Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd May 2007, 22:07   #401  |  Link
Leak
ffdshow/AviSynth wrangler
 
Leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 2,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delerue View Post
Do you have any idea of how can I make it run faster?
Sorry, I've never used MVTools much - but maybe someone else reading this thread has a suggestion?

np: David Sylvian - Come Morning (Everything And Nothing (Disc 2))
__________________
now playing: [artist] - [track] ([album])
Leak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 03:26   #402  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,404
You could try using block size of 16 pixels and use MVFlowFPS instead so that you'll only need to do two MVAnalyse calls. Also use chroma=false, sharp=0 and pel=1 in MVAnalyse.

However, I still doubt that it would run in realtime.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 07:51   #403  |  Link
Delerue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
You could try using block size of 16 pixels and use MVFlowFPS instead so that you'll only need to do two MVAnalyse calls. Also use chroma=false, sharp=0 and pel=1 in MVAnalyse.

However, I still doubt that it would run in realtime.
Hmmm... It helped a little. But unfortunately not enough. It makes me think what the guys from Philips did to make the TrimensionDNM so fast. It's sad that we must use the bad WinDVD to see it working, and always limited to MPEG2.

Thanks, guys.
Delerue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 07:53   #404  |  Link
actionman133
Movie buff & shine
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Logan, the only hole above ground.
Posts: 257
I can run sub-DVD resolution video in realtime with MVTools. I use these parameters:

blksize = 16
pel = 1
search = 1 (or whatever is the lowest option)
searchparam = 1

I only do two passes using idx (apparently it's faster that way) and use MVFlowFPS for realtime framerate conversion as a preview. I wouldn't use it for anything else though (I strictly use search = 3 with a high searchparam when I actually convert).
__________________
I'm a boxer who can Bob () & Weave (). I like to Overlay () punches and Blur () his vision to ShowFiveVersions (). My KO punch will always Pulldown ().TimeStretch () and all he will hear is Tone ().
actionman133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2007, 17:03   #405  |  Link
Terranigma
*Space Reserved*
 
Terranigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 953
Fizick, I have a question for you Here =P
Terranigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2007, 19:35   #406  |  Link
Fizick
AviSynth plugger
 
Fizick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Russia
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terranigma View Post
Which would be more efficient to use? DCT 1 or 2?
Code:
1 - use block DCT instead of spatial data (slow);
2 - mixed spatial and DCT data; weight is dependent on mean frame luma difference;
Would mode 2 be combining the spatial and DCT data for a frame, or would it decide whether or not to use spatial or DCT data on a per-frame basis? If it combines and use both the spatial and DCT data for a frame, rather than being adaptive with it and having it choose which it thinks would be more suitable, then obviously mode 2 would be more efficient. Basically I need a better understanding of how DCT 2 works.
Algo:
Firstly we caclulate mean luma change between current and reference frames per pixel.

then we calculate spatial SAD for every block.
then we calculate DCT SAD for this block (with some empirical correction of reduced DC component)
then we calculate weighted result: the more is mean luma difference, the more weight of DCT. Dct and spatial weights are equal for mean LumaChange=8 (empiricaly).

Current Implementation is not perfect: mean luma change calculated not quite for whole frame, there are some rounding error, etc.

Adaptive switchin is hard to impement: spatial and dct SAD are not coinside, so some osclillation.

All other DCT modes are experimental too (mode dct=3 has a bug, it will be fixed soon in new beta).
Chroma planes is always normal spatial SAD.
The aim was to provide correct motion estimation for bad sources with global and local luma flicker (old cartoon film).
The best was dct=1. But for normal sources the pure dct mode sometimes get not corect motion vectors (ignore luma change).

so dct=2 is usually better.
But it is slow. Sometimes I prefer dct=4. but usually use old good dct=0
__________________
My Avisynth plugins are now at http://avisynth.org.ru and mirror at http://avisynth.nl/users/fizick
I usually do not provide a technical support in private messages.
Fizick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2007, 19:58   #407  |  Link
Terranigma
*Space Reserved*
 
Terranigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 953
Thanks for that thorough explaination. I really appreciate it
Terranigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2007, 15:13   #408  |  Link
Fizick
AviSynth plugger
 
Fizick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Russia
Posts: 2,183
Released MVTools v1.6.4
MVAnalyse: modified vectors order for Enhausted search (expanding squares).
MVAnalyse: fixed bug with dct=3.
MVFlowFps, MVFlowFPS2, MVFlowInter: now blend frames with bad motion estimaton (at scenechanges, flashes).
MVFlowFps, MVFlowFPS2: fixed bug with thSAD parameter (and correspondent mask).


to moderator: please rename this thread to " MVTools" (without version number)
__________________
My Avisynth plugins are now at http://avisynth.org.ru and mirror at http://avisynth.nl/users/fizick
I usually do not provide a technical support in private messages.

Last edited by Fizick; 6th June 2007 at 15:16.
Fizick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2007, 15:20   #409  |  Link
Terranigma
*Space Reserved*
 
Terranigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 953
Thanks for the update Fizick. I'll be definately getting this.
Terranigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2007, 17:40   #410  |  Link
Fizick
AviSynth plugger
 
Fizick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Russia
Posts: 2,183
Release v1.7.0 beta
MVAnalyse: added blksizeV and overlapV parameters for non-square blocks 8x4 and 16x8.

