Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
![]() |
#401 | Link | ||
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
|
Quote:
![]() Quote:
-CA3 and "Out_Of_Gamut_Clipping 0" is the same as the PS script. -CA1 and "Out_Of_Gamut_Clipping 0" is the same as ddcc realtime |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#402 | Link |
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
I mean, the PS script and ddcc realtime look quite similar...where ddcc in LUT burns the green gamma in my previous tests :
http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...&postcount=288 don't tell me that the green is identical between all the charts...please ![]() anyway, I will compare them again...if I can get the same colors as ddcc realtime I'll be a happy camper ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#403 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
|
Yes, but they are not equal, because ddcc performs chromatic adaptation using Linearized Bradford Transform, while PS script uses von Kries in XYZ.
But I never said that the green is the same, what I say is that it could be more appealing... But there is a problem in the HUE method that you never noticed it, and it's pretty obvious... banding. If you look carefully, you see that with the simple clipping there are 4 tones of green, and with the "maintain hue dithering" there are only two tones of green and red. If you used that in your projector you should get lot's of banding, and that would be ugly. Even if the colors would be more appealing, it would be pretty useless. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#404 | Link |
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
well, as I understand it there's some banding because my gamut exceed the red and doesn't match the green SMPTE-C references(clipping green and lowering the red "scale") :
![]() I sent you screenshots, the "green burning" makes everything green in movies. anyway, I'll try the new cr3dlut build and hopefully I'll find something that I like ![]() the PS script already looks great you know, and I only have an Eye One Display 2 colorimeter, so w/o an uber-accurate freshly recalibrated spectrophotometer...this is major nit-picking IMVHO. even though my i1d2 gives very close results to the Eye One Pro(the Calman coders said on AVS that the measurements difference wouldn't be visible on DLP front projectors), if the i1d2 gives a ΔE of 1, god knows if it wouldn't be 5 or 6 w/ a Minolta CS-200 ![]() and the most saturated colors in the gamut are hardly ever used anyway? |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#405 | Link |
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
alright, I was kinda surprised to see how slow my o/c Q6600 was doing on 16bit LUT's...so I've done a few benchmarks :
Code:
ConvertToYUY2() t3dlut("C:\16bit.3dlut",threads=4) Code:
ConvertToYUY2() t3dlut("C:\8bit.3dlut",threads=4) Code:
ConvertToRGB32(matrix="rec709") ddcc(chr_i=3,gam_i=5,ofile="C:\HC3100.txt",threads=4,opt=1) Code:
ConvertToYUY2() rgb3dlut(lutfile="C:\HC3100_SMPTE-C.txt",itype=2,threads=4) Code:
ConvertToYUY2() rgb3dlut(lutfile="C:\HC3100_SMPTE-C.txt",threads=4) Code:
yv12toyuy2(itype=2,threads=4) rgb3dlut(lutfile="C:\HC3100_SMPTE-C.txt",threads=4) Code:
yv12toyuy2(itype=2,threads=4) rgb3dlut(lutfile="C:\HC3100_SMPTE-C.txt",itype=2,threads=4) I don't really get why t3dlut is much slower than rgb3dlut on the same 8bit LUT(created in cr3dlut)...I guess it's not because of the new file format, so maybe some of the default options make it slower? I understand 16bit LUT's give much better results in gray ramps, but it'd need further testing to see whether it's worth the HUGE performance drop. But mVR doesn't use any CPU cycles to run the 16bit LUT anyway? so it'd be a non-issue there. Also, I think the picture is somewhat sharper in mVR...might need to play around w/ rgb3dlut's settings ![]() Last edited by leeperry; 2nd June 2009 at 13:43. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#406 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MO, US
Posts: 999
|
t3dlut is slower than rgb3dlut because with all of the extra conversions I decided not to special case everything. Also there is no assembly. In rgb3dlut everything was special cased, and everything but itype=2 was in assembly.
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#407 | Link |
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
It said that it was missing a " or a ( )...probably the "/" is confusing Avisynth, or I'm really missing some character?
And is it my imagination or yv12toyuy2(itype=2) + rgb3dlut(itype=2) look sharper than ConvertToYUY2() + rgb3dlut(itype=1) ? the PQ is really great! also, you set the bicubic coeff to 0.75 in rgb3dlut and its yv12toyuy2 but it's 0.5 in t3dlut and its yv12toyuy2. I thought 0.6 was the most mathematically accurate, and 0.75 slightly sharper? Last edited by leeperry; 19th April 2009 at 20:06. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#408 | Link |
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
so I've compared 8bit against 16bit dithered.
