Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > (Auto) Gordian Knot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th November 2003, 11:40   #201  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
@Richie_Rich

Good findings! Was ffdshow installed on both PCs ? I suspect that it might cause problems in some cases (well it's probably alpha release you have there). So if you could try uninstalling it from problematic system and just use native filter from DivX and report back here - that'd be useful to know.

@guspasho

It is _important_ that you use DVDDecrypter which either leaves IFO file or generates stream text info file. Without those files GKIF4U cannot function properly.

@chain999

Do you still have interlace.log file for those 100Mb files ? I'd like to have a look at them. Can you send it to me please (via email which is provided in GKIF4U)? I still think that if it's reported as FILM then it should be FILM as it has that distinct pattern of 2 out of five interlaced frames. Or may be source is too short and it's just a coincidence that there are not more that 2 interlaced frames in a row.
Or and btw, are you using stream info file which correctly describes source, i.e. PAL or NTSC (I remember you were faking it).
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 11:48   #202  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Quote:

Ninja Scroll - PAL 25fps 4:3
In this movie the second line of the subtitles is missing This does not happen if i use gordian knot.
Oh, that's new I'm not really an expert in subtitles, so does anyone have an idea why this might happen ?

Quote:

Treasure planet - PAL 24fps 16:9
In this movie the video and audio was badly out of sync The setting was CBR 128. And yes it works fine if i do it with g-knot.
Was the movie split into parts ? If yes, then was the whole movie ok before split? Does this happen when you use VBR MP3 or AC3 sound on the same source? More tests of this one would be really helpful.

Quote:

Enemy of the state - PAL 25fps 16:9
The program would not accept the input files This was the error: list index out of bounds (2)
Can you post the contents of "VTS_01 - Stream Information.txt" here please?
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 11:54   #203  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally posted by MediaMage

did a 2 cd encode of charlies angels 2
out came 2 perfectly 700 mb files
BUT also a third cd sized 3 mb
Can you tell me what's the final size of the whole avi before the split? May be it was oversized a bit...
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 12:06   #204  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Re: CD Splitting & gkitfast4u 0.32 alpha

Quote:
Originally posted by corum1234
Unsplit file has 202401 frames
CD1 has 102659 frames (log shows VirtualDub.subset.AddRange(0,102659);
CD2 has 99417 frames (log shows VirtualDub.subset.AddRange(102659,99417);
CD1+CD2 = 202076, therefore a loss of 325 frames
hm... what's the exact size (in bytes) of the first, second CD and the original file ?

Here is my guess: as we split on a key frame and first 700Mb had keyframe somewhat considerably below 700Mb (that's why I'm asking about it's size) then that last part was supposed to be split as in case with MediaMage, but didn't because I'm not checking what was the size of the part and just assume that it's 700Mb...

Im curious if you could run the splitting script from log file with changed this line:
VirtualDub.subset.AddRange(102659,99417);
but instead of 99417 have 99742 (with additional 325 frames) and see if it's being split properly...
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 12:07   #205  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally posted by zerocoolnl
@len0x

I'm missing one option(that's not much, isn't it )
'Shut down windows when done'

I know that 2k/XP has shutdown.exe
and in Win98 is it: c:/windows/rundll32.exe user,exitwindows
let's see what I can do
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 18:39   #206  |  Link
MediaMage
The X in DivX
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 76
@lenOx:

final size was: 1.471.152.128 Bytes (therefore 3 MB to big for 2x700 mb)
calculated was(if i add these 3:

[11.11.2002 22:33:01] Analyzing source.
[11.11.2002 22:40:15] Source has percetange of interlacing: 0,21
[11.11.2002 22:40:15] Source is considered to be progressive.
[11.11.2002 22:40:16] Found 154075 frames
[11.11.2002 22:40:16] Audio size: 295824864
[11.11.2002 22:40:16] Overhead: 1829632
[11.11.2002 22:40:16] Video Size: 1170351904
[11.11.2002 22:40:16] Running compressability test.
[11.11.2002 22:40:16] Writing the following script to C:\tmp\charlies_comptest.avs)

1.468.006.400
that were exactly the 3 mb that the "third cd" used.

maybe calculated the overhead wrong?
uses AC3 Soundtrack

Final Cuttings:

VirtualDub.subset.AddRange(0,75874);
VirtualDub.subset.AddRange(75874,77582);
VirtualDub.subset.AddRange(153456,618);

618 frames in cd3

can post of course the whole log
__________________
AutoGK rulez!
MediaMage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 18:55   #207  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
@MediaMage

Do you still have just video file ("charlies_movie.avi" without audio)? If yes, what's the exact size of it? (I'm trying to see if xvid produces oversized file or overhead calculations were wrong...)
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 18:57   #208  |  Link
PeebZ
Registered User
 
PeebZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Auckland
Posts: 9
oversized

Hi,
I tried 2Fast2Furious with gkitfasy4u V0.32 (NTSC - 720x480 - 4:3 Normal - 29.997fps).
Aiming for 700Mb I recieved a final size being 772Mb once completed & muxed
here is the log if you are interested.
Resolution and audio settings were both left as automatic.

edit..
the final size of the movie without audio is 674Mb
edit..

PeebZ

Last edited by PeebZ; 12th November 2003 at 19:02.
PeebZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 19:13   #209  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
@PeebZ

OK, I know what's going on. I'm gonna release 0.33 which should fix problem of oversizing for everyone.

