Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st March 2017, 21:02   #3061  |  Link
HelmedHorror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by e-t172 View Post
Smells like high frequency garbage in the LFE channel. Try the following:
  1. Enable stereo downmixing in the LAV Audio "mixing" tab. Check "Normalize matrix" to rule out clipping in the next steps.
  2. In the mixing options, set the LFE level to zero. Then check if the issue is still there.
  3. In the mixing options, set the LFE level to something high (like 1.5). Then check if the issue is still there.

If the issue disappears with the LFE level set to zero, and reappears as soon as LFE is brought back in, it means the LFE channel in the content you're playing is screwed up. This would not be the first time. One reason VLC might not have this problem is because maybe it discards LFE, or maybe it applies a low-pass filter to it (a similar suggestion was made regarding LAV Audio, but I don't think nevcairiel ever got around to implementing it).
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
VLC may not support lossless DTS-HD MA decoding, which would give you quite a different result.
An extra special part is that Star Wars uses 6.1 audio, not 5.1 or 7.1, that can cause weirdness in some cases.
To clarify, by "Enable stereo downmixing", you mean to set Output Speaker Configuration to Stereo, correct?

When I do that and set LFE to 0.00, the problem is fixed. When I raise the LFE slider, the problem comes back.

But somehow I doubt the film was mastered with such glaring LFE problems, would you agree? So where along the chain of audio processing is this problem occurring do you think? nevcariel mentioned the 6.1 audio in Star Wars, and I think he might be on to something (the Star Wars original trilogy are the only movies I have with DTS S24 6.1.) I just don't know enough about the lav filters or MPC-HC to know what to try next...

But if Star Wars is basically the only thing I can expect to have this problem with, that isn't so bad I suppose...
HelmedHorror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 21:37   #3062  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelmedHorror View Post
But somehow I doubt the film was mastered with such glaring LFE problems, would you agree?
You would be surprised, such problems happen quite often because LFE is typically played through subwoofers that simply cannot play any higher frequencies - so noise in higher frequencies in those channels is not detected.

The proper way to deal with this is to lowpass the LFE before downmixing, and filter out the higher frequencies, unfortunately LAV does not support such a functionality (yet).
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 21:45   #3063  |  Link
HelmedHorror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
You would be surprised, such problems happen quite often because LFE is typically played through subwoofers that simply cannot play any higher frequencies - so noise in higher frequencies in those channels is not detected.

The proper way to deal with this is to lowpass the LFE before downmixing, and filter out the higher frequencies, unfortunately LAV does not support such a functionality (yet).
Interesting... so, why don't other movies have this problem? I have tons of DTS 7.1 movies which, by definition, all have LFE tracks. Did the audio technicians who mastered these other movies' audio simply cut out the higher frequencies in the LFE track, unlike the guys behind the Star Wars audio mastering? If that's the case, then the problem isn't Star Wars's unique 6.1 audio itself, correct? And that any audio of any surround configuration would have the same problem if they didn't take out the high frequencies in the LFE track?

Last edited by HelmedHorror; 21st March 2017 at 21:47.
HelmedHorror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 21:56   #3064  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,783
It definitely sound like a mastering mistake in the LFE channel. It happens occasionally, but the majority of discs are fine, of course.

And yes, such a problem is independent of the channel count, as long as it contains a LFE that is. If you use stereo downmixing, the 6.1 layout wouldn't matter either way, the LAV downmixer can handle that fine.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 23:13   #3065  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelmedHorror View Post
Interesting... so, why don't other movies have this problem?
Because a lot needs to go wrong for that to happen:
  • There was audible noise that got into the LFE channel in the first place.
  • It wasn't removed by any lowpass filter anywhere in the production chain.
  • It wasn't removed by the encoder (the encoders for some formats, such as the lossy versions of DD/DTS, would have removed it, AFAIK).
  • It wasn't caught by the monitoring system of the sound engineer that mastered the audio track.

That's quite a contrived scenario, which is why it only happens rarely. But it can absolutely happen if enough things go wrong simultaneously. Then you're left with a disc that has garbage in the LFE channel. Meanwhile, 99% of the audience won't hear any problem because the LFE channel goes through a lowpass filter on their system (either an actual electronic lowpass filter, or the subwoofer itself), thus masking the issue.

Last edited by e-t172; 21st March 2017 at 23:15.
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2017, 19:55   #3066  |  Link
Tier777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tier777 View Post
Latest stable just reintroduced this old bug

https://trac.mpc-hc.org/ticket/1567
I tried old nightlies to pinpoint when the bug got introduced and found that
MPC-HC.1.7.10.40.x64.VS2015 doesn't have this issue and
MPC-HC.1.7.10.56.x64.VS2015 does.

Which means the bug was introduced on Jan 17th 2016.

I'm not a dev so I wouldn't know which commit is responsible for this behavior. Could anyone take a look at this?

https://github.com/mpc-hc/mpc-hc/com...daf24f7683+244
Tier777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2017, 22:58   #3067  |  Link
JEEB
もこたんインしたお!
 
JEEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland / Japan
Posts: 509
The about screen for MPC-HC should contain the exact hash. That should be useful to pin-point things .
__________________
[I'm human, no debug | Unofficial x264 Builds]
JEEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2017, 14:05   #3068  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,645
Try disabling the "Global Media Keys" option in MPC-HC. I don't seen any obvious changes in the code between .40 and .56 related to key handling.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2017, 18:00   #3069  |  Link
Tier777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 4
I did, but no change. That's what makes it so weird.
Same bug in MPC-BE btw
Tier777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2017, 06:11   #3070  |  Link
rico001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Mpc-hc

I have Miami Vice set on Blu-Ray from Fabulous Films. Unfortunately they added too much contrast so i wanted to restore proper colors.

