Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th October 2006, 05:50   #501  |  Link
awx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 78
I have the delete char problem too. But I have found that when the error dialog is open, you can tell Windows to log off and SubRip will then give you the option to save the Char Map without the pesky error dialogs blocking you. It's makes for slow and tedious work but it's better than having to force quit SubRip and lose all the unsaved entries in the character matrix.
awx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2006, 22:07   #502  |  Link
ai4spam
Programmer
 
ai4spam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 378
Wow, that's some detective work .

The news is that I really don't have any time to further develop SubRip right now. I'll be uploading a stable version of my latest beta. I'll try to fix all the bugs signalled here before I do. It's been a good ride while it lasted, and I hope someone else will pick up the torch and carry it on.
ai4spam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2006, 12:15   #503  |  Link
Teebeeke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 36
All your work has been highly appreciated, and i hope someone can pick up where you left off.

Thank you very much
Teebeeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2006, 12:35   #504  |  Link
Sinistral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Thank you for all your fantastic work ai4spam! You've improved SubRip so much... I can only hope someone like you comes along to pick it up again. Have a good marriage and again, thank you for all your hard work!
Sinistral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2006, 23:28   #505  |  Link
omion
Registered User
 
omion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 325
No save dialog

I'm using 1.50b3a, and I get some weird things happening. I'm encoding Fullmetal Alchemist, and on episode 41 the save dialog does not show up. For all the previous episodes this worked, but not ep 41... I re-processed episode 40, which still worked perfectly, so there seems to be something odd going on with the input files.

I tried compatibility mode, but it doesn't help. It seems to be dependent on the input file. Has this problem been figured out yet?
__________________
"We demand rigidly defined areas of doubt and uncertainty!" - Vroomfondel, H2G2
omion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2006, 03:19   #506  |  Link
ai4spam
Programmer
 
ai4spam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 378
Try renaming the input files, see if that does anything.
ai4spam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2006, 21:23   #507  |  Link
omion
Registered User
 
omion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 325
Nope. I tried putting it in a different directory, and then renaming the files themselves, but it still doesn't work.

I just got done encoding some more episodes, and it looks like all the eps on one DVD (41,42,43,44) fail to show the save dialog. The other DVDs are OK.

I'm using it on Windows XP x64, if that matters.
__________________
"We demand rigidly defined areas of doubt and uncertainty!" - Vroomfondel, H2G2
omion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2006, 18:31   #508  |  Link
hanen87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Hi,

I'm a beginner in ripping vobsub to SRT format....

I hv tried ai4spam's Character Matrix n i hv noticed most "l" has been converted to capital letter "I"

I hv tried to edit every "l" & "I" but it still don't work.

Can someone tell me which letter should i edit?
hanen87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2006, 18:50   #509  |  Link
zuggy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 171
I and l are very similar (or equal) in many subtitles. The only workaround is to apply "post-OCR" correction after the sub-rip process.
zuggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2006, 11:52   #510  |  Link
LRN
TeMa=) team member
 
LRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Universe, Galaxy, Solar System, Earth, Russia, Moscow
Posts: 212
Best workaround is to hardcode font name into subtitles (not all formats support this feature), Arial for example (in Arial I and l are the same)
__________________
Without effort, you can't even pull a fish out of the pond.
Without a pond you can't pull it out even with effort.
LRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2006, 17:20   #511  |  Link
masken
uhm... ?
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 280
Getting Access Violations when using ai4spam's character matrix:
Quote:
Access violation at address 0052135D in module 'Subrip.exe'. Read of address 034AB002.
Is it too large?
masken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2006, 08:22   #512  |  Link
ai4spam
Programmer
 
ai4spam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 378
It may indeed get too bloated, try to download it again, and next time you save it, choose a different name so that you can revert to the previous one.
I'll probably have time for an update over winter break, during which all the bugs will hopefully be taken care of.
ai4spam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 08:07   #513  |  Link
roli_bark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Can anybody help with a problem I have w SubRip v1.50b4 -
reported in this topic:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=118616
roli_bark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 16:11   #514  |  Link
Paulcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Great White North
Posts: 326
Hmm, I have a large avi file with hard-coded subtitles, I have tried both SubRip and AVISub Detector and both seem to run the length of the clip and pick up nothing no matter what settings I alter.

Is there some software out there that I can use to create the timing and just manually enter the text? Does Subtitle Workshop do this?
Paulcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 19:24   #515  |  Link
roli_bark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulcat View Post
Hmm, I have a large avi file with hard-coded subtitles, I have tried both SubRip and AVISub Detector and both seem to run the length of the clip and pick up nothing no matter what settings I alter.

Is there some software out there that I can use to create the timing and just manually enter the text? Does Subtitle Workshop do this?
If the Hard-Coded subtitles are bit-mapped, then
'Subtitle Workshop' doesn't work with bit-mapped characters.
roli_bark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2006, 05:45   #516  |  Link
ai4spam
Programmer
 
ai4spam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 378
@roli_bark: See answer in that topic.
@Paucat: I assume you've used it before, for other movies? If not, follow the guide at http://zuggy.wz.cz/guides/video.htm
SubRip does not have automatic detection like AviSubDetector, you have to go to the first subtitle and set the subtitle and outline colors manually before it can go on. You can also try PodPis instead, and use the timings it gives you to translate, if you're doing a translation.
ai4spam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2006, 18:02   #517  |  Link
iElectric
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 23
I have a problem with your charmap ai4spam, all subtitles i rip are like this:

http://shrani.si/?screenshotoyd0.jpg

All the letters i are strange.
iElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2006, 08:11   #518  |  Link
ai4spam
Programmer
 
ai4spam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 378
Yes, that's the Spanish inverted exclamation sign. If you never rip Spanish subtitles, go to the Edit Char Matrix window, sort it by character, and delete all the inverted exclamation signs.
Alternatively, just open the file in NotePad and do a replace all from to i (to find the character, type Alt+0161).
ai4spam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2006, 16:11   #519  |  Link
iElectric
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 23
I removed all ! and i sings.. sometimes it happens i get "I" sign also instead of "i".... hope this works.. I wonder why does it happen only to me? :|
iElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2006, 09:06   #520  |  Link
ai4spam
Programmer
 
ai4spam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 378
It happens to everyone, maybe just the subtitles you rip are weirder. You can try setting the OCR sensitivity all the way to 1000.
ai4spam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.