Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd December 2009, 17:01   #9701  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Yea, thanks a lot! I have the same problems now thanks to you!
Um... Merry Christmas???
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 17:05   #9702  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by whurlston View Post
Um... Merry Christmas???
Gee, uhhhh, thanks. So, Default DS plays it back in sync for me. Waveout never makes a connection at all. Any of the ATI ones are either out of sync or crash MPC-HC. I'm of the opinion....fix DS for TrueHD and call it good.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 17:14   #9703  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,976
So, I thought I'd share my new laziness story with you. I've discovered that I can bitstream while on a remote desktop session to my HTPC without having to have the tv on. So I can control it all from my laptop. As long as the receiver is set to the HDMI port of my HTPC, it'll bitstream(or not as the case may end up being). In short....NICE
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 17:31   #9704  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Man, so many posts, so much information ...

Here is a new build

Changes :
  • For xonar : DTS HD structure changed. I hope that it will work (with arcsoft renderer or other). From the logs I got from liquidskin only mkvs seem not to strip off DTS HD block. I still believe that something is wrong on your MPC or m2ts filter.
  • ATI 5xxx TrueHD : added a new structure to try in the list (changed channels mask). Which is weird is that on some samples directsound won't work unlike waveout. So I changed the only field that is different between working and non working samples
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 17:39   #9705  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,976
Default DS still doesn't work for TrueHD. Getting decoded LPCM instead. Will post logs in a bit.

Waveout still won't lock for DTS-HD MA, either. It just sits there trying to identify the stream.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED

Last edited by SamuriHL; 3rd December 2009 at 17:41.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 17:46   #9706  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
Beta 45: TrueHD 6 ch decoded to PCM using DirectSound.

http://www.oshinetworks.com/DirectSh...5TrueHD6ch.txt

Are you ready for a vacation yet albain? You deserve one.
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 18:04   #9707  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Sorry, beta45 is incomplete for the ati & thd
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 18:25   #9708  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
No problem. Just reporting.
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 18:55   #9709  |  Link
blackEyEz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Awesome work guys, i been following this thread for some months on HD bitstreaming. I am not as technical could someone recap what has been achieved and what hardware you need to bitstream truehd and dts-ma? And could someone say if (and when) i can bitstream truehd/dts-ma within MediaPortal?

Thank you
blackEyEz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 19:14   #9710  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Here is an updated build for both xonar and ATI 5xxx
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 19:20   #9711  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,976
Oh thank God man! You fixed Default DirectSound! Now we got the best of all worlds because that was in sync for DTS-HD MA and now it works for TrueHD, as well. HURRAY! I'm gonna uninstall the MPC audio renderer now and just use DS for all my testing. Thank you!!!!
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 19:21   #9712  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,976
@whurlston

Use Default DirectSound on Watchmen. I bet it works fine. And kick some TrueHD tracks through it that would only play as LPCM before. Those should now play correctly as TrueHD. WOO HOO!
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 19:38   #9713  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
great !

Now what about regular formats : AC3/DTS & analogs streams encoded to AC3 in output section, are they still okay ?

This works fine on my side but I would like to be sure

Two others thing to test :
1/ Audio & video synchronisation : is it okay on HD formats ?
2/ when you do some jump to another part of the video, do you still have audio & video in sync (especially for TrueHD) ?

The last beta I have made is taken from the last revision of the bitstreamHD branch that I merged from the trunk so this one is a good build for non regressions testing.

I wait for these last feedbacks (and for the xonar too) and for clsid's go to perform the merge to the trunk
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 20:11   #9714  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,976
Audio sync is good now from what I can see. Even moving around in the video is good. I just tested an AC3 file, that seems fine. I haven't tested a DTS file yet. Don't have one handy.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 20:57   #9715  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
Audio still loses sync for me. Happening on all sources actually if I let them play longer than 5 minutes. Audio is playing faster than the video. I think that is a separate issue though and not related to ffdshow. Possibly the renderer, maybe this is the reason for the glitches in WinDVD?

As for bitstreaming, both DTS-HD and TrueHD work great with the DSound renderer. Even 96/24 5.1 TrueHD.

@albain:
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 21:05   #9716  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Can what whurlston says be confirmed ?

Do you all have lost of sync on THD, DTSHD ?

With all the renderers ? directsound, waveout, MPC wasapi ?

Why do you say that this is not related to ffdshow ? Is powerdvd having glitches or lost of sync too ? Means that this is a bug in the ATI driver but I doubt it
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 21:19   #9717  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
Definitely not an ffdshow issue!!! I forgot to set the clock on the audio renderer. I'll blame it on lack of sleep. DTS-HD and TrueHD 48/16 as well as TrueHD 96/24 (everything I tested) all in sync now. I'll try to find a DTS file to test.


Last edited by whurlston; 3rd December 2009 at 21:21.
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 21:21   #9718  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,976
Watchmen is still sync screwed. I'm watching a TrueHD movie right now and it's fine so far. I think watchmen is just not a happy freaking movie to be playing in MPC-HC in general. I mean, I watched an entire DTS-HD MA movie last night with this and had ZERO sync problems.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 21:22   #9719  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by whurlston View Post
Definitely not an ffdshow issue!!! I forgot to set the clock on the audio renderer. I'll blame it on lack of sleep. DTS-HD and TrueHD 48/16 as well as TrueHD 96/24 (everything I tested) all in sync now. I'll try to find a DTS file to test.

Play watchmen. I can't get it to stay in sync.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009, 21:24   #9720  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
That was one of the ones I tested and it works up to 5 minutes (which was out of sync without the clock set). I'll let it play longer and report back.
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.