Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th May 2017, 16:57   #43941  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
From what I understand I frame drop every 1 hour means smooth playback and every 1 hour there's a small ''jerk'' if you ever see it.Doesn't look bad to me.Or it affects general smoothness while the movie plays?
The thing is that I lose 4:4:4 and I don't know if it's a placebo but I think that I see some image quality degradation with 4:2:2.
Picture seems a bit sharper but a bit more 'dull''.

Last edited by Damien147; 29th May 2017 at 17:01.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 18:01   #43942  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,814
should "only" be a hiccup every 1 H. with a 23p source at 24 hz it's a hiccup about every 42 secs.

the sharpness difference can easily come from leaving PC mode so the TV is now again doing all kind of stuff to the image.

the first thing you should do is check if the TV is able to do 23/24p in the first place.

so either your eyes don't care or your TV can do it correct. so just do what you want.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 18:57   #43943  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
Before 24hz was activated and had 1 frame repeat every ~40 seconds.Now it seems that 23hz gets activated and I get 1 frame drop every 1 hour.I get annoyed though by losing 4:4:4 and I might go back to 60hz and SM.I can't see a problem judder wise anyway,looks smooth to me.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 19:26   #43944  |  Link
xabregas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
From what I understand I frame drop every 1 hour means smooth playback and every 1 hour there's a small ''jerk'' if you ever see it.Doesn't look bad to me.Or it affects general smoothness while the movie plays?
The thing is that I lose 4:4:4 and I don't know if it's a placebo but I think that I see some image quality degradation with 4:2:2.
Picture seems a bit sharper but a bit more 'dull''.
Probably because you have kept the tv settings untouche. If they were fine for 4:4:4 they might be wrong for 4:2:2. But you get the best accurate color with 4:2:2. Not only best color but the playback will be accurate. When you change the color output so many times the colors will affect movie playback no matter what algorithm method you use on madVR. For instance. if u choose RGB Full in nvidia settings u will never get the accurate playback u aim.

Last edited by xabregas; 29th May 2017 at 19:30.
xabregas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 19:58   #43945  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabregas View Post
Probably because you have kept the tv settings untouche. If they were fine for 4:4:4 they might be wrong for 4:2:2. But you get the best accurate color with 4:2:2. Not only best color but the playback will be accurate. When you change the color output so many times the colors will affect movie playback no matter what algorithm method you use on madVR. For instance. if u choose RGB Full in nvidia settings u will never get the accurate playback u aim.
not sure how you came up with this but madVR output is RGB the "nvidia" settings have nothing to do with that.

everything that is not fullrange RGB in the "nvidia settings" will convert the image. so full range RGB is closest to untouched and can be untouched.

next is the TV. this depends a lot on the TV but for most accurate result calibrated PC mode 4:4:4 is usually the best it doesn't downscale the image and disables most post processing.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 19:59   #43946  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
@xabregas

I see the logic to it because when 4:4:4 gets disabled picture mode changes too.I try to keep any filters off and try to reproduce same settings as with 4:4:4 because I have an icc profile.Anyway,problem seems to get complicated and the easiest thing is 60hz with SM.Thanks for the tips.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 20:34   #43947  |  Link
lunkens
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Maybe a longshot! I'm enjoying MadVR since day one and it gets better for every revision

Is there a way to modify any file in Kodi to report back "actual aspect ratio" from MadVR?

Today I have a plugin (Control4 Driver) that make API calls to Kodi VideoPlayer.VideoAspect and ListItem.VideoAspect.

I think the problem reside in Kodi not getting the info from MadVR. And most files I've tried have hard encoded blackbars hence 1.78 is reported. Maybe a trivial problem for most. But I still seek the answer.
lunkens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 23:04   #43948  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
should "only" be a hiccup every 1 H. with a 23p source at 24 hz it's a hiccup about every 42 secs.

the sharpness difference can easily come from leaving PC mode so the TV is now again doing all kind of stuff to the image.

the first thing you should do is check if the TV is able to do 23/24p in the first place.

so either your eyes don't care or your TV can do it correct. so just do what you want.
That depends on which edition of Windows 10 one uses... 24/60Hz is best for those with modern NVidia cards and fully updated Win10 RS2, while those on Win10 RS1 get the best results with 23Hz setting. There is no way to make one act like the other because MS significantly changed the way FSE Mode works, regardless of Compatibility settings selected for .EXE or Xbox-related settings or Game-Mode settings. I think its a part of WDDM 2.2. You can read more about it here - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Window...y_Driver_Model . Its why RS2 users have to select between Windows and NVidia settings, while RS1 users have only the NVidia settings.

For those who want the best experience with madVR - stick to RS1 (Anniversary Update)
. Its hassle free - no frame issues what-so-ever for hours and hours of playback with ReClock, madVR, LAV, and MPC-HC.
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 23:09   #43949  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
For those who want the best experience with madVR - stick to RS1 (Anniversary Update)[/B]. Its hassle free - no frame issues what-so-ever for hours and hours of playback with ReClock, madVR, LAV, and MPC-HC.
I've honestly read more people that say it works fine for them then those that complain - which was mostly you. Should probably not project your issues onto everyone else. Creators Update runs just fine for me with madVR.
You should just disable game mode and the game bar if you don't want them and think they intefer - if your alternative is to not use CU anyway, you also don't lose out on anything you wouldn't have anyway (not to mention that game mode is largely irrelevant anyway).
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 00:06   #43950  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,995
There is also the option to use an older pre-WDDM 2.2 driver, like 378.xx.