In MPC-HC Right click->"Renderer Settings" -> "Output Range" change from 0-255 to 16-235 option has no effect at all. No matter which setting is selected, My graphic card is ATI Radeon X1600 Series.

Thank You for help!
rico001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2017, 03:09   #3071  |  Link
raymondjpg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymondjpg View Post
Using latest versions of madVR 89.19 and Emby for WMC (Windows 7 Professional). With MPC-HC 1.7.10 after refresh rate switching by madVR (windowed overlay mode) then video hangs and does not play. Video will play after closing then re-starting MPC.

Refresh rate switching when using MPC-HC 1.7.9 works with video playing fine after refresh rate switching.

Has anyone else seen this, better still have a solution for it? I have also posted this in the madVR forum, but I suspect it is more of an issue with the latest version of MPC-HC than madVR
Exact same issue with MPC-HC 1.7.11, both 32 bit and 64 bit, and latest version of madVR. There has been no response to my post about this in the madVR forum, but I still suspect it is more of an issue with the latest version of MPC-HC than madVR. Does anyone have a solution for this?
raymondjpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2017, 14:19   #3072  |  Link
Garringo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
I would like to use MPC-HC to take screenshots (from Blu-Rays) that look as close to the source as possible. And I'm stupid.

I have taken the same shot with several different players and there is a noticeable difference between them in regards with the color red.

In the following image

http://imgur.com/a/sjIqF

1. Mplayer (bt.601 as I can't seem to be able to take them in 709)
2. MPC-HC with ffdshow with both high quality rgb conversion & dithering off.
3. MPC-HC ffdshow with both hq rgb conversion and dithering on
4. mpv
5. virtualdub (bt.601)

Does the higher quality rgb conversion in MPC-HC (and whatever the mpv and virtualdub use) make the red letters look better than what is actually on the disc? So the first two would be closer to the source? Or is the non-high quality conversion so shitty it makes it worse?
Garringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2017, 11:19   #3073  |  Link
oddball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,246
Currently the only way to play HDR content correctly without converting to SDR is to use Win10's Film & TV player. I am hoping at least one decent player/renderer fixes this. I suspect it requires output via DX12 which renderers like MadVR don't use AFAIK.
oddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2017, 13:35   #3074  |  Link
nsnhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by oddball View Post
Currently the only way to play HDR content correctly without converting to SDR is to use Win10's Film & TV player. I am hoping at least one decent player/renderer fixes this. I suspect it requires output via DX12 which renderers like MadVR don't use AFAIK.
Is your Film & TV able to play 4k 10-bit hevc clips ? Mine was able to do that before creators update, now on CU it reports error 0xc00d6d6e, though it plays VP9 HDR clips fine.
nsnhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2017, 16:22   #3075  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 423
Thank you for having this wonderful player.

I would like to make two observations:

- When playing mp3 files with front and back cover, the program gives priority to show the back cover, when it should display the front cover by default.

- If possible, in options you could choose which cover to display by default.

Thanks once again.
__________________
By law and justice!

Flea Market
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2017, 00:56   #3076  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 423
I was analyzing this case better and the problem with MPCHC is that it shows the last saved cover, it is not if it is front or back cover. The program, I repeat, should give you preference to display the front cover, regardless of the order allocated in memory, such as WMP.
__________________
By law and justice!

Flea Market
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 10:05   #3077  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 62
Should I disable all the Internal Filters? (Source & Transform)

Thanks.
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 13:11   #3078  |  Link
Blackwalker
Registered User
 
Blackwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 210
hi all, ok my english is not good
i use always mpc-hc with MadVR and Lav filters.

My HTPC is a i5 750 (socket 1156), 6GB DDR3, ssd 120gb, nvidia 1050

why when i play 4k hdr video/movie , the movie snaps or i
if I try to send it back it hangs?

is a CPU/motherboard problem or software, suggestions?
thx
Blackwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 15:47   #3079  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 4,757
It may be a problem with longer GOPs and the seek mode (fast vs. accurate). Try to switch this option: Fast seeking will seek to the closest GOP start, where decoding can start immediately, but it may be not exactly where you wanted to seek to; accurate seeking will decode from the previous GOP start to the exact seek position, which may take some time if your seek position is far away from a GOP start. And decoding HEVC is slow (assuming that 4K movies are encoded in HEVC).
__________________

German doom9 / Gleitz video board
CQME – change the Matrix!
BeSweet 1.5b31 All In One | HeadAC3he 0.24a13

Rémoulade is spoiled
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 15:59   #3080  |  Link
Blackwalker
Registered User
 
Blackwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
It may be a problem with longer GOPs and the seek mode (fast vs. accurate). Try to switch this option: Fast seeking will seek to the closest GOP start, where decoding can start immediately, but it may be not exactly where you wanted to seek to; accurate seeking will decode from the previous GOP start to the exact seek position, which may take some time if your seek position is far away from a GOP start. And decoding HEVC is slow (assuming that 4K movies are encoded in HEVC).

hi and thx, i'll check it.
Anyway, i dont have to change CPU, Motherboard and Ram, correct? my 1050'd handle the 4k hdr movie!!

yes theh 4K movies are encoded in HEVC.

Sometimes when the movie/clip in 4k start ,
the video begins with obvious slowdowns and when i try to seek another position, the player die, lol
Blackwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dxva, media player classic, mpc, mpc-hc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.