Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th April 2005, 18:42   #1  |  Link
jdub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Subtitle conversion .SUB to .SRT

Well the big thing is getting these .SUB's converted. I need a program that can handle converting them to .SRT

I tried Subresync but it keeps asking for whole words, I almost have to transcribe the whole script. Yes I fiddled with the settings, nothing seems to have changed.

Anyone recomend a program?

If its permissable and anyone wants to take a look at the subs I can get them hosted no prob.

Last edited by jdub; 26th April 2005 at 19:04.
jdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 18:45   #2  |  Link
niamh
Dismembered
 
niamh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Craggy Island
Posts: 873
You can't get away with it, and no you don't have to transcribe the whole script, it goes faster as you go along.
subrip does the job too.

edit: those subs are no good without the idx. I'd have ocred them for you, it takes 2 1/2 minutes, but not without the idx.
__________________
Allen's Axiom: When all else fails, read the instructions.

Last edited by niamh; 26th April 2005 at 18:48.
niamh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 19:02   #3  |  Link
jdub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
I have the IDX files.

This is NOT getting fasted as I go along because its doing whole words instead of individual letters. To make things worse Ive had to redo exact words several times. Ive wasted an hour and a half and im not even halfway done with the first half of the first sub. (the sub is split into 2 halves)

I cant use subrip because it doesnt seem to support loading .sub's and I dont have the original DVD's.

Last edited by jdub; 26th April 2005 at 19:06.
jdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 19:07   #4  |  Link
unskinnyboy
Registered User
 
unskinnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NTSC R1
Posts: 2,047
Can you do a CTRL+A in SubRip and post the screenshot of the 'Advanced OCR Setup' window here?
unskinnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 19:12   #5  |  Link
niamh
Dismembered
 
niamh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Craggy Island
Posts: 873
Quote:
I cant use subrip because it doesnt seem to support loading .sub's and I dont have the original DVD's
Sorry then, can't help. But you do have a problem indeed.
__________________
Allen's Axiom: When all else fails, read the instructions.
niamh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 19:14   #6  |  Link
jdub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21

http://s05.imagehost.org/1078/advorc.jpg

EDIT: This is CRAZY. I made a screenshot just like always with irfanview (i made both .jpg and .png), I opened the file in windows and it displayed just fine. but whenever I upload it to either imageshack or imagehost it comes up blank.

Keep in mind ive been using Subresync so far. THATS the program with the whole word issue.

SubRip hasnt even entered the equation because it doesnt seem to support opening .SUB files.

Last edited by jdub; 26th April 2005 at 19:19.
jdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 19:27   #7  |  Link
unskinnyboy
Registered User
 
unskinnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NTSC R1
Posts: 2,047
Your 'Advanced OCR setup' looks fine.

IIRC, SubResync does not have an option to save your character matrix like you can in SubRip. Which means you -have- to reenter everything, everytime.

EDIT: SubResync should save the characters in its buffer at least for the same session. So if that is not happening, then something is wrong. Can't think of anything right now. Will update if I can think of anything.

Last edited by unskinnyboy; 26th April 2005 at 19:32.
unskinnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 19:41   #8  |  Link
jdub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Dont forget that its also failing to use single characters. Its making me id whole words, yes Ive had the sensitivity bar at both ends... no effect.
jdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2005, 23:20   #9  |  Link
smiller667
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,121
Hi,

Subrip does support .sub files ... just set the filemask appropriately. Timings might/will(?) be slightly off, though.
Better open the .idx files in subrip... it supports these as well.

If there still is a problem, host your sub/idx pair somewhere for download

Good luck,
Steve
smiller667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2005, 00:46   #10  |  Link
jdub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Subrip refuses to open .idx or .sub files.

Heres a screenshot of its supported formats list: http://img173.echo.cx/img173/2807/filesupport4jn.jpg

I also tried opening from the "subtitles" window and got some crazy spanish(?) error: http://img173.echo.cx/img173/1056/crazyerror5yk.jpg

... how do you get .sub/.idx files loaded into subrip?
jdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2005, 01:28   #11  |  Link
unskinnyboy
Registered User
 
unskinnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NTSC R1
Posts: 2,047
Which version of SubRip do you have? You have to have v1.17.

In that, File-->Open VOB(s)--> Open IFO. This will give you options as below:

unskinnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2005, 01:42   #12  |  Link
smiller667
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,121
Quote:
Originally posted by unskinnyboy
Which version of SubRip do you have? You have to have v1.17.
... which is available from the doom9 download section.

The language in your error msg is French, btw. (the former developer Brain is French) ...

Steve
smiller667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2005, 02:40   #13  |  Link
jdub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Cursed FFDshow... I had thought I had the latest version, but as it turns out I was using .97

Got everything working now, thanks.
jdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.