Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd September 2018, 15:58   #1  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
Very high CPU temp when encoding with x264

Hi, sorry if this is the wrong section but since I think this is a x264 error I'm posting here.

I have always used DGAVCDecNV (DGIndexNV) for indexing my avc recordings for later encoding. For the encoding, I use MeGUI and a custom setting in x264 command line options:

--opencl --opencl-device 1

I have been working like that for some time now. As far a I know, I'm using my Nvidia card to do all the work.

I had to format my Windows recently, and today, when I started a new encoding, I found my CPU temp going to 100 C.

It looks like the CPU is doing the job rather than the GPU, right?

I tried to run the job with x264 CLI but it gave me an error about an Avisynth plugin not found, why is that?

Thanks in advance.
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 16:17   #2  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,133
x264 encoding is mostly done on the CPU even with open-cl enabled. If your CPU temp reaches 100C it would point to inadequate cooling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXtremeDevil View Post
I tried to run the job with x264 CLI but it gave me an error about an Avisynth plugin not found, why is that?
1. The plugin is missing from your system
2. You have only 32 bit/64 bit version of the plugin installed but your software is opening AviSynth 64 bit/32 bit.
3. The plugin is missing a dependency

In the future post all logs/error messages/scripts as well as the hardware info.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 16:25   #3  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
OK, I'll try those fixes, but what about the temperature?

EDIT

CLI works now, thanks for that! But CPU temp still goes up with that method...

Last edited by eXtremeDevil; 23rd September 2018 at 16:30.
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 16:31   #4  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,133
Fix your cooling/hardware. It's not an x264 problem.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 16:36   #5  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
No, what I mean is, if idle my CPU is on 40-50, but when enconding it goes up to 100. It is weird, even more if I'm using my GPU not my CPU to encode, right?

Maybe an OpenCL device issue? I tried 1 and 2 and the results were the same...
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 16:43   #6  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,133
Like I said: even with opencl enabled most of the work x264 does is done on the CPU. Only a small part is handed to the GPU. So it is totally normal for CPU temperature to increase. If your CPU hits 100C it means your cooling isn't working as it should. It could be inadequately designed (cheap laptop), the heat paste not applied correctly, the fan is broken/not attached, too much dust, or you have too much overclocking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXtremeDevil View Post
Maybe an OpenCL device issue? I tried 1 and 2 and the results were the same...
You still haven't posted any logs at all. No one here could tell if OpenCL is working in the first place. Either way your CPU shouldn't hit 100C.

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 23rd September 2018 at 16:46.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 16:49   #7  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
I will clean my cooler and post back, thanks.
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 20:16   #8  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
As I suspected, the cooler was almost clean. The thermic paste was dry, though. I changed it and cleaned the cooler anyway. Now the temp is 80~ when encoding. Is it normal? I just started, it may go up to 100 again... also, the temp here in my city is 35 right now.

Are those normal values? May the temp lecture be wrong?
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 20:27   #9  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,133
35C ambient temp is certainly high. Depending on your hardware - which you still haven't told us anything about - 80C might be perfectly normal.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 20:29   #10  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
I have an i7 4790K and a MSI Gaming 3 Z97 motherboard. Also, Nvidia GTX 970. Cores are swinging from 79 to 88 now...

EDIT

Looks like it is oscillating between 80 and 90 for a while now.

Last edited by eXtremeDevil; 23rd September 2018 at 20:43.
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 20:55   #11  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,133
I'd say it's still a barely acceptable temp. Not good but also not alarming. Maybe the heat paste still isn't applied optimally or it's of low quality? Are you using the stock cooler? How hot does it get if you use x265?

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 23rd September 2018 at 20:58.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 22:04   #12  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
Funny, if I add '--threads 4' to the cli command, the temp is 15~ lower. My CPU has 4 threads right? or is it 8? In any case, the time of the encode is the same.

EDIT

Never mind, I do have 8 threads, and with 4 the time is a bit more.

Last edited by eXtremeDevil; 23rd September 2018 at 22:12.
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 22:09   #13  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,133
i7-4790K has 4 physical cores + 4 virtual ones (hyperthreading). x264 can be up to 20% faster with hyperthreading. If you get exactly the same fps with --threads 4 (instead of default [sum of physical+virtual cores] * 1.5) you may be bottlenecked somehow. Compare CPU utilization in task manager in addition to fps difference. (Again: you haven't really posted anything about the source, script or settings.)

Indeed, without using hyperthreading/with less threads the temps should be lower. So that's expected.

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 23rd September 2018 at 22:12.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 22:16   #14  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
Settings:

Code:
--preset veryslow --crf 18.5 --deblock -1:0 --keyint 25 --min-keyint 13 --ref 9 --no-dct-decimate --no-fast-pskip --opencl --opencl-device 1
Script:
Code:
DGSource("G:\SNL\43x07.dgi", crop_t=0,crop_b=0,crop_l=4,crop_r=4,resize_w=1280,resize_h=720,deinterlace=1)
Source:

Code:
Video
ID                                       : 101 (0x65)
Menu ID                                  : 4034 (0xFC2)
Format                                   : AVC
Format/Info                              : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                           : High@L4
Format settings                          : CABAC / 4 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC                   : Yes
Format settings, RefFrames               : 4 frames
Codec ID                                 : 27
Duration                                 : 41 min 46 s
Bit rate                                 : 5 947 kb/s
Width                                    : 1 920 pixels
Height                                   : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 16:9
Frame rate                               : 25.000 FPS
Standard                                 : Component
Color space                              : YUV
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:0
Bit depth                                : 8 bits
Scan type                                : MBAFF
Scan type, store method                  : Separated fields
Scan order                               : Top Field First
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 0.115
Stream size                              : 1.74 GiB (92%)
Color range                              : Limited
Color primaries                          : BT.709
Transfer characteristics                 : BT.709
Matrix coefficients                      : BT.709
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2018, 05:48   #15  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,414
x264 will push your CPU for sure. It's not the software's fault - x264 is widely used across the broadcast / streaming industry for H.264 encoding on many tens of thousands of servers all over the world.

Sounds like your cooler is not up to the task. However, Intel CPUs can take the heat. My i7-7700k gets HOT when encoding, even with a small all-in-one watercooler at stock speeds. It doesn't throttle until near 100c.

What cooler are you using?
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2018, 22:56   #16  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
Raijintek Themis CPU Cooler (Product number: 0P105255)

https://www.raijintek.com/en/product...hp?ProductID=3
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2018, 23:04   #17  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,414
Looks a bit sketchy to me, no mention of thermal dissipation capabilities on the spec sheet...

Maybe your fan isn't moving enough air
Maybe ambient air temperature is high
Maybe the fins are dirty
Maybe there's not enough airflow in the rest of your case

There could be any number of issues.

Either way, x264 is definitely not the problem.
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2018, 11:33   #18  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
OK, thanks!
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2018, 20:31   #19  |  Link
AMED
Registered User
 
AMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 422
Maybe have a quick look at your CPU fan profile in your BIOS. You may need to set the desired CPU temp lower so the fan speeds up a little earlier.
__________________
A Man Eating Duck
AMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2018, 07:40   #20  |  Link
eXtremeDevil
Registered User
 
eXtremeDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 157
I'll try that, thanks!
eXtremeDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.