Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th June 2009, 12:41   #2201  |  Link
patelsiraj1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Feature Request for Autoresize

Hi all..

Can we have feature of Autoresize in MeGUI like Automkv and AutoGK.
patelsiraj1 is offline  
Old 15th June 2009, 12:56   #2202  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
feature requests -> HERE
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 16th June 2009, 05:47   #2203  |  Link
delanejenkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 81
Ok finally figured out what i was doing wrong. I had to manually enter the name for "name.stats" in the custom command line for the first pass to match the name of my output file. Working like a charm now. Thanks for the help guys
delanejenkins is offline  
Old 16th June 2009, 19:50   #2204  |  Link
deets
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: london, england
Posts: 509
would it be possible to add an option to use the 64 bit version of x264?

currently i can use ripbot264 but it doesnt support dga files and hardware deinterlacing, but megui does, but lacks the 64 bit option
deets is offline  
Old 17th June 2009, 02:12   #2205  |  Link
Akatsuker
Hack'n Roll
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 46
Two simple and fast ones for you (I've been searching but found nothing):

First - Quoting, meWIKI:

Quote:
1st/2nd/3rd pass:' If you want more control over your pass settings, you can set every pass up individually. You will have to set up every pass you want this way, MeGUI will not detect or setup missing passes.
Quote:
Logfile: When encoding a first pass, the video encoder will run through the movie and write statistics about it to a log file for use in subsequent passes. With this option, you can specify the location of the pass if you want to. The default location is in the output directory. For LMP4/XviD this option is on the last page, for x264/Snow it is on the first.
The thing is, I did an automated 2 pass, but in the second job (2nd pass), i've got an error ("unsupported format(DIB)" thing). Found this and I'll give a try putting "converttoYV12()" on the script.

But, like I said, it was a 2pass automated, and the 1st job (analysing and generating a .stats file) worked fine. I want to do just the 2nd pass, using the "2 pass - 2nd pass" on the x264 config menu.

On the quotes, it says "write statistics about it to a log file for use in subsequent passes". Okay. But how x264 will know what the .stats file it should be using on this 2nd pass? The option there is for writing some new stats file, even when I try this option (on "Logfile").

Second - Just opened my stats file, I see that it records and uses the resolution info (it's a 720p video). Can anybody please just confirm that, if I want to do two encodes of the same script (except for the resolution: script 1 is 720p, but script 2 is, for example, 480p), I couldn't use the same .stats for both?

Sorry if that's too dumb... Like I said, I've been searching for the answers. Thanks. ^^'
Akatsuker is offline  
Old 19th June 2009, 05:05   #2206  |  Link
Ruriko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 121
How do I add a picture at the begining of the video for 10 seconds?
Ruriko is offline  
Old 19th June 2009, 12:55   #2207  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
@deets: it does but you cant simply replace x264 with x264 64bit... you need to "flag" megui as a 64bit app, replace avisynth, filters and all the needed decoders with 64 bits ones, etc...

@akatsuker: 1st, you can either use automated 2 pass or 2-pass 1st pass and then 2-pass 2nd pass. do yourself a favour and dont mix... 2nd, the answer is no.

@Ruriko: the answer is: thru avisynth. you should ask in the avisynth forum.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 19th June 2009 at 13:00.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 8th July 2009, 23:10   #2208  |  Link
badbob001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Green preview window?

In MeGUI (0.3.1.1046), I run AVS Script Creator, select a Video Input, and the video is displayed in a new window. It plays fine. BUT if in MeGUI I click [Preview AVS Script] or check [x] Apply Auto Preview, the video turns solid green.

If I go ahead and encode the video, the result is still green. What is wrong?

The input is mjpeg avi. I have AVisynth 2.5.8 installed.
badbob001 is offline  
Old 8th July 2009, 23:14   #2209  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
You may have a broken MJPEG decoder. Try using ffdshow-tryouts instead.
Inspector.Gadget is offline  
Old 13th July 2009, 09:10   #2210  |  Link
rtjnyoface
Constantly learning
 
rtjnyoface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mountain Time, U.S.
Posts: 189
Thanks...again.

I really just wanted to stop in really quick and let all the individuals working on MeGUI thank you. I can't imagine the time and effort put into the project. Once again, thanks.

rtjnyoface is offline  
Old 13th July 2009, 19:01   #2211  |  Link
Yoshiyuki Blade
Novice x264 User
 
Yoshiyuki Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtjnyoface View Post
I really just wanted to stop in really quick and let all the individuals working on MeGUI thank you. I can't imagine the time and effort put into the project. Once again, thanks.

Indeed. They've been keeping on top of things with constant updates, and adjusting to the changing times as necessary. Major thanks to the MeGUI devs!

