Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st May 2005, 12:49   #1  |  Link
mimage
Registered User
 
mimage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 118
Making MakeAVIS work in Vegas

I'm trying to get makeAVIS to work in Vegas but so far I haven't been able to do so. If someone has gotten it to work with Vegas, or maybe even WMM2, could you please leave a reply? Also anyone else please leave a reply if you know a bit about the program, or not... just please leave any feedback about it. Even if you have been having trouble making it work yourself. Thanks!
mimage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2005, 17:23   #2  |  Link
Pookie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,339
I do know Vfapi works. Try that instead.
Pookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2005, 00:24   #3  |  Link
mimage
Registered User
 
mimage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally posted by Pookie
I do know Vfapi works. Try that instead.
It doesn't have multiple instances though.
mimage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2005, 02:57   #4  |  Link
Zarxrax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,169
Perhaps this will help:
http://www.animemusicvideos.org/phpB...vegas+makeavis

Edit: particularly, read the posts by anubisx00

Last edited by Zarxrax; 22nd May 2005 at 03:00.
Zarxrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2005, 04:33   #5  |  Link
ccfilms
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South East Michigan, USA
Posts: 21
Oh. That's a function I'd like to have!!! YES! Avs files workingin Vegas. Maybe a java script?
__________________
Jeremy Krakowski
CCFilms.com

*currently converting entire website to Quicktime compatable MPEG-4 MOV files!
ccfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2005, 07:09   #6  |  Link
mimage
Registered User
 
mimage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally posted by Zarxrax
Perhaps this will help:
http://www.animemusicvideos.org/phpB...vegas+makeavis

Edit: particularly, read the posts by anubisx00
lol, funny thing is... I'm the creator of that thread. Sup Zarxrax, still haven't gotten it to work yet. Oh and also, today I have made it so I can get xvid working in Vegas well, even now I can get more divx files to work. If your interested in finding out how to do this, check out this thread.

http://www.videohelp.com/forum/viewt...291964#1291964
mimage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2005, 07:53   #7  |  Link
zettai
Fascinated Lurker
 
zettai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 243
Neuron2 has plans to fix the vfapi stuff in dgindex so that it no longer uses global variables. When this will happen is anyone's guess but at least there's a light at the end of the proverbial tunnel.
zettai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2005, 18:04   #8  |  Link
Zarxrax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,169
I have successfully used makeavis with vegas myself in the past... I have no idea how I got it working, but I also had trouble with it. I know it had something to do with the various options in the makeavis settings.
Zarxrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2010, 17:45   #9  |  Link
JoeH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 251
I just wanted to wake this thread up, as I am also trying to get AVS files into Vegas and have been unable to find a reliable way to do so.

I can't get MakeAVIS to work at all with Vegas at all (I am trying the H264 files).

Here are my results with other programs. If anyone knows of a good relatively failsafe way to use AVS in Vegas please share.

Link2 - Works most of the time, but you have to just guess what settings will work. For different files encoded similarly, one will work only with RGB32, another only with YV12, etc.
AVFS - Works, but with LOTS of overhead in memory and processing
VirtualDub - I haven't been able to get it to work at all
VFAPI - With most files does not work, occasionally yes.

Anyone know how to make AVS work in Vegas?
JoeH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2010, 18:59   #10  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,768
In my experience, AVFS is the only reliable way.

Otherwise, use a lossless intermediate e.g. lagarith, huffyuv, ut
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2010, 02:55   #11  |  Link
NerdWithNoLife
Registered User
 
NerdWithNoLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 155
I've done it. Here are some tips:

1. Use the entire path of the file in your script. So if your script and movie are on your desktop, use AviSource("c:\documents and settings\user\desktop\video.avi") - not just AviSource("video.avi").
2. Click the option for saving the uncompressed audio in the dummy file. Vegas usually screws up the sound otherwise (for me anyway).
__________________
f=33
NerdWithNoLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.