Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > IFO/VOB Editors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th January 2004, 21:00   #1  |  Link
2COOL
PGC Navigator in Training
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NTSC Land
Posts: 3,552
Bypassing Paramount's "Previews/Main Menu" Selection Menu

Bypassing Paramount's "Previews/Main Menu" Selection Menu
Courtesy of 2CL

Lately, I have encountered a lot of Paramount Region 1 DVDs that has a Previews or Main Menu option as a startup menu. Sort of like a aspect ratio menu with you selecting widescreen or fullscreen. I can't confirm for the other regions though but what I’ve noticed is that this clip always reside as a angle-menu in my VTS_02_0.VOB. Here’s what I have as viewed in IfoEdit in my VTS_02_0.IFO.
Code:
VTS overview:		
   			
Language Menu Unit 1: [English]		
   Menu 1: [Root-Menu]     (entry PGC) (Programs: 0) (Cells: 0)		
   Menu 2: [Angle Menu]    (entry PGC) (Programs: 1) (Cells: 1) (uses VOB-IDs: 1) Pre menu		
   Menu 3: [entry only]                (Programs: 1) (Cells: 1) (uses VOB-IDs: 2)Post Menu
Note: If it's not the same layout in VTS_02_0.IFO, then search the other titlesets and you'll find one that fits the description above.

I want to get rid of this Preview/Main Menu startup screen so here’s I do.

Using IfoEdit, go to VTS_02_0.IFO / VTS_PGCI_UT / PGC-Menu_2 (Angle Menu) / PGC Command Table. Using the example below, double click on Number of Pre Commands and enter a “1”. Double click on Number of Post Commands and enter a “0”.
Code:
BEFORE:

PGC Command Table:		
  Number of Pre Commands             0	
  Number of Post Commands            1	
  Number of Cell Commands            0	
  Size of Command table in bytes     15	
  1.Post Command                     Set GPreg<0> mov (set-val)<1>(LinkPGCN) Link PGC 3
To refresh the screen, I use this personal trick. Click on “Show Reserved Values” checkbox and the you window will refresh. Scroll down to PGC Command Table to review your changes and this is what you’ll have. The Post command is now a Pre Command so that means the startup screen is now bypassed.
Code:
AFTER:

PGC Command Table:		
  Number of Pre Commands             1	
  Number of Post Commands            0	
  Number of Cell Commands            0	
  Size of Command table in bytes     15	
  1.Pre Command                      Set GPreg<0> mov (set-val)<1>(LinkPGCN) Link PGC 3
There’s also a post clip for this startup menu and it resides in the next PGC, which is PGC-Menu_3. Go to / VTS_PGCI_UT / PGC-Menu_3 / PGC Command Table. Do the same as what you did for PGC-Menu_2 and this is what you should have before and after.
Code:
BEFORE: 

PGC Command Table:		
  Number of Pre Commands           0
  Number of Post Commands          3
  Number of Cell Commands          0
  Size of Command table in bytes   31
    1.Post Command                 Set GPreg<1> mov (set-val)<2>	
    2.Post Command                 If GPreg<0> == GPreg<1> then (JumpSS VMGM) Jump to VMG PGC: 22
    3.Post Command                 (JumpSS VMGM) Jump to VMG PGC: 4
Code:
AFTER:
 
PGC Command Table:		
  Number of Pre Commands           3
  Number of Post Commands          0
  Number of Cell Commands          0
  Size of Command table in bytes   31
    1.Pre Command                  Set GPreg<1> mov (set-val)<2>	
    2.Pre Command                  If GPreg<0> == GPreg<1> then (JumpSS VMGM) Jump to VMG PGC: 22
    3.Pre Command                  (JumpSS VMGM) Jump to VMG PGC: 4
Save VTS_02_0.IFO and BUP and play to test. You shouldn’t have your Preview/Main Menu pop up now.

If you want to know the full details on why you did the edits, read here.
__________________
2COOL

Last edited by 2COOL; 23rd January 2004 at 08:50.
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2004, 04:49   #2  |  Link
DocDragon
"Free your mind..."
 
DocDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Alpha Quadrant; Sol System
Posts: 95
Star Trek Nemesis

hi 2cool!

thnx 4 all your efforts with your guides.

i was reading your post with great enthusiasm because i had exactly this issue with paramount's preview/main menu selection on STAR TREK NEMESIS. unfortunately, your description of the VTS overview does not match star trek's nemesis structure:

this is your description of how paramount's "VTS_02_0.IFO"'s usually are:
Code:
VTS overview:		
   			
Language Menu Unit 1: [English]		
   Menu 1: [Root-Menu]     (entry PGC) (Programs: 0) (Cells: 0)		
   Menu 2: [Angle Menu]    (entry PGC) (Programs: 1) (Cells: 1) (uses VOB-IDs: 1) Pre menu		
   Menu 3: [entry only]                (Programs: 1) (Cells: 1) (uses VOB-IDs: 2)Post Menu

but paramount's stnemesis "VTS_02_0.IFO"'s structure differs:
Code:
VTS overview:		
   			
Menu attributes:		
Video: MPEG-1 720x480 (NTSC) (NTSC 525/60) (4:3) (pan-scan & letterboxed)		
   			
Title Set (Movie) attributes:		
Video: MPEG-2 720x480 (NTSC) (NTSC 525/60) (16:9) (pan-scan)		
Audio 1:      English              (Dolby AC-3) 2ch 48Kbps DRC normal (ID: 0x80)		
   			
