Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 27th July 2005, 23:05   #1  |  Link
grayhalo

h.264 in mpeg2-ts?

probably a total newb question, but could someone please explain to me how I would take a video I've encoded to h.264 in Quicktime Pro and make a mpeg2 transport stream out of it? Is there an easy way (a tool?) to do this. I've played with many tools that allow me to strip away the TS information but not many that allow encapsulation.. Maybe I'm way off base, someone help please :-).

Also, on a somewhat related note, where in your opinion is the best place to get information about the relationship between these different codecs and also hi-def stuff (ATSC, etc)...
grayhalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2005, 23:39   #2  |  Link
puffpio

sounds kinda off base..trying to put an mpeg4 video stream into an mpeg2 transport stream? Is there a native mpeg4 transport stream?
puffpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2005, 23:46   #3  |  Link
nm

Quote:
Originally Posted by puffpio
sounds kinda off base..trying to put an mpeg4 video stream into an mpeg2 transport stream?
Not at all: http://lists.mpegif.org/pipermail/mp...er/004180.html
This is probably what they are going to use for HDTV here in Europe.
nm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2005, 00:07   #4  |  Link
nm

Quote:
Originally Posted by grayhalo
probably a total newb question, but could someone please explain to me how I would take a video I've encoded to h.264 in Quicktime Pro and make a mpeg2 transport stream out of it? Is there an easy way (a tool?) to do this.