Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Capturing Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th March 2005, 15:26   #1  |  Link
henningdalgaard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20
no audio in Virtual VCR

Using a terratec TValue and soundblaster audigy on XP. Capture work fine using terratecs own Cinergy software.
In virtualVCR I can get the preview to show video but not audio. I have selected analog mix/line in.
What am I missing?
henningdalgaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2005, 15:32   #2  |  Link
henningdalgaard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20
Also, I have installed the PICVideo M-JPEG v.3 codec but when I have to select codec under capture, I see there is like 3 or 4 codecs from PICVideo. Which one do I use? I am using it as an alternative to Huffyuv.
Is there better codecs out for capturing TV
henningdalgaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2005, 16:00   #3  |  Link
boban10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 17
use PicVideo Mjpeg Codec.
boban10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2005, 16:12   #4  |  Link
henningdalgaard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20
Thanks boban10

I see the following:

PICVideo M-JPEG 3 directshow compressor
PICVideo 3 Directshow M-JPEG compressor
PICVideo M-JPEG 3 VfW codec
PICVideo Wavelet 2000
PICVideo lossless jpeg codec
PICVideo lossless jpeg compressor

It looks like I have installed it twice but I havent. I guyess any of the two first ones are okay?

I have selected Yuv2 and 320x240 (any higher than that gives me horisontal lines on moving objects). I have set the quality to 18, but what about the other settings such as "encode normalized yuv", "subsampling", "2 fields if more than 240", and "swap fields" ?

Also, If I burn the M-Jpeg capture to a DVD, will it play in a standalone player? My guess is no but which is the most userfriendly program to convert it to a dvd?
henningdalgaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2005, 17:43   #5  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,322
Quote:
Originally posted by henningdalgaard
I have selected Yuv2 and 320x240 (any higher than that gives me horisontal lines on moving objects).
That's interlacing, nothing wrong with the video. You should definitely capture at a higher resolution, preferably at 704/720x480. For your final destination, either deinterlace (for viewing on the PC) or encode as interlaced (for TV). You won't see the combing on the TV.
Quote:
I have set the quality to 18, but what about the other settings such as "encode normalized yuv", "subsampling", "2 fields if more than 240", and "swap fields" ?
Enable encode normalized YUV (also enable the similar setting in the decoder section) and "2 fields...", use subsampling 4:2:2. Disable "Swap fields".
Quote:
Also, If I burn the M-Jpeg capture to a DVD, will it play in a standalone player? My guess is no but which is the most userfriendly program to convert it to a dvd?
There's plenty of programs. You should learn some Avisynth, and there are good free MPEG2 encoders available, such as QuEnc and HCEnc.

Search will give you much more information
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2005, 18:24   #6  |  Link
henningdalgaard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20
thank for the reply.
Is it still a problem to capture yuy2 with PICVideo M-jpeg?
henningdalgaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2005, 18:55   #7  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,322
You should use YUY2 with PicVideo. If you use Avisynth to frameserve the video to the final encoder, you must ensure that you get YUY2 output. By default the codec outputs YV12 data.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.