Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th November 2005, 15:00   #801  |  Link
bond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom9
did you check out the link in the changelog? It explains it.. it's needed for compliance.
ah ic, so its not really an explicit requirement but the only way to ensure compliance atm in x264
__________________
Between the weak and the strong one it is the freedom which oppresses and the law that liberates (Jean Jacques Rousseau)
I know, that I know nothing (Socrates)

MPEG-4 ASP FAQ | AVC/H.264 FAQ | AAC FAQ | MP4 FAQ | MP4Menu stores DVD Menus in MP4 (guide)
Ogg Theora | Ogg Vorbis
use WM9 today and get Micro$oft controlling the A/V market tomorrow for free
bond is offline  
Old 5th November 2005, 15:03   #802  |  Link
subcool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom9
with which version did it start?
Is x264.exe still running before you manually abort?
Also, could you run the exact same commandline that gets stuck (does it always? if you restart the job does the same thing happen) in a commandline and paste everything you see here?
it started with 0.2.2.8.
I haven't looked at if x264.exe is stuck too, i'll look at that next time it happends. I'll give the commandline a shot too soon.

But another thing i noticed is that it doesnt happen on short encodes (like if the encoding takes less than 5 mins) just on longer ones where (for me) the first pass takes 1 hr and the 2nd bout 1.5 ~ 2 hrs
__________________
All you gotta do is run for your life, i just gotta know why!?
subcool is offline  
Old 5th November 2005, 15:20   #803  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,570
Quote:
it started with 0.2.2.8.
Are you sure it's megui or is it perhaps the x264 revision you're using? I've been looking at the source code archive and the video encoder hasn't been changed since october 4th or release 0.2.2.6.. and I'm pretty sure that's the only place your problem could stem from (well.. actually I think it's your setup but on my end the videoencoder makes the most sense looking at your log and what is missing from it). It is quite important to know if x264.exe is still running or not.. it narrows down the section where something could've gone wrong (basically your reported bitrate makes me thing that's where something goes wrong.. hence me asking to run x264 from the commandline).
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline  
Old 5th November 2005, 19:25   #804  |  Link
subcool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
I have updated x264 but the problem stayed the same. And when a job remains stuck, x264.exe is still running too. the 1-2 job got stuck too >_<
__________________
All you gotta do is run for your life, i just gotta know why!?
subcool is offline  
Old 5th November 2005, 19:27   #805  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,570
now run the job from the commandline please... I have a suspicion but the lack of reports plus my own experience seem to contradict it.
also, it would be useful to run a job that gets stuck (long one) and one that doesn't on the commandline and post the entire output here for both cases so that I can see the difference.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline  
Old 6th November 2005, 04:13   #806  |  Link
Richard Berg
developer wannabe
 
Richard Berg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,212
@Doom9 - FYI, the latest build fixes both of the exceptions I saw before.
Richard Berg is offline  
Old 6th November 2005, 15:12   #807  |  Link
charleski
Registered User
 
charleski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 383
Umm, unless I'm very much mistaken (which is always possible! ), it looks like there's a bug in the way MeGUI constructs the commandline for BeSweet using Nero AAC. I was trying to work out why my delay compensation wasn't happening when I noticed that the commandline was:
Code:
"...\BeSweet\BeSweet.exe" -core( -input "stuff.mpa" -output "stuff.mp4" -logfile stuff.besweet.log ) -bsn( -2ch -vbr_normal -codecquality_high -aacprofile_lc  -ota( -d -80 -g max )
Surely there needs to be a closing parenthesis after -aacprofile_lc? It would help if the name of the logfile is enclosed in quotation marks as well, DGIndex produces demuxed tracks with spaces in the filename. This only affects use of the NAAC encoder, the other options seem fine.

[Edit]This is using version 0.2.3.1 of meGUI, whcih is otherwise excellent.

Here's the relevant portion of the log (had to copy it from the tab, for some reason nothing is saved in my logs directory):
Code:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Next job job1 is an audio job. besweet commandline:
"C:\Program Files\GordianKnot\BeSweet\BeSweet.exe" -core( -input "C:\New Folder\stuff T01 DELAY 0ms.mpa" -output "C:\New Folder\stuff T01 DELAY 80ms.mp4" -logfile C:\New Folder\stuff T01 DELAY 80ms.besweet.log ) -bsn( -2ch -vbr_normal -codecquality_high -aacprofile_lc  -ota( -d 80 -g max )
successfully set up audio encoder and callbacks for job job1
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Log for job job1

besweet: "C:\Program Files\GordianKnot\BeSweet\BeSweet.exe" -core( -input "C:\New Folder\stuff T01 DELAY 0ms.mpa" -output "C:\New Folder\stuff T01 DELAY 80ms.mp4" -logfile C:\New Folder\stuff T01 DELAY 80ms.besweet.log ) -bsn( -2ch -vbr_normal -codecquality_high -aacprofile_lc  -ota( -d 80 -g max )

BeSweet v1.5b31 by DSPguru.
--------------------------

[00:00:00:000] Initializing...
[00:00:00:000] -- Initializing...

