Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th December 2013, 23:50   #1  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
Muxer for HD MPEG-2 m2v + mp2(mpa)

Oldish topic I know, but could anyone recommend a reliable, GUI-based tool for muxing HD-MPEG2 m2v and mp2 (mpa) to m2t (as per the source HDV files) or mpg?

I was using TMPGenc but, since upgrading from XP Pro to Win 7 64-bit, the version I had is not compatible. Not sure I really want to fork out for the upgrade purely to use as a demuxer/muxer, if there are other tools that can do the job.

Tried Imago MPEG muxer, but all I can get out of it is a tiny mpg file amounting to the first few frames.

Also had a look DVDAuthorGUI, another oft quoted tool from years gone by, but it appears that the muxing component (MPlex) can only be accessed as a CLI. I'd prefer to avoid scripting command lines, if at all possible.

Cheers.
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2013, 23:57   #2  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Imago works fine for me but if not for you, perhaps try the GUI version of mplex.exe.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2013, 05:13   #3  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Imago works fine for me but if not for you....
Definitely not working for me, and (searching for possible solutions) I see this poster had the same issue:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1060039#post1060039

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
.... perhaps try the GUI version of mplex.exe.
Did you mean this one - jplex-gui?

http://sourceforge.net/projects/jplex-gui/
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2013, 11:56   #4  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,268
A roundabout way of doing it would be to use mkvmerge-gui to mux the streams into MKV, and then use a custom profile in WinFF* to remux to MPEG-2 PS (WinFF doesn't expose ffmpeg's muxing features, since it's mainly meant to be a transcoding GUI).

*Go to Edit->Presets and enter the following in the relevant fields (the preset name/label and category can be whatever you want them to, just make it memorable):
'Preset name' field: MPEGremux
'Preset label' field: MPEGremux
'Preset Command-Line parameters' field: -vcodec copy -acodec copy
'Output File Extension' field: mpg
'Category' field: Mux

And then click Add/Update, and OK, and then go back to the main window. Select the Preset, then add the MKV file, and click the Convert button. Thankfully, the preset should only have to be added once.


You could probably also use VLC's muxing capability as well, I'm pretty sure it uses libavformat (and would let you use the original m2v and mp2 files instead).

Last edited by qyot27; 28th December 2013 at 11:59.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2013, 13:20   #5  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorBry View Post
Did you mean this one - jplex-gui?
No. I meant this one:

http://neuron2.net/misc/mplex.exe
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2013, 15:53   #6  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
No. I meant this one:

http://neuron2.net/misc/mplex.exe
Yes, that works fine. Thanks a lot.

@qyot27 - thanks for your suggestions, nonetheless.
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2013, 18:12   #7  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorBry View Post
Yes, that works fine. Thanks a lot.

@qyot27 - thanks for your suggestions, nonetheless.
My pleasure. For your future reference, you can't load an AC3 directly but you can type the file name by hand and it will work,
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.