I just noticed one of the latest updates, when you go to x264 options and hit the "Load Defaults" button, youll get a virtually clean command line, with the bare essentials (program/output/input commands). Only --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,i8x8 and --thread-input are visible now.

By the way, is --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,i8x8 necessary to be visible despite being the default?
__________________
"I'll take a potato chip... and eat it!"
Yoshiyuki Blade is offline  
Old 13th July 2009, 19:37   #2212  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
nope... however it will "disappear" soon...
it's just one of those "redundant" options i was referring to in the MeGUI dev thread.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 13th July 2009, 19:53   #2213  |  Link
Yoshiyuki Blade
Novice x264 User
 
Yoshiyuki Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
nope... however it will "disappear" soon...
it's just one of those "redundant" options i was referring to in the MeGUI dev thread.
Awesome! I should lurk around in that thread to see what's up.
__________________
"I'll take a potato chip... and eat it!"
Yoshiyuki Blade is offline  
Old 19th July 2009, 23:04   #2214  |  Link
arch_angel16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 92
issue transcoding from x264 with bad AR?

Got something of an issue:

My hdtv died, and I can't afford to replace it, so my media center is now an old large projection tv and an xbox with xbmc. Since xbox can't really take x264 all that well, I'm re-encoding all my stuff to high bitrate divx. Thus far, MeGUI's been awesome for this, but I'm running into an issue:

Some of my files have aspect ratio that don't match their height and width, (ie a 16:9 video with a 704x480 resolution) and MeGUI reads the file as having an AR of 1.467. Now, what's funny is that media player classic opens the video at 16:9/1.778 just fine.

when making the avisynth script, I manually set the AR to 1.778, checked auto preview and resize. the values in the resize field automatically changed to 704x400 (good) and it seemed good to go. I saved the script, and auto-encoded the file.

...the autoencode worked at something like 300fps (first indication something was wrong) and the output file size was only a few megabytes. This is off of a 24 minute long, 350mb original file.

I'm re-doing the job so I can save & output the log entry (my next post).

Anyways, anyone have experience with this?
arch_angel16 is offline  
Old 19th July 2009, 23:19   #2215  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Post your AVS Script, arch_angel16.
Inspector.Gadget is offline  
Old 19th July 2009, 23:22   #2216  |  Link
arch_angel16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 92
My avs script:

DirectShowSource("E:\anime\test\test.mkv", fps=23.976, audio=false, convertfps=true)
#deinterlace
#crop
LanczosResize(704,400) # Lanczos (Sharp)
#denoise

My xvid config:

program -i "input" -pass2 ".stats" -bitrate 1300 -kboost 100 -clow 15 -overhead 0 -turbo -max_key_interval 250 -nopacked -vhqmode 4 -qpel -closed_gop -lumimasking -imin 1 -pmin 1 -bvhq -bquant_ratio 162 -bquant_offset 0 -bmin 1 -threads 2 -o "output"

And my full log after encode complete:

[Information] Log
-[Information] Versions
--[NoImage] MeGUI Version : 0.3.1.1051
--[NoImage] OS : Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x86 SP1 (6.0.65536.6001)
--[NoImage] Framework used : 2.0 SP1 (2.0.50727.1434)
-[Information] Hardware
--[NoImage] CPU : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66GHz
-[Information] AutoEncode job generation log
-[Information] AutoEncode job generation log
--[NoImage] Split Size : null
--[Information] Eliminating duplicate filenames
---[NoImage] Video output file: E:\anime\test\test.mkv
---[NoImage] File already exists. New video output filename: E:\anime\test\test_0.mkv
---[NoImage] Muxed output file: E:\anime\test\test-muxed.mkv
---[NoImage] Encodable audio stream 0: E:\anime\test\test.ac3
-[Information] Log for job1 (audio, test.mkv -> test.ac3)
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:23:36 PM] Started handling job
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:23:36 PM] Preprocessing
--[NoImage] Avisynth script
---[NoImage] DirectShowSource("E:\anime\test\test.mkv", video=false)
---[NoImage] EnsureVBRMP3Sync()
---[NoImage] Normalize()
---[NoImage] return last
--[NoImage] Commandline used: -readtoeof 1 -b 384 - "{0}"
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:23:36 PM] Encoding started
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:23:36 PM] Encode thread started
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:23:36 PM] Avisynth script environment opened
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:23:37 PM] Script loaded
--[Information] Output Decoder
---[NoImage] Channels: 2
---[NoImage] Bits per sample: 16
---[NoImage] Sample rate: 48000
--[NoImage] Commandline: C:\Program Files\megui\tools\aften\aften.exe -readtoeof 1 -b 384 - "E:\anime\test\test.ac3"
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:23:37 PM] Encoder process started
--[NoImage] Output from encoder via stderr
---[NoImage] Aften: A/52 audio encoder
---[NoImage] Version SVN
---[NoImage] (c) 2006-2007 Justin Ruggles, Prakash Punnoor, et al.
---[NoImage] input format: Microsoft WAVE Signed 16-bit little-endian 48000 Hz stereo
---[NoImage] output format: 48000 Hz stereo (2/0)
---[NoImage] SIMD usage: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3
---[NoImage] Threads: 2
---[NoImage] progress: 100% | q: 359.0 | bw: 60.0 | bitrate: 384.0 kbps
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:24:18 PM] Postprocessing
---[Information] Deleting intermediate files
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:24:19 PM] Job completed
-[Information] Log for job2 (video, test.avs -> )
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:24:19 PM] Started handling job
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:24:19 PM] Preprocessing
--[NoImage] Job commandline: "C:\Program Files\megui\tools\xvid_encraw\xvid_encraw.exe" -i "E:\anime\test\test.avs" -pass1 "E:\anime\test\test_0.stats" -bitrate 1300 -kboost 100 -clow 15 -overhead 0 -turbo -max_key_interval 250 -nopacked -vhqmode 4 -qpel -closed_gop -lumimasking -imin 1 -pmin 1 -bvhq -bquant_ratio 162 -bquant_offset 0 -bmin 1 -par 1:1 -threads 2
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:24:19 PM] Encoding started
--[NoImage] Standard output stream
---[NoImage] xvid_encraw - raw mpeg4 bitstream encoder written by Christoph Lampert 2002-2003
---[NoImage] Tot: enctime(ms) =138404.00, length(bytes) = 2441803
---[NoImage] Avg: enctime(ms) = 3.79, fps = 264.02, length(bytes) = 66
---[NoImage] I frames: 147 frames, size = 3077/ 452319, quants = 2 / 2.00 / 2
---[NoImage] P frames: 12131 frames, size = 146/ 1771126, quants = 2 / 2.00 / 2
---[NoImage] B frames: 24262 frames, size = 9/ 218358, quants = 3 / 3.00 / 3
--[NoImage] Standard error stream
---[NoImage] Trying to retrieve width and height from input header
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Avisynth detected
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Input colorspace is YUYV or YUY2
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Input is 704 x 400, 23.976fps (2500000/104271), starting from frame 0
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Number of frames to encode: 36540, Bitrate = 1300kbps
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: xvidcore build version: xvid-1.2.2
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Bitstream version: 1.2.2
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Detected CPU flags: ASM MMX MMXEXT SSE SSE2 TSC
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Detected cpus = 2, threads requested = 1, threads in use = 1
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Threaded input reading active
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:26:48 PM] Postprocessing
---[Information] Deleting intermediate files
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:26:48 PM] Job completed
-[Information] Log for job3 (video, test.avs -> test_0.mkv)
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:26:48 PM] Started handling job
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:26:48 PM] Preprocessing
--[NoImage] Job commandline: "C:\Program Files\megui\tools\xvid_encraw\xvid_encraw.exe" -i "E:\anime\test\test.avs" -pass2 "E:\anime\test\test_0.stats" -bitrate 1300 -kboost 100 -clow 15 -overhead 0 -max_key_interval 250 -nopacked -vhqmode 4 -qpel -closed_gop -lumimasking -imin 1 -pmin 1 -bvhq -bquant_ratio 162 -bquant_offset 0 -bmin 1 -par 1:1 -threads 2 -mkv "E:\anime\test\test_0.mkv"
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:26:48 PM] Encoding started
--[NoImage] Standard output stream
---[NoImage] xvid_encraw - raw mpeg4 bitstream encoder written by Christoph Lampert 2002-2003
---[NoImage] Tot: enctime(ms) =140853.00, length(bytes) = 2442097
---[NoImage] Avg: enctime(ms) = 3.85, fps = 259.43, length(bytes) = 66
---[NoImage] I frames: 147 frames, size = 3079/ 452613, quants = 1 / 1.00 / 1
---[NoImage] P frames: 12131 frames, size = 146/ 1771126, quants = 1 / 1.00 / 1
---[NoImage] B frames: 24262 frames, size = 9/ 218358, quants = 1 / 1.00 / 1
--[NoImage] Standard error stream
---[NoImage] Trying to retrieve width and height from input header
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Avisynth detected
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Input colorspace is YUYV or YUY2
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Input is 704 x 400, 23.976fps (2500000/104271), starting from frame 0
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Number of frames to encode: 36540, Bitrate = 1300kbps
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: xvidcore build version: xvid-1.2.2
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Bitstream version: 1.2.2
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Detected CPU flags: ASM MMX MMXEXT SSE SSE2 TSC
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Detected cpus = 2, threads requested = 1, threads in use = 1
---[NoImage] xvid [info]: Threaded input reading active
--[Information] Final statistics
---[NoImage] Video Bitrate Desired: 1300 kbit/s
---[NoImage] Video Bitrate Obtained (approximate): 15 kbit/s
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:29:17 PM] Postprocessing
---[Information] Deleting intermediate files
----[Information] [7/19/2009 6:29:17 PM] Successfully deleted E:\anime\test\test_0.stats
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:29:17 PM] Job completed
-[Information] Log for job4 (mux, test_0.mkv -> test-muxed.mkv)
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:29:17 PM] Started handling job
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:29:17 PM] Preprocessing
--[NoImage] Job commandline: "C:\Program Files\megui\tools\mkvmerge\mkvmerge.exe" -o "E:\anime\test\test-muxed.mkv" --engage keep_bitstream_ar_info --default-duration 1:24000/1001fps -d 1 -A -S "E:\anime\test\test_0.mkv" -a 0 -D -S "E:\anime\test\test.ac3" --no-clusters-in-meta-seek
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:29:17 PM] Muxing started
--[NoImage] Standard output stream
---[NoImage] mkvmerge v2.9.7 ('Tenderness') built on Jul 1 2009 18:43:35
---[NoImage] 'E:\anime\test\test_0.mkv': Using the Matroska demultiplexer.
---[NoImage] 'E:\anime\test\test.ac3': Using the AC3 demultiplexer.
---[NoImage] 'E:\anime\test\test_0.mkv' track 1: Using the MPEG-4 part 2 video output module.
---[NoImage] 'E:\anime\test\test.ac3' track 0: Using the AC3 output module.
---[NoImage] The file 'E:\anime\test\test-muxed.mkv' has been opened for writing.
---[NoImage] The cue entries (the index) are being written...
---[NoImage] Muxing took 4 seconds.
--[NoImage] Standard error stream
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:29:22 PM] Postprocessing
---[Information] Deleting intermediate files
----[Information] [7/19/2009 6:29:22 PM] Successfully deleted E:\anime\test\test_0.mkv
----[Information] [7/19/2009 6:29:22 PM] Successfully deleted E:\anime\test\test.ac3
--[Information] [7/19/2009 6:29:22 PM] Job completed