Last edited by charleski; 6th November 2005 at 15:23.
charleski is offline  
Old 6th November 2005, 15:41   #808  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,570
@charleski: it's all fixed in the "b" release.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline  
Old 6th November 2005, 16:18   #809  |  Link
max-holz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom9
@charleski: it's all fixed in the "b" release.

I see that's pending.
max-holz is offline  
Old 6th November 2005, 22:49   #810  |  Link
charleski
Registered User
 
charleski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 383
Thanks for the speedy fix. Sync issues are a major pain for me as I'm encoding from DVB-T streams that almost always start with an open GOP. I was tearing my hair out until I noticed the commandline.
charleski is offline  
Old 7th November 2005, 10:45   #811  |  Link
subcool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom9
now run the job from the commandline please... I have a suspicion but the lack of reports plus my own experience seem to contradict it.
also, it would be useful to run a job that gets stuck (long one) and one that doesn't on the commandline and post the entire output here for both cases so that I can see the difference.
here is one run in CLI that gets stuck in MeGui
I copy/pasted the 1st pass CLI that MeGUI uses, so i didnt expect any problems... but as you see, there were.

there only was a 1.4 MB kaleidscope.stats.temp file in the x264 directory while normally the stats files would be around 3 MB

Code:
C:\x264>x264.exe --pass 1 --bitrate 690 --stats ".stats" --keyint 240 --bframes
2 --subme 1 --weightb --analyse none --qpmax 27 --ratetol 90 --qcomp 0.9 --me di
a --sar 1:1 --progress --no-psnr --output NUL "D:\encoding\raws\kaleidoscope\Kal
eidoscope.avs"
avis [info]: 640x480 @ 23.98 fps (34407 frames)
x264 [info]: no need for a SAR
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities MMX MMXEXT SSE 3DNow!
encoded frames: 16172/34407 (47.0%), 13.45 fps, eta 0:22:35
C:\x264>x264.exe --pass 2 --bitrate 690 --stats ".stats" --keyint 240 --ref 4 --
mixed-refs --bframes 2 --subme 7 --weightb --analyse all  --8x8dct --qpmax 27 --
ratetol 90 --qcomp 0.9 --me umh --sar 1:1 --progress --no-psnr --output "D:\encoding\raws\kaleidoscope\Kaleidoscope.mp4" "D:\encoding\raws\kaleidoscope\Kaleidos
cope.avs"
avis [info]: 640x480 @ 23.98 fps (34407 frames)
x264 [info]: no need for a SAR
x264 [error]: ratecontrol_init: can't open stats file
x264_encoder_open failed
__________________
All you gotta do is run for your life, i just gotta know why!?
subcool is offline  
Old 7th November 2005, 13:03   #812  |  Link
bond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,779
the "--stats ".stats"" looks strange, try writing a real filename in there

btw x264's statsfiles have the extension .log normally
__________________
Between the weak and the strong one it is the freedom which oppresses and the law that liberates (Jean Jacques Rousseau)
I know, that I know nothing (Socrates)

MPEG-4 ASP FAQ | AVC/H.264 FAQ | AAC FAQ | MP4 FAQ | MP4Menu stores DVD Menus in MP4 (guide)
Ogg Theora | Ogg Vorbis
use WM9 today and get Micro$oft controlling the A/V market tomorrow for free
bond is offline  
Old 7th November 2005, 14:16   #813  |  Link
subcool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
i actually restarted the encode before going to school and replaced '.stats.' with 'kaleidoscope.stats' and it continued with the 2nd pass (i wrote the jobs in a batch file)

Output for 1st pass was:
Code:
C:\x264>x264.exe --pass 1 --bitrate 690 --stats "kaleidoscope.stats" --keyint 24
0 --bframes 2 --subme 1 --weightb --analyse none --qpmax 27 --ratetol 90 --qcomp
 0.9 --me dia --sar 1:1 --progress --no-psnr --output NUL "D:\encoding\raws\kale
idoscope\Kaleidoscope.avs"
avis [info]: 640x480 @ 23.98 fps (34407 frames)
x264 [info]: no need for a SAR
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities MMX MMXEXT SSE 3DNow!
x264 [info]: slice I:255   Avg QP:22.46  size: 21314 0:00:00
x264 [info]: slice P:15888 Avg QP:24.64  size:  5559
x264 [info]: slice B:18264 Avg QP:26.18  size:   997
x264 [info]: mb I  I16..4: 44.2%  0.0% 55.8%
x264 [info]: mb P  I16..4: 11.4%  0.0%  0.0%  P16..4: 35.6%  0.0%  0.0%  0.0%  0
.0%    skip:53.0%
x264 [info]: mb B  I16..4:  0.6%  0.0%  0.0%  B16..8: 11.6%  0.0%  0.0%  direct:
 4.9%  skip:82.8%
x264 [info]: kb/s:624.2
__________________
All you gotta do is run for your life, i just gotta know why!?
subcool is offline  
Old 7th November 2005, 14:39   #814  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
just a note: --subme 7 was broken on certain builds and made x264.exe crash or lock.
please use the new rev365 build OR use --subme 6.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 7th November 2005, 17:06   #815  |  Link
subcool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Output from 2nd pass (using build from 6-11-2005 from x264.nl)
the x264.exe is not even closing now... o.O
it doesnt appear to be doing anything either

