Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th March 2005, 02:49   #1  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 1,960
New plugin for using freeframe filters in avisynth

This is a plugin that allows freeframe filters (mostly effects) to be used directly in avisynth. It comes with a simple gui made in delphi to help with the otherwise completely cryptic arguments the filters take.

You can get the filter with source from here and filters to try it with from the official freeframe page. Note that the latest version is a C plugin and also is an example of how to use delphi to write avisynth plugins.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet

Last edited by Myrsloik; 26th September 2017 at 15:09. Reason: Updated link
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2005, 08:46   #2  |  Link
TheJudge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Nice one!! Thanks

I'm trying the MotionMatte plugin from this site right now and find it fast and usable (duron 900).
The convertion to RGB24 or RGB32 is a drawback, but should not be a problem when used for mask creation only.

Very nice thing with the direct display of the script-command at the bottom of the options window.

After I get my current work done, I will play around with this thingy quite a bit!

JD
TheJudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 13:50   #3  |  Link
dplaton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 101
How the GUI is activated.
If I pass "true" as argument the AVSEdit crash.
Is the GUI working separately??
I tested all the free available freeframe plugins and a lot of them are nice.
Some can be replicated with some work in AviSynth and some not.
I think that extension of AviSynth capabilities worth more advertising.
dplaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 15:27   #4  |  Link
niiyan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally posted by dplaton
How the GUI is activated.
If I pass "true" as argument the AVSEdit crash.
I had the same problem, when I put freeframeconf.dll in plugin auto-loading directory.

I moved freeframeconf.dll to somewhere in the path (eg. C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\). Then GUI worked.
niiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 21:20   #5  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 1,960
Apparently I forgot to test it without the gui dll present and I still have no idea how that string stuff works in c++. The new version can be gotten from here and it should fix the problems.

The original path issue remains because it's more than one file but I have no idea what to do about it.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2005, 10:57   #6  |  Link
dplaton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 101
I haven't Internet to reply, now I'm in an Internet Cafe.

The new version works just fine.

All the best
dplaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2008, 14:53   #7  |  Link
tin3tin
Registered User
 
tin3tin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 365
Thought this is a very old thread I would just like to mention that FreeFrame 1.5 is out.
__________________
DVD slideshow GUI(Freeware).
tin3tin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2008, 16:48   #8  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 1,960
Does anyone still use it? is there a demand for freeframe 1.5 plugin support? Exactly what changed?

I don't think I ever clearly mentioned it but the last and most working version of my plugin was reduced to a sample which is a part of http://ivtc.org/new/avisynth_pascal_v5.rar
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2008, 18:57   #9  |  Link
tin3tin
Registered User
 
tin3tin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 365
Well, I'm using it in DVD slideshow GUI for loading freeframe-metaplugins for slideshow motion backgrounds. Never had a problem with it . Check out the videoplayer linked at my sig for videos.

I guess there aren't much use right now for the 1.5 version, however the new FreeFrame OpenGl abilities might be interesting for avisynth usage - what do you think?
__________________
DVD slideshow GUI(Freeware).
tin3tin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 22:01   #10  |  Link
lilive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toulouse - France
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Does anyone still use it? is there a demand for freeframe 1.5 plugin support? Exactly what changed?

I don't think I ever clearly mentioned it but the last and most working version of my plugin was reduced to a sample which is a part of http://ivtc.org/new/avisynth_pascal_v5.rar
Hi,

This look very nice.
Is it still work ?
I downloaded http://ivtc.org/new/avisynth_pascal_v5.rar, but freeframe.dll isn't an avisynth plugin.
Others .rar links in this topic are broken.
Some freeframe filters interest me.
Is it now freeframe 1.5 support ? Where can I find the plugin for previous freeframe version ? ( or better for 1.5 )

Thank you.
__________________
---- just a french , please forgive my english ----
lilive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2009, 07:52   #11  |  Link
tin3tin
Registered User
 
tin3tin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 365
The freeframe.dll works correct here. Are you using it correctly?

Ex.
Code:
colorbars()

LoadPlugin("freeframe.dll")
converttorgb24()
Freeframe("PeteRadialBlur.dll",false)
converttoyv12()
AFAIK there is no FFGL 1.5 support - but there aren't any plugins for that anyway.

Check out http://ffrend.sourceforge.net/ for making up new Freeframe plugins out of old ones found at http://freeframe.sourceforge.net/
__________________
DVD slideshow GUI(Freeware).
tin3tin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 00:22   #12  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 1,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilive View Post
Hi,

This look very nice.
Is it still work ?
I downloaded http://ivtc.org/new/avisynth_pascal_v5.rar, but freeframe.dll isn't an avisynth plugin.
Others .rar links in this topic are broken.
Some freeframe filters interest me.
Is it now freeframe 1.5 support ? Where can I find the plugin for previous freeframe version ? ( or better for 1.5 )

Thank you.
hint: load_stdcall_plugin()
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2010, 07:45   #13  |  Link
tin3tin
Registered User
 
tin3tin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 365
Now there is an openFrameworks addon for creating FFGL (FreeFrameGL 1.5) plugins. To easily convert openFrameworks apps to FFGL plugins look here: http://code.google.com/p/ofxffglplugin/

And slowly the number of FFGL plugins is growing:http://community.freeframe.org/plugindatabase

So would it be possible to update the avs freeframe plugin to 1.5 without too much trouble?

