Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th December 2012, 12:58   #1  |  Link
bokbokchui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
MEGUI:BBC Blu-ray episode to MKV - Horizontal lines appear

I try to encode a BBD blu-rat episode to MKV.

Here is the source info of the video part of .mt2s file:

Video
ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Codec ID : 27
Duration : 58mn 52s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Maximum bit rate : 32.0 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 29.970 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : MBAFF

It's a 29.97 fps video, which I have not encoded before.

I use AVS Script creator to create the AVS file, with no crop and no resize.

I then enode it to MKV container using high profile @L4.1 using default tuning and default device.

However, the resulting file contains a lot of horizontal lines, and large blocks appear when motio is fast.

I want to keep the original 29.97 fps so that I can mux the original DTS audio and PGS subtitles later with mkvmerge. I'm not sure if it's changed to 23.98 fps which I encode most of Bliu-ray movies before.

Any hints of removing the horizontal lines appearing in the resulted MKV?


Bok
bokbokchui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 13:05   #2  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
Looks like interlaced fields...what's happening in the preview when you chose "Interlaced" as Source Type and "Yadif" as Deinterlacer in AVS Script Creator ? Horizontal lines are still there ?

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 26th December 2012 at 13:09.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 13:34   #3  |  Link
bokbokchui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
I have also tried today.
Result is horizontal lines did not appear. But when we play resulted MKV, it did not play smoothly. It takes long time to load and seems hang up when fast forward.

Any good option to encode such 29.97 frame documentary episode?
bokbokchui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 15:10   #4  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,290
Quote:
I want to keep the original 29.97 fps so that I can mux the original DTS audio and PGS subtitles later with mkvmerge. I'm not sure if it's changed to 23.98 fps which I encode most of Bliu-ray movies before.
Most likely source was shot in 25 fps (PAL - European zone) and then slowed down to 23.976 (NTSC - USA zone for example). For some reason they decided to apply telecine function (23.976p -> 29.97i). However without sample I can not be 100% sure.

try this

example
Code:
Loadplugin("...\TIVTC.dll")
tfm(order=1).TDecimate

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 26th December 2012 at 15:17.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 21:40   #5  |  Link
bokbokchui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Are there any equivalent GUI option for the AviSync script command:

Loadplugin("...\TIVTC.dll")
tfm(order=1).TDecimate

i.e., Under Filters/Deinterlacing field of AviSync Script Creator,
Source type = ?
Field Order = ?
Deinterlace option = ?
bokbokchui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 21:49   #6  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
Try simply using MakeMKV for the conversion to MKV...
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2012, 06:31   #7  |  Link
bokbokchui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Filesize produced by MakeMKV is large as it can't control bitrate.

I finally find my problem. I have set the bitrate of MKV to 15200kbps which is too large. Initially, I don't think it's an issue during my testing of a 10-minute cut. It plays smoothly for the 10-min cut.
Play is much smoother if I reduce the bitrate to 10000kbps range.

Some investigations on the AviSync script commands:
Loadplugin("...\TIVTC.dll")
tfm(order=1).TDecimate

Source type = Interlaced
Field Order = Top field first
Deinterlace = TIVTC
bokbokchui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 02:54   #8  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
Quote:
Filesize produced by MakeMKV is large as it can't control bitrate.
I can find nothing in your other postings to this thread that said you want/need to reduce the filesize...
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 11:55   #9  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokbokchui View Post
I have also tried today.
Result is horizontal lines did not appear. But when we play resulted MKV, it did not play smoothly. It takes long time to load and seems hang up when fast forward.

Any good option to encode such 29.97 frame documentary episode?
Did you set up the encode using the AVS Script Creator? If so did you use it to analyse the video (you should unless you know it's progressive)? If so, what was the result and which de-interlacing method did MeGUI choose?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bokbokchui View Post
Filesize produced by MakeMKV is large as it can't control bitrate.

I finally find my problem. I have set the bitrate of MKV to 15200kbps which is too large. Initially, I don't think it's an issue during my testing of a 10-minute cut. It plays smoothly for the 10-min cut.
Play is much smoother if I reduce the bitrate to 10000kbps range.
Which method do you use for encoding and which device are you using for playback? When you say you set the bitrate too high it sounds like you're using ABR encoding which isn't the best way to do it. Either that or you're using the bitrate to set a file size but unless you need a particular file size it's not the best way to go about it either.

If you can find out the exact specifications of your playback device in respect to what it'll play, then you should be able to set up the encoder accordingly. Hopefully it'll specify something like High Profile, Level 4.1 (the defacto standard these days) or at least something similar, and then you can use that for encoding. You might need to add additional bitrate limitations to the encoder settings. If you select Bluray as the target playback device for example, you'll see it adds --vbv-bufsize and --vbv-maxrate settings to the command line. Once you've set up the encoder for your target playback device then you shouldn't need to worry about bitrates any more. Just pick a Quality (CRF) value you're happy with and let the encoder do the rest.

Quote:
Originally Posted by setarip_old View Post
I can find nothing in your other postings to this thread that said you want/need to reduce the filesize...
Did you find anything in his other postings which said he didn't?
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.