Code:
C:\x264>x264.exe --pass 2 --bitrate 690 --stats "kaleidoscope.stats" --keyint 24
0 --ref 4 --mixed-refs --bframes 2 --subme 7 --weightb --analyse all  --8x8dct -
-qpmax 27 --ratetol 90 --qcomp 0.9 --me umh --sar 1:1 --progress --no-psnr --out
put "D:\encoding\raws\kaleidoscope\Kaleidoscope.mp4" "D:\encoding\raws\kaleidosc
ope\Kaleidoscope.avs"
avis [info]: 640x480 @ 23.98 fps (34407 frames)
x264 [info]: no need for a SAR
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities MMX MMXEXT SSE 3DNow!
mp4 [info]: initial delay 262144 (scale 6285217)
x264 [info]: slice I:255   Avg QP:19.89  size: 253130:00:00
x264 [info]: slice P:15888 Avg QP:22.00  size:  6063
x264 [info]: slice B:18264 Avg QP:24.14  size:  1158
x264 [info]: mb I  I16..4: 31.6% 29.7% 38.7%
x264 [info]: mb P  I16..4:  6.3%  3.1%  3.9%  P16..4: 26.9%  8.5%  4.7%  0.4%  0
.2%    skip:46.1%
x264 [info]: mb B  I16..4:  0.4%  0.3%  0.2%  B16..8: 14.0%  0.9%  1.7%  direct:
 2.1%  skip:80.4%
x264 [info]: 8x8 transform  intra:24.3%  inter:28.0%
x264 [info]: ref P  79.0%  9.8%  7.2%  4.0%
x264 [info]: ref B  82.1%  8.7%  5.8%  3.4%
x264 [info]: kb/s:690.9

encoded 34407 frames, 1.74 fps, 690.93 kb/s
__________________
All you gotta do is run for your life, i just gotta know why!?
subcool is offline  
Old 7th November 2005, 17:18   #816  |  Link
bond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,779
subcool, try to search for "nicefps" in this forum. there was (is?) a problem with strange framerates fixeable with nicefps and other methods (like changefps())
__________________
Between the weak and the strong one it is the freedom which oppresses and the law that liberates (Jean Jacques Rousseau)
I know, that I know nothing (Socrates)

MPEG-4 ASP FAQ | AVC/H.264 FAQ | AAC FAQ | MP4 FAQ | MP4Menu stores DVD Menus in MP4 (guide)
Ogg Theora | Ogg Vorbis
use WM9 today and get Micro$oft controlling the A/V market tomorrow for free
bond is offline  
Old 7th November 2005, 17:21   #817  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
.... ensure your commandline contains options not supported by SVN builds... --subme 7 for example........
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 7th November 2005, 20:27   #818  |  Link
zajc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Bug?!

MeGUI version 0.2.3.1

Test case:
settings
uncheck the "Open progress window"

When I try to encode HUFFYUV .avi file into XVID the megui.exe process takes most of the CPU instead mencoder (mencoder.exe 40% CPU, megui.exe 60% CPU). Encoding is horribly slow.

When I check the Open progress window then mencoder.exe use 99% CPU, megui.exe 1% CPU.

It might be a bug!?
zajc is offline  
Old 7th November 2005, 20:40   #819  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,570
I'm encoding right now without progress window. mencoder takes 50%, megui 0% (it's a dual core so only using 50% is normal.. XviD doesn't contain any SMP optimizations).
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline  
Old 7th November 2005, 21:22   #820  |  Link
zajc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Hmmm, now it works fine too when I restarted megui.

I put 7 jobs in queue to encode huffyuv -> xvid

1 1st pass 20 fps (.avi length 45 min)
1 2nd pass 10 fps
2 1st pass 25 fps (.avi length 130 min)
2 2nd pass 10 fps
3 1st pass 14 fps (.avi length 45 min)
3 2nd pass 6 fps
4 1st pass 7 fps (.avi length 21 min)
4 2nd pass 4 fps
5 1st pass 4 fps (.avi length 3 min)
5 2nd pass 2 fps
6 1st pass 3 fps (.avi length 5 min)
6 2nd pass 3 fps

Then I found out megui.exe procces takes more then 60% of CPU time and I abort the 7th job. After restarting megui.

7 1st pass 23 fps (.avi length 22 min)
7 2nd pass 11 fps

I have never experienced such behavour with previous version of megui althought I put 20 jobs or more in queue.
zajc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.