Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th November 2004, 10:50   #1  |  Link
plonk420
amd & h.264 fanboy
 
plonk420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NTSC
Posts: 414
strange (beta) AVC bug on playback in Nero Showtime / MPC

so i gave up waiting for the new Nero and loaded package 2, with Recode and all that jazz. i tried playing back an h.264 clip encoded with the beta4a encoder and there seems to be a stutter at each hard scene cut that wasn't there just a few mins ago with the beta decoder filters. any other betatesters discovering this?

or are these beta files not the most compatible with standard players (or whatever Showtime's filter should be considered)? or is it a higher profile?
plonk420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2004, 19:22   #2  |  Link
bobololo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 328
Re: strange (beta) AVC bug on playback in Nero Showtime / MPC

Quote:
Originally posted by plonk420
so i gave up waiting for the new Nero and loaded package 2, with Recode and all that jazz. i tried playing back an h.264 clip encoded with the beta4a encoder and there seems to be a stutter at each hard scene cut that wasn't there just a few mins ago with the beta decoder filters. any other betatesters discovering this?

or are these beta files not the most compatible with standard players (or whatever Showtime's filter should be considered)? or is it a higher profile?
You're right, I can also reproduce the issue. I've forwarded the report.

Thanks.
bobololo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 03:17   #3  |  Link
plonk420
amd & h.264 fanboy
 
plonk420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NTSC
Posts: 414
sorry i wasn't able to find this out earlier
plonk420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 04:26   #4  |  Link
slavickas
I'm Shpongled
 
slavickas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally posted by plonk420
sorry i wasn't able to find this out earlier
omg u just pushed release for another half year

joking , just got tired of waiting
slavickas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 10:44   #5  |  Link
plonk420
amd & h.264 fanboy
 
plonk420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NTSC
Posts: 414
is this problem encoder or decoder side? i'm assuming decoder, because all is well once i reinstall the beta decoder... but do tell. if you can ^_^
plonk420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 16:35   #6  |  Link
chilledoutuk
Registered User
 
chilledoutuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 334
I cant see any problems on the videos i have encoded when i play back videos using latest nero decoder. i have encoded them using the following string.

encavc.exe -i clip.avs -o test.mp4 -qual extra -rcmode 2pass -br 1000000 -psy 2 -maxb 3 -cartoon -ref 3 -adaptdeblock
__________________
HQ XviD Music Video Forum

When I'm good I'm very, very good but when I'm bad I'm better.
chilledoutuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 18:01   #7  |  Link
RBF
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 41
The problem is observed in the last NDParser.ax 2.0.2.24.
NDParser.ax 2.0.2.20 has no this problem.
RBF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 18:17   #8  |  Link
bobololo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 328
Ok the bug was identified and fixed. It's to be released in the next update.
bobololo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 20:42   #9  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,211
Nice one!

Is there any likely-hood of NeroDigital's audio DSdec being able to be used with other software players (such as MPC) apart from just WMP9/10 and ShowTime...

...And how about making it so subtitles can be seen in other software players too?


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 21:43   #10  |  Link
slavickas
I'm Shpongled
 
slavickas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally posted by SeeMoreDigital
Nice one!

Is there any likely-hood of NeroDigital's audio DSdec being able to be used with other software players (such as MPC) apart from just WMP9/10 and ShowTime...
MPC can play nero mp4 files with ffdshow as aac decoder
slavickas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 21:59   #11  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,211
Quote:
Originally posted by slavickas
MPC can play nero mp4 files with ffdshow as aac decoder
This is true... however, Nero's own audio DSdec is rather good too!


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 22:44   #12  |  Link
plonk420
amd & h.264 fanboy
 
plonk420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NTSC
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally posted by SeeMoreDigital
This is true... however, Nero's own audio DSdec is rather good too!
i'd assume it does AAC-HE? ^_^
plonk420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.