native BD content w/o rescaling in ffdshow or HR : ![]() ![]() ![]() that's the cr3dlut .ini : Code:
# Example input file for cr3dlut v2.0 and up # # Settings for creating a 3D LUT for a Custom display # (including YCbCr->RGB conversion) # # Do not mess up with these settings Chromatic_Adaptation 1 Input_Bit_Depth 8 Input_YCbCr_Full_Range 0 Input_Gamma 1 Output_Bit_Depth 16 Output_YCbCr_Matrix 0 Output_RGB_Black_White 0 255 # You can change the following settings # for BT.709 use '1'; for BT.601 use '3' Input_YCbCr_Matrix 1 # for HDTV use '0'; for EBU use '2'; for SMPTE-C use '3' Input_Primaries 0 # put here your primaries and white point xy coordinates, RGBW order. Output_Primaries 1 # if you want to try other gamma values change the 0.45 value accordingly Output_Gamma 1 Code:
yv12toyuy2(itype=2,threads=4) t3dlut("C:\test_8bit.3dlut",threads=4) Code:
yv12toyuy2(itype=2,threads=4) t3dlut("C:\test_16bit.3dlut",threads=4) ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() some of my comparisons didn't make it through to my imagehost coz they were >3MB, but I can't really say that it ever made any visible difference on that BD(MPEG2). Kazuya has been kind enough to encode some test patterns in 16-235 h264, so they could go through my Avisynth ffdshow pipeline like any other video. left side is 8bit/right side is 16 : ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Last edited by leeperry; 19th April 2009 at 16:43. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#409 | Link |
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
last but not least, I wanted to try 0-255 native content so we could see if xvYCC would make an even bigger difference....but ImageSource() seems to convert to TV levels anyway
![]() so left side is 8bit, right side is 16. Both using this script : Code:
ImageSource("C:\Faces_1920x1080.jpg",pixel_type="RGB32") ConvertToYUY2(matrix="pc.709") t3dlut("C:\test_16bit.3dlut",threads=4) ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() if anyone knows how to encode image files in 0-255 h264, I'll update my posts. The test patterns are available here : http://www.burosch.de/shop/shop_content.php?coID=136& Last edited by leeperry; 19th April 2009 at 20:12. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#410 | Link |
MPC-HC Project Manager
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#412 | Link | |
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
Quote:
except for the inflated filesize in 16bit, they look identical to me. but in the test patterns, gray ramps on top look better in the photo w/ the 2 women in 16bit.....very slight improvement, though. ah! thanks. didn't think about that one ![]() so what would be some good value ? 0.0/0.75? or 0.0/0.60? BTW, I was trying to get this test pattern through HR and mVR....but colors don't come off the same way ?! ![]() ![]() the mVR .PNG is 4MB, so I had to make a RAR again w/ the 2 files : http://rapidshare.com/files/223278460/compare.rar.html the idea was to check for sharpening, and apart from the different colors this should be OK ![]() the test pattern is available here(it's the last one in the MP4 container) : http://www.megaupload.com/?d=B6R60TE0 in HR, I put this in ffdshow : Code:
yv12toyuy2(itype=2,threads=4) t3dlut("C:\madVR\HD.3dlut") ![]() I tried it both in the MP4 file, and using ImageSource()...colors always come off different.. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#415 | Link |
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
@tritical: any chance you could make yv12toyuy2() fallback to itype=0 if it's not mod4 please? coz I can't make rules in ffdshow on that criteria, so yv12toyuy2() can't really be used on all videos at this point
![]() Last edited by leeperry; 19th April 2009 at 20:03. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#416 | Link | ||
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
Quote:
Quote:
Last edited by leeperry; 19th April 2009 at 18:28. |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#417 | Link | |
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
Quote:
and whatever I set "c" to 0.5/0.6/0.75/1.0 in rgb3dlut(), this test pattern gives CRC identical outputs : http://www.image-load.eu/out.php/i15...pp19201080.jpg Last edited by leeperry; 20th April 2009 at 00:58. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#418 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MO, US
Posts: 999
|
That test pattern is grayscale. b and c only effect chroma upsampling.
Also, I didn't say it in the readme, but t3dlut expects raw lut files (not 3dlut format) to be stored such that the lookup is calculated r<<16+g<<8+b (which is the same as the 3dlut format). While rgb3dlut expects g<<16+b<<8+r. So lut files created with ddcc can't be used with t3dlut. However, yesgrey3's app can create LUT's the same as ddcc that will work with t3dlut so I don't plan to change ddcc. Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#419 | Link | |
Kid for Today
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,494
|
Quote:
well, the idea is that most files are mod4 anyway, so you can use yv12toyuy2(itype=2) but sometimes you have files that are mod2...and IIRC only itype=0 works on mod2. so if yv12toyuy2() could either fall back to a mod2-compatible mode, or to ConvertToYUY2(it's GPL right? only a matter of cut/paste?)...that would make life easier when you run them in ffdshow instead of getting an error msg. ![]() Last edited by leeperry; 20th April 2009 at 00:37. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#420 | Link | |||
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
|
Quote:
cr3dlut currently works like this: -3dlut format: r<<16+g<<8+b -raw format: g<<16+b<<8+r I made it like this to let cr3dlut create files for both t3dlut and rgb3dlut. I thought that t3dlut's raw format was the same as rgb3dlut... Do you think I should change my raw format to r<<16+g<<8+b? Quote:
![]() Quote:
You should start reading the help more thoroughly... ![]() |
|||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|