(Many subroutines were changed, so some bugs may be introduced.)
__________________
My Avisynth plugins are now at http://avisynth.org.ru and mirror at http://avisynth.nl/users/fizick
I usually do not provide a technical support in private messages.
Fizick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2007, 18:16   #411  |  Link
Terranigma
*Space Reserved*
 
Terranigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 953
Thanks once again.
Terranigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2007, 15:26   #412  |  Link
Terranigma
*Space Reserved*
 
Terranigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 953
Fizick, will there be an update to MVDenoise whereas it'd be possible to specify overlap values?
Terranigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2007, 16:30   #413  |  Link
Fizick
AviSynth plugger
 
Fizick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Russia
Posts: 2,183
no,
at least not from me.

Now I (will) work on more correct occlusion mask and moving object halo reduction.
Fizick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2007, 21:21   #414  |  Link
Delerue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizick View Post
Now I (will) work on more correct occlusion mask and moving object halo reduction.
Cool, man. This is certainly the most important thing to be improved.

BTW, do you know TrimensionDNM algorithm? Maybe you could learn a lot if you get some material about it, and so improve your MVFlowFPS script.
Delerue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2007, 21:47   #415  |  Link
Fizick
AviSynth plugger
 
Fizick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Russia
Posts: 2,183
Delerue, do YOU know TrimensionDNM algorithm?
Or can you provide frame by frame pictures with it?
It outputs to overlay, but may be somebody can capture somehow ...
But I am afraid, that it is very simple and we can not learn anythig from it.
__________________
My Avisynth plugins are now at http://avisynth.org.ru and mirror at http://avisynth.nl/users/fizick
I usually do not provide a technical support in private messages.
Fizick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2007, 12:42   #416  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,404
Out of interest, why is motion rather rarely detected in the very bottom of the frame compared to the top? (the same seems to happen on the right side, not much motion detected there)


__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...

Last edited by Boulder; 17th June 2007 at 13:29. Reason: added the note about the right side, added the second screenshot
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2007, 15:43   #417  |  Link
Terranigma
*Space Reserved*
 
Terranigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizick View Post
no,
at least not from me.
Just thought i'd ask. I find it to be better than mvdegrain because mvdegrain not only removes noise, but grain, while denoise seems to just remove noise like how i'd like it to. I'd like to retain that grain, because for me it seems to boost overall quality.

otoh, could you recommend a great filter that is great @ removing noise but keeping the grain?
Terranigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2007, 16:32   #418  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terranigma View Post
mvdegrain not only removes noise, but grain, while denoise seems to just remove noise
[...]
otoh, could you recommend a great filter that is great @ removing noise but keeping the grain?
Technically, grain is just noise. It has its certain characteristics, which are different from encoder's noise, but in the end it's just noise.

However you can quite easily "rebuild" MVDenoise to use overlapped blocks. Just compensate, interleave, temporalsoften or ttempsmooth the interleave, then selectevery again. It's already done in MCNR_simple2/3, you can copy&paste it from there.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2007, 02:01   #419  |  Link
Delerue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizick View Post
Delerue, do YOU know TrimensionDNM algorithm?
I don't. Sorry. I only use it, and I really love it. The sad things: 1 - we have to pay (or use for 30 days only); 2 - only works with MPEG2; 3 - only works with WinDVD (would be REALLY great if someone tell us a way to use it without WinDVD). But the result is amazing. To give you an ideia, The Matrix DVD consumes something around 8% of my CPU with TrimensionDNM enable. But MVFlowFPS script simply can't do the job, because it uses more than 50% (remembering that I have a dual-core CPU, but unfortunately MVTools works only in single-thread). The image quality of TrimensionDNM is another thing to consider: almost no artifact or moving object halo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizick View Post
Or can you provide frame by frame pictures with it?[ It outputs to overlay, but may be somebody can capture somehow ...
I can capture frame by frame with TrimensionDNM disable, but when I enable I got only green pictures.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizick View Post
But I am afraid, that it is very simple and we can not learn anythig from it.
Yeah... very sad. This algorithm drives me crazy.

Last edited by Delerue; 20th June 2007 at 02:07.
Delerue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2007, 15:03   #420  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Out of interest, why is motion rather rarely detected in the very bottom of the frame compared to the top? (the same seems to happen on the right side, not much motion detected there)


Fizick, do you happen to know the reason? The MVAnalyse code is

Code:
vbw1=MVAnalyse(isb=true,truemotion=true,delta=1,pel=2,chroma=false,blksize=16,idx=1,sharp=2,overlap=8)
vfw1=MVAnalyse(isb=false,truemotion=true,delta=1,pel=2,chroma=false,blksize=16,idx=1,sharp=2,overlap=8)
vbw2=MVAnalyse(isb=true,truemotion=true,delta=2,pel=2,chroma=false,blksize=16,idx=1,sharp=2,overlap=8)
vfw2=MVAnalyse(isb=false,truemotion=true,delta=2,pel=2,chroma=false,blksize=16,idx=1,sharp=2,overlap=8)
And then MVShow, of course.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.