Btw. most of the above links are dead, but here's a link to the old Avisynth FreeFrame 1.0 plugin: http://avisynth.org/warpenterprises/...l_20050426.zip
__________________
DVD slideshow GUI(Freeware).

Last edited by tin3tin; 16th October 2010 at 07:49.
tin3tin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2010, 07:56   #14  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 1,960
The link has been updated to the last version in case anyone still cares. I have no intention of updating it as I don't care and don't have the time. If someone does rewrite it it would be nice if it was done as pure C++ plugin though...
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2011, 07:21   #15  |  Link
tin3tin
Registered User
 
tin3tin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 365
Just did a quick videotutorial on how to use the freeframe plugin to change posteffects/plugins in DVD slideshow GUI.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJzL7SeMxhg
(There was a request on how to use it.)

Your freeframe plugin is great! Thanks again.
__________________
DVD slideshow GUI(Freeware).
tin3tin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2016, 12:51   #16  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 899
AsciiArt2 arguments?

I just found this.

And been looking at this too:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...31#post1391431
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin3tin View Post
Then use something like this to convert your video into ascii:
Code:
LoadPlugin("freeframe.dll")
converttorgb24()
Freeframe("AsciiArt2.dll",false,0.075,0,0)
So I remuxed music vid from Tron Legacy bluray to test:
(click images to to view on Imgur then click again to view in full resolution)

orig


AA using example in tin3tin's script.
(upscaling to 4K first)


without upscaling to 4K first


Script I used:
Quote:
SetMemoryMax(512)
LoadPlugin("E:\Downloads\AviSynth\#plugins\freeframe_5F25_dll_20050426\freeframe.dll")
vidorig=DGSource("E:\Temp\00254\00254.dgi")
vidAA=DGSource("E:\Temp\00254\00254.dgi").ConvertToRGB24("Rec709")

vidAA=vidAA.PointResize(4096, 2304).Freeframe("E:\Downloads\AviSynth\#plugins\AsciiArt2\AsciiArt2.dll",false,0.075,0,0).PointResize(1920,1080).ConvertToYV12(matrix="Rec709")
merge(vidorig,vidAA,0.10)
i found upscaling to 4K and applying gave more pinpoints on the AA replacement. It wasn't very expirmental on the 4K scale.
I supposed I could have played with the... size and spacing arguments? (5 and 6).

I tried random values for the 4th argument and they gave random results.
Th eonly thing I know is the range is 0.0-1.0 and no idea how it affects anything.
The download zip on the vjam site (camart site cannot be found) doesn't give any docs on what the values would mean.

I guess the best thing would be to download their GUI and give it a run to see if it has any Help or anything?

I tried up to 3 decimal places from .001 to .999 (and 1.0) and all sorts and never found a distinct pattern how it decided when there's color or just the text.

Found an article shared on facebook about "World's oldest (rule 6) being shared" where someone converted The Matrix with ACSII art all over. The process he did was custom patches of the aalib on Linux.
Looking at the pictures and the process, I wanted to see if there's been anything done for avisynth or anyhing else.

There's a custom patch that's been requested to be put in FFMPEG that does similar thing with aalib, but have not been able to find it implimented yet.

I found this and the other thread so gave it a dry run on a picture then decided to dig through my bluray collection and found the perfect candidate.

Anyone got any insight on the arguments for... the one right after true/false?
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 17134 | GPU Caps Viewer 1.40.1.0
NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 (GP108) 2047MB/GDDR5 | (R417.22)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2016, 02:59   #17  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
Anyone got any insight on the arguments for... the one right after true/false?
It's the font type, set FreeFrame to true to show the GUI, you'll be able to see the available fonts and their corresponding value.

Code:
FreeFrame("AsciiArt2.dll", true, 0, 0, 0)
Just for future reference, AsciiArt2 has 3 parameters, the 1st value it's the font type, the 2nd is the font size, and the 3rd is the spacing.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2016, 03:19   #18  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 899
Thanks! Will play more with it.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 17134 | GPU Caps Viewer 1.40.1.0
NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 (GP108) 2047MB/GDDR5 | (R417.22)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2017, 03:05   #19  |  Link
turbomund
Registered User
 
turbomund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: copenhagen
Posts: 3
Looks interesting, going to try it out

And by the way, links are dead but google to the rescue:

http://www.avisynth.nl/users/warpent...l_20050426.zip

http://ivtc.vapoursynth.com/avisynth..._pascal_v5.rar


They worked as of 18 jan 2017
turbomund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2017, 10:55   #20  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 1,960
First post updated. Ignore all other links.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.