Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd September 2004, 04:29   #1  |  Link
spawnerlista
Registered User
 
spawnerlista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 120
Best way to encode MPEG2 with VBR and fit on DVD-R

I have a DV (AVI) movie with 2 hour 05 minutes.
I wanna convert this AVI (audio and video) to a 4.2GB MPEG file to author on Adobe Encore DVD my movie.
I have tried TMPGEnc with Wizard. Have setted to fit the movie to 95% of my DVD5 DVD-R but the quality it is not so good. I Have used VBR on TMPG. There is a way to make it better?
spawnerlista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2004, 06:37   #2  |  Link
dragongodz
....
 
dragongodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,797
you may need to edit the settings to improve quality. the Tmpg section is where to go for specific questions about using it.

only other option is to try a different program such as QuEnc, CCE, MainConcept Encoder etc.
dragongodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2004, 07:08   #3  |  Link
spawnerlista
Registered User
 
spawnerlista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 120
My big problem is make a high quality MPEG2 file and then create a DVD that fits on DVD5. When I change some options on TMPGEnc, I have files with 5.5GB...
spawnerlista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2004, 11:46   #4  |  Link
dragongodz
....
 
dragongodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,797
Quote:
the Tmpg section is where to go for specific questions about using it.
dragongodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2004, 12:44   #5  |  Link
spawnerlista
Registered User
 
spawnerlista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 120
Okay. I just wanna know if there is another option to create a MPEG2 file setting the maximum size of the file.
spawnerlista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2004, 14:28   #6  |  Link
dragongodz
....
 
dragongodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,797
Quote:
only other option is to try a different program such as QuEnc, CCE, MainConcept Encoder etc.
though they all use bitrate and not target size. so you need to use a bitrate calculater.
dragongodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2004, 13:21   #7  |  Link
spawnerlista
Registered User
 
spawnerlista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 120
And do you know a encoder board that I can use to fast encode, more than using processor, a DV file?
spawnerlista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2004, 19:47   #8  |  Link
Encoder Master
MoleVCD Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 94
Try this:

http://kvcd.net/forum/viewforum.php?...f60cb2b915fc1f

This one of the best and fastest Encoder out now.
Encoder Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2004, 04:58   #9  |  Link
dragongodz
....
 
dragongodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,797
if he isnt interested in trying QuEnc why would he want to try freeenc ?

Quote:
do you know a encoder board that I can use to fast encode, more than using processor, a DV file?
there is a "capturing video" section on this forum aswell. the guys there would be the best to ask.
dragongodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2004, 21:27   #10  |  Link
spawnerlista
Registered User
 
spawnerlista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 120
My question is not capture is encode. An encoder board. Not capture.
spawnerlista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2004, 23:26   #11  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
I think You posted here, cos You want to do it with FreeWare.

So You have this choices:

QuEnc by Nic and Dragongodz
FreeEnc by vmesquita
MEncoder (+ one of the GUIs like DRPEnc)
NuEnc by Peter Cheat

You must do a 2PassEncode for a good result.
Or You can try EasySVCD/DVD to do a Prediction for FreeEnc and QuEnc.

Or You choose PayWare. This will be then this:

Cinema Craft Encoder
TMPGEnc Plus
Mainconcept Encoder

I recommend You CCE Basic for around 60 Bugs.
To get more Infos go to the forums of each program.
Amnon82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2004, 01:46   #12  |  Link
dragongodz
....
 
dragongodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,797
Quote:
My question is not capture is encode. An encoder board. Not capture.
yes i know but i thought the guys in the capture section(or even general hardware) may have more of an idea.

well i have given plenty of options, i have nothing more to add.

Quote:
CCE Basic for around 60 Bugs
are beetles ok ?
dragongodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2004, 18:03   #13  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,547
one option is to encode at 352x480 or 352x576. this is DVD compliant.

also, you can denoise your DV video. just enough to kill the worst of the grain.
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.