And the custom resolution trick:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=173571
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 00:35   #43951  |  Link
egandt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 46
HDR Playback, need some help

Can someone provide simple instructions on Window Settings and MadVR settings to get HDR to work.

I have a GTX 1080 TI, Windows 1703 and and HDR TV (samsung KS8500),

1. I can get Windows to display HDR if I select the silder to HDR, but then it is aloways in HDR mode no matter what I do, and everything looks like trash.
2. I can disable HDR in Windows, and then use mdavr, using DX11 Playback. I have passthrough HDR Content to the Display selected.
2a. Nvidia's private API
2b. Windows 10 API
In both cases playing back of an HDR video such as "LG_Chess_HDR.mp4" or "Sony_4K_HDR_Camp.mp4", does not switch to HDR mode, according to the TV. The splitter is LAV and the decoder is LAV, so I do not see why madvr is not sending HDR10 data.

I also have an HD Intergral inline so I can monitor what is happing and the Intergal in both cases shows I'm not passing any HDR10 data, so the TV seems correct.

What am I doing wrong?
ERIC
egandt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 08:27   #43952  |  Link
oddball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,262
I am having so much fun with HDR. It keeps getting stuck in that mode even though I turned it off in Win10. So SDR gets incorrectly tone mapped. If I switch from 10bit to 8bit in MadVR settings I can get it back. Either that are rebooting fixes it. But then I have to mess about getting HDR working again as it does not like switching to HDR without clicking on MadVR's system track icon, leaving it for a few seconds then clicking away. I hope this is fixable and not something Win10 or the driver is doing.
oddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 10:36   #43953  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Using newest madvr 0.91.10 causing Potplayer to close really slow and start really slow, I can't click on movie instantly after closing potplayer, I can see potplayer going from 100+ mb of ram to 35mb and then close which takes about 4-5 sec, within this time it doesn't open another movie or the same movie cause I limited it to 1 instance of player. without using Madvr , just any other renderer , potplayer closes fast and opens fast. 0.91.9 worked properly without an issue.

EDIT : Nvm , it still happens with 0.91.9 , I figure it's the new update, he changed something for people who have crashes , might kind of timeout which doesn't close it instant. with version 1.7.1916 it works like it should. Still for some unkonwn reason, potplayer opens when the internet is disabled ! , can anyone figure out why !? it opens the movie instant without internet ( network adapter disabled ) compare to with internet takes like 2-3 sec saying it's opening ...

Last edited by x7007; 30th May 2017 at 10:50.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 18:38   #43954  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
I'm gonna ask again because I didn't get a clear answer the other time.Will I have a benefit if I leave smooth motion always on in 60hz for 29/30 fps movies?
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 19:42   #43955  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,995
Using it always is pointless in my opinion.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 20:03   #43956  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
Ok,thank you.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 21:45   #43957  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 396
Which is the better alternative: 60hz with smooth motion or custom refresh rate 72hz with reclock?
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 22:33   #43958  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 143
Why not 50/75Hz custom refresh rate?
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 23:17   #43959  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Which is the better alternative: 60hz with smooth motion or custom refresh rate 72hz with reclock?
To playback what sort of source material? 72Hz is good for 24fps material. 71.928Hz is good for 23.976fps material.

Depending on your screen, you might be better off implementing a custom resolution for 23.976Hz, because the screen might already be working "behind scenes" to multiply it in order to reduce flicker.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2017, 00:07   #43960  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I've honestly read more people that say it works fine for them then those that complain - which was mostly you. Should probably not project your issues onto everyone else. Creators Update runs just fine for me with madVR.
You should just disable game mode and the game bar if you don't want them and think they intefer - if your alternative is to not use CU anyway, you also don't lose out on anything you wouldn't have anyway (not to mention that game mode is largely irrelevant anyway).
Come over and we test it together:
1. Stock Win10 x64 RS1 + run Windows Update + NO TWEAKS + install latest NVidia drivers + install latest MPC-HC x86, LAV, madVR, ReClock = no issues with playback
2. Stock Win10 x64 RS2 + the same as above = severe frame-droppping with exactly the same settings.

I did this comparison several times and you're wrong to say I am the only one. Windows 10 RS2 does bring significant changes to the way it treats video drivers, refresh rates, adds overlays and "Optimizations" to FSE. There is no way to get rid of it. Its integrated into the OS, most likely hard-coded into DWM.EXE. Just because you aren't getting the same problem does not mean it is not there. As I mentioned, I do not have this RS2 frame-dropping problem on all of my displays, just one of them, and the other 2 work the same way with either edition. It just happens that the one display that has issues with RS2 is my TV!
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.