Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th November 2004, 22:56   #1  |  Link
Harddrive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 19
Errors using Bsweet to convert AC3 to WAV

I'm working to convert the 2ch soundtrack of a concert DVD to a WAV that I can burn to CD and play in my car. I have used DVD Decrypter to get an AC3 file by demuxing the 2ch stream. I am then using Bsweet with the BeLite GUI to convert the AC3 to WAV. The first time I tried this it worked and I got a WAV that played fine, but was too long to burn on a CD. I then tried removing various chapters from the DVD Decrypter list so that I would get a smaller file. However, Bsweet always gave me the same error, #47 bad configuration for AC3enc. Thought this was an issue with removing chapters in the initial rip, so I went back and re-did from the beginning, ripping all chapters like I did the first time. Now even this AC3 will not work in Bsweet! Any ideas what might be going on and how I can fix this? Here is the log file I get when I run Bsweet:

BeSweet v1.5b29 by DSPguru.
--------------------------
Using azid.dll v1.9 (b922) by Midas (midas@egon.gyaloglo.hu).
Using AC3enc.dll v1.20 (Feb 18 2004) by Fabrice Bellard (http://ffmpeg.org).

Logging start : 11/24/04 , 14:51:53.

BeSweet.exe -core( -input C:\BSWEET\VTS_01_1 - 0x81 - Audio - AC3 - 2ch - 48kHz - DRC - DELAY -66ms.ac3 -output C:\Documents and Settings\slades\My Documents\MISC_DOC\Stereo\BSWEET\VTS_01_1 - 0x81 - Audio - AC3 - 2ch - 48kHz - DRC - DELAY -66ms.ac3 -logfile C:\Documents and Settings\slades\My Documents\MISC_DOC\Stereo\BSWEET\VTS_01_1 - 0x81 - Audio - AC3 - 2ch - 48kHz - DRC - DELAY -66ms.log ) -azid( -s stereo -c normal -L -3db ) -ac3enc( -b 364 )

[00:00:00:000] +------- BeSweet -----
[00:00:00:000] | Input : C:\BSWEET\VTS_01_1 - 0x81 - Audio - AC3 - 2ch - 48kHz - DRC - DELAY -66ms.ac3
[00:00:00:000] | Output: C:\BSWEET\VTS_01_1 - 0x81 - Audio - AC3 - 2ch - 48kHz - DRC - DELAY -66ms.ac3
[00:00:00:000] | Floating-Point Process: No
Error 74: Bad configuration for AC3enc. Couldn't initialize.
Quiting...
[00:00:00:000] Conversion Completed !

Logging ends : 11/24/04 , 14:51:53.

Thanks,

HDD
Harddrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2004, 00:20   #2  |  Link
pacohaas
Audio Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 697
ac3enc is for ENcoding ac3's, i believe all you want to do is decode it to a wave file. try this one:

BeSweet.exe -core( -input "C:\BSWEET\VTS_01_1 - 0x81 - Audio - AC3 - 2ch - 48kHz - DRC - DELAY -66ms.ac3" -output "C:\Documents and Settings\slades\My Documents\MISC_DOC\Stereo\BSWEET\VTS_01_1 - 0x81 - Audio - AC3 - 2ch - 48kHz - DRC - DELAY -66ms.wav" -2ch -logfile "C:\Documents and Settings\slades\My Documents\MISC_DOC\Stereo\BSWEET\VTS_01_1 - 0x81 - Audio - AC3 - 2ch - 48kHz - DRC - DELAY -66ms.log" ) -azid( -s stereo -c normal -L -3db -g 0.90 ) -ssrc( --rate 44100 )

the --rate 44100 is so it will conform to an audio cd's sampling rate. Using the BeSweetGUI, make sure you check PCM WAVE as your output and check the SSRC to get the sample rate conversion going. The -g 0.90 you can do with or without depending on the source and your personal preference. I like to always put it in there to avoid clipping in loud tracks and to up the volume in quieter tracks.
__________________
{-n24-}
The Old Fair Use Homepage

Last edited by pacohaas; 25th November 2004 at 00:22.
pacohaas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2004, 19:15   #3  |  Link
Harddrive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 19
Well, I still can't get this to work using the BeLight GUI or the BeSweet GUI. All settings are as you suggested (output is WAV file, stereo mode, 44.1kHz sampling rate. Get the exact same error message in the log file.

I have not used a command line program in years, it will take some time but I will try that next. Thanks for your help on this. Seems like it should be easy and straight forward.

HDD
Harddrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2004, 19:38   #4  |  Link
Harddrive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 19
Found the problem

I was finally able to track the problem down to some errors in the input I was giving the BeSweet GUI. Chalk this up to my confusion in understanding how to tell the GUI what I wanted to do. The example command line was very helpfull - I fooled around with the GUI settings until I got the command line in the GUI to match the suggested one.

Thanks for your help!

HDD
Harddrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.