PGC_1 (program chain): [Title(TTN): 1] [00:00:21.00 / 30 fps] (Programs: 1) (Cells: 1) (uses VOB-IDs: 1)		
[Ch 01] [Pg 01] [Cell 01] [V/C Id:  1/ 1]          : time: 00:00:21.00 / 30 fps     [Pos: 00:00:21.00] [Frames: 630]		
   			
PGC_2 (program chain): [Title(TTN): 2] [00:00:02.15 / 30 fps] (Programs: 1) (Cells: 1) (uses VOB-IDs: 2)		
[Ch 01] [Pg 01] [Cell 01] [V/C Id:  2/ 1]          : time: 00:00:02.15 / 30 fps     [Pos: 00:00:02.15] [Frames: 75]		
   			
Menu Language Units: 1		
Language Menu Unit 1: [English]		
   			
Language Menu Unit 1: [English]		
Menu 1: [Root-Menu]          (entry PGC) (Programs: 0) (Cells: 0)
here's an extract of the "VTSM_PGCI_UT" from its "VTS_02_0.IFO":
Code:
   	PGC Command Table:		
[000000ec] 	  Number of Pre Commands	1	[0001]
[000000ee] 	  Number of Post Commands	0	[0000]
[000000f0] 	  Number of Cell Commands	0	[0000]
[000000f2] 	  Size of Command table in bytes	15	[000f]
[000000f4] 	    1.Pre Command	(JumpSS VMGM) Jump to VMG PGC: 7	[30 06 00 07 00 c0 00 00 ]
   			
   	There is no PGC Program Map		
   			
   	There is no Cell Playback Information Table		
   			
   	There is no Cell Position Information Table
i can confirm that pgc_1 and pgc_2 contain the pre and post menus.

correct me if i'm wrong: according to your guide, the preview/main menu selection would be skipped to jump directly into the main menu, right?

TIA

DD
__________________
ASUS A8N32SLI; AMD 3800+ X2 (o/c'ed to 2.45 GHz); 4 GB RAM; 431 W PSU; eVGA 6800GT; Hauppauge PVR-350; Seagate HDDs: 160, 300, 2 x 300 as RAID-1; BenQ DW1640; Lite-On SOHC-5232K; Win XP SP2

Last edited by DocDragon; 12th September 2004 at 04:55.
DocDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2004, 05:39   #3  |  Link
2COOL
PGC Navigator in Training
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NTSC Land
Posts: 3,552
Re: Star Trek Nemesis

Quote:
Originally posted by DocDragon
i can confirm that pgc_1 and pgc_2 contain the pre and post menus.
Are you sure you are referring to VTS_02? I just looked at your DVD dump and your PGCs don't have any buttons assigned to them. Hmmm...the Paramount menus I was talking about had you selecting Main Menu or Previews. Maybe it's in another VTS. Open up your DVD with DVD Shrink and preview. Tell me which VTS they are in to confirm if it's not in a menu.
__________________
2COOL

Last edited by 2COOL; 14th September 2004 at 07:37.
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2004, 06:46   #4  |  Link
2COOL
PGC Navigator in Training
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NTSC Land
Posts: 3,552
Re: Star Trek Nemesis

Quote:
Originally posted by DocDragon

here's an extract of the "VTSM_PGCI_UT" from its "VTS_02_0.IFO":
Code:
   	PGC Command Table:		
[000000ec] 	  Number of Pre Commands	1	[0001]
[000000ee] 	  Number of Post Commands	0	[0000]
[000000f0] 	  Number of Cell Commands	0	[0000]
[000000f2] 	  Size of Command table in bytes	15	[000f]
[000000f4] 	    1.Pre Command	(JumpSS VMGM) Jump to VMG PGC: 7	[30 06 00 07 00 c0 00 00 ]
   			
   	There is no PGC Program Map		
   			
   	There is no Cell Playback Information Table		
   			
   	There is no Cell Position Information Table
What you posted and what you gave to me in your DVD dump does not sync up. You have an extra post command in your DVD dump and the Post command #s are not correct. Are you using PgcEdit v0.3.4?

Code:
VTST 2 / TTN 1  (0:21)  Title 1

********** pre commands:
[51 00 00 80 00 00 00 00]   1  (SetSTN) Set Audio stream = 0 
********** post commands:
[30 08 00 09 01 C0 00 00]   3  (CallSS) Call the VMGM PGC 9, resume cell 1 :confused: 
[30 08 00 07 01 C0 00 00]   4  (CallSS) Call the VMGM PGC 7, resume cell 1 
********** cell commands:
__________________
2COOL

Last edited by 2COOL; 14th September 2004 at 07:36.
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2004, 05:59   #5  |  Link
DocDragon
"Free your mind..."
 
DocDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Alpha Quadrant; Sol System
Posts: 95
2cool:

i can't verify the dumps right now because i lent the dvd to a friend of mine. i'll get back to you when he returns the disc. thnx 4 your time, though!

DD
__________________
ASUS A8N32SLI; AMD 3800+ X2 (o/c'ed to 2.45 GHz); 4 GB RAM; 431 W PSU; eVGA 6800GT; Hauppauge PVR-350; Seagate HDDs: 160, 300, 2 x 300 as RAID-1; BenQ DW1640; Lite-On SOHC-5232K; Win XP SP2
DocDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2004, 01:04   #6  |  Link
2COOL
PGC Navigator in Training
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NTSC Land
Posts: 3,552
Quote:
Originally posted by DocDragon
i can't verify the dumps right now because i lent the dvd to a friend of mine. i'll get back to you when he returns the disc. thnx 4 your time, though!
No problem. I just hope I'm not to bogged down with other projects till then.
__________________
2COOL
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.