Last edited by arch_angel16; 19th July 2009 at 23:30.
arch_angel16 is offline  
Old 20th July 2009, 00:56   #2217  |  Link
arch_angel16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 92
Can anyone tell me what's happening?
arch_angel16 is offline  
Old 20th July 2009, 15:22   #2218  |  Link
badbob001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by arch_angel16 View Post
Got something of an issue:

My hdtv died, and I can't afford to replace it, so my media center is now an old large projection tv and an xbox with xbmc. Since xbox can't really take x264 all that well, I'm re-encoding all my stuff to high bitrate divx.
I too have been trying to find the right settings for megui to encode into x264 for the original xbox. I tried the settings from here: http://xbmc.org/wiki/index.php?title..._XBMC_For_Xbox

But to get good quality for high motion vids, you need to enable some x264 settings that are really cpu-heavy. But in the process, I discovered the following:

Xbmc has two players: mplayer by default and dvdplayer. Dvdplayer plays x264 much more smoothly under 100% cpu conditions. Try it out before you re-encode all your 480p x264 content. Use the 'play using...' menu option to pick the player to play a vid. To make it permanent, set dvdplayer to be the default with advancesettings.xml. Note that dvdplayer uses a lot more ram than mplayer so it'll freeze if you don't have enough memory. I had to lower my xbox from 1080i to 720p and uses smaller thumbnails in my skin to get enough ram for all movies. It's probably possible to everything at 1080i when using a very minimal skin.
badbob001 is offline  
Old 22nd July 2009, 23:06   #2219  |  Link
arch_angel16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 92
I'm not recoding 480p h264, I'm recoding 720p and 1080p content downwards to 720x400 xvid with 1300k/s bitrate. it's working pretty well, except in the rare situation of a bad encode or an encode where the height / width doesn't 1:1 match the aspect ratio.
arch_angel16 is offline  
Old 25th July 2009, 22:07   #2220  |  Link
badbob001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by badbob001 View Post
In MeGUI (0.3.1.1046), I run AVS Script Creator, select a Video Input, and the video is displayed in a new window. It plays fine. BUT if in MeGUI I click [Preview AVS Script] or check [x] Apply Auto Preview, the video turns solid green.

If I go ahead and encode the video, the result is still green. What is wrong?

The input is mjpeg avi. I have AVisynth 2.5.8 installed.
I got it. I installed MeGUI on another PC and it worked fine. So I used InstalledCodec to list my codecs to compare and I started disabling any codec that wasn't on the working PC. The culprit was m3jpeg32.dll from Morgan Multimedia.
badbob001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.