed in future.. It's nothing but a huge waste of resources, avoid it like the plague.

You don't really need more hardware power.. you need to look at what you're doing and weigh the benefits of an upgrade by first looking at the differences between what you can and can't do..

I think what prevents madVR from using SLI is that simply madshi has not spent any time on developing for it, there could be a limitation though..

If you're only using a PC for madVR only then a modern quad i3 is fine, personally I'd rather a Ryzen for the extra cores.

When your using a Titan there's not really much out there that's better.. I think most would say go for a 1080Ti if you wanted to upgrade further.. but like I said, weigh it up first.
You should know what you're getting before you pay for it just jumping into a Titan X or 1080Ti without knowing what it gives you is pretty silly IMO.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 11:54   #44098  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by sauma144 View Post
It's an enhanced version of EWA upscaling, so Enhanced Jinc or Jinc++.
it's not like the jinc in madVR is normal EWA lanczos.

would be an easy test with the unscaled test images used but i don't see a way to access them.

i could kind of simulate the 2x2 black white test board pattern and jinc is clearly different from EWA filtering and the new one and what it'S worth clearly superior on this pretty worthless test pattern.

i had to simulate it so it is clearly not 100% the same image.

and most important these paper are from "March 3, 2009" and if i remember correctly jinc is from 2012.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 13:54   #44099  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 174
Just wanted to pop by to say finally got Kodi and HDR metadata and the HDR trigger to work!!! Phew. Turns out that if you use the latest Kodi Dsplayer 32bit version and nvidia driver 378.92 and select passthrough using the nvidi api, it works perfect. Was previously using the latest 64 bit version of kodi dsplayer, which the above doesnt work with

Thanks again Madshi for the great work.

K

Win 10 x64 (16199 build)
Asus GTX 1080 strix OC

PS- As I suspected, no go with later drivers, so 378.92 is the one the works for HDR triggers.

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 13th June 2017 at 15:13.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 16:01   #44100  |  Link
Ironclad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by HauteTension View Post
Thanks for answers!

1) I already have a Titan X Pascal for MadVR, which works with i7.
Typical CPU usage is 25-30% even on the heaviest algorithms.

Typical content: Remux 1080p, which upscale to 4K Screen.

Even Titan X is not enough for maximal algorithms, such as
"Chroma Upscaling NGU-Very High + Image Upscaling NGU Very High"

Even NNEDI3-256 for Chroma + NGU High for Image Upscaling is already a problem.

Therefore, I want more hardware power
It's a pity if my bundle of CPU and GPU is the top for MadVR for today.

2) If SLI is not supported, very sorry.
What prevents MadVR from using SLI or more-than-4-core CPU?

3) If MadVR does not much depend on the processor,
Maybe, a bundle of i3 + Titan X will provide the same performance as i7 + Titan X?
In other words, there is no point in buying a processor more expensive than i3 for MadVR?

4) That's why it would be important to have relevant tests that will show which particular increase provides more expensive hardware and
where generally reasonable CPU power limit for MadVR.
MadVR has many possible configurations but not all of them are practical. The higher strength upscaler settings have diminishing returns, and I never use the max settings. If you're using NNEDI3 or NGU highly doubt you'll even notice a difference if you bring them down to medium strength. On a GTX 1080, I'm using NGU chroma doubling & quadrupling with frame interpolation to 90 fps and only getting like 70% usage. I would recommend looking up some guides on what most people find are resource efficient configurations. It's subjective of course, but I think it will give you a jumping off point to configure what you find most pleasing.
Ironclad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.