*EDIT* 0.33 is up. Can everyone having oversize problems try it and report here please.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ

Last edited by len0x; 12th November 2003 at 19:23.
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 19:42   #210  |  Link
XenoDaSouljah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
@len0x

Quote:
Was the movie split into parts ? If yes, then was the whole movie ok before split? Does this happen when you use VBR MP3 or AC3 sound on the same source? More tests of this one would be really helpful.
No it was a single 700mb xvid rip. Size was exactly 700mb. No splitting. Tonight i will run one with ac3 or vbr mp3 (or both).

Quote:
Can you post the contents of "VTS_01 - Stream Information.txt" here please?
Code:
0x20 - Subtitle - English / LBA: 16774 / PTS: 00:00:45.880 / Delay: 45600ms
0x21 - Subtitle - Svenska / LBA: 16825 / PTS: 00:00:46.040 / Delay: 45760ms
0x22 - Subtitle - Norsk / LBA: 16831 / PTS: 00:00:46.080 / Delay: 45800ms
0x23 - Subtitle - Dansk / LBA: 18101 / PTS: 00:00:49.040 / Delay: 48760ms
0x24 - Subtitle - Suomi / LBA: 13745 / PTS: 00:00:38.560 / Delay: 38280ms
0x25 - Subtitle - Nederlands / LBA: 13632 / PTS: 00:00:38.280 / Delay: 38000ms
0x26 - Subtitle - English / LBA: 16424 / PTS: 00:00:44.680 / Delay: 44400ms
0x27 - Subtitle / LBA: 16775 / PTS: 00:00:45.880 / Delay: 45600ms
0x28 - Subtitle / LBA: 16827 / PTS: 00:00:46.040 / Delay: 45760ms
0x29 - Subtitle / LBA: 16832 / PTS: 00:00:46.080 / Delay: 45800ms
0x2A - Subtitle / LBA: 18158 / PTS: 00:00:49.040 / Delay: 48760ms
0x2B - Subtitle / LBA: 13749 / PTS: 00:00:38.560 / Delay: 38280ms
0x2C - Subtitle / LBA: 13636 / PTS: 00:00:38.280 / Delay: 38000ms
0x2D - Subtitle / LBA: 16425 / PTS: 00:00:44.680 / Delay: 44400ms
0x80 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / English / LBA: 28 / PTS: 00:00:00.280 / Delay: 0ms
0xE0 - Video - MPEG-2 / 720x576 (PAL) / 16:9 / Letterboxed / LBA: 1 / PTS: 00:00:00.280 / Delay: 0ms
Hopefully this helps.
XenoDaSouljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 19:47   #211  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally posted by XenoDaSouljah
Hopefully this helps.
Yes, I'm able to reproduce it here. Will have a look. Thanks.

*EDIT* What I've spotted immediately though - there is no language description for the last 7 subtitles... How come I wonder... Do they have those subs on DVD ?
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ

Last edited by len0x; 12th November 2003 at 19:49.
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 19:53   #212  |  Link
XenoDaSouljah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
no, they dont appear on the dvd menu . There is no way to select them
XenoDaSouljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 19:57   #213  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally posted by XenoDaSouljah
no, they dont appear on the dvd menu . There is no way to select them
Hm... which version of DVDDecrypter did you use?
If it's the latest one, then I suggest you report this bug in Decrypting forum. But I will do a workaround anyway
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 20:03   #214  |  Link
XenoDaSouljah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
I use Dvd Decrypter version 3.1.7.0

Ok will do
XenoDaSouljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 20:56   #215  |  Link
MediaMage
The X in DivX
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 76
@lenOx:

oversizing came from xvid:

movie size without audio was:

1.173.477.376
--> 3mb to big!

can┤t retry that one, you have to rely oh the other ppl here that got the same prob!
__________________
AutoGK rulez!
MediaMage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 23:16   #216  |  Link
((( atom )))
noise is all around us...
 
((( atom )))'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: - deep within -
Posts: 466
@len0x

i must admin i didn't follow the enitre thread, since i have extremely little time at the moment due to a tough project i am involved in.

that is also the very reason why your app just came right in time. all i can do atm is click and leave

still i have a wish and a question and so i'll just post them and hope not to have already missed the answers...

i would have a very very big wish: a second audio track.
supposingly this has been discussed here before, but - really sorry - i wouldn't find the time for the reading.

one other question i am having is: how comes, you don't use convolution3d?
__________________
((( atom )))
((( atom ))) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2003, 02:53   #217  |  Link
XenoDaSouljah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 64
@len0x

Quote:
Was the movie split into parts ? If yes, then was the whole movie ok before split? Does this happen when you use VBR MP3 or AC3 sound on the same source? More tests of this one would be really helpful.
Ok i encodec the movie again (treasure planet). This time i choosed for 2cd's and ac3 audio. Results: Badly out of sync.
Before splitting it is out of sync and after.

Here is the log:

Code:
[11/11/2003 8:15:20 PM] Started encoding.
[11/11/2003 8:15:20 PM] Demuxing and indexing.
[11/11/2003 8:17:15 PM] Indexing subtitles.
[11/11/2003 8:18:55 PM] Analyzing source.
[11/11/2003 8:21:45 PM] Source has percentage of interlacing: 0.47
[11/11/2003 8:21:45 PM] Source is considered to be progressive.
[11/11/2003 8:21:46 PM] Found 137537 frames
[11/11/2003 8:21:46 PM] Audio size: 307991040
[11/11/2003 8:21:46 PM] Overhead: 1633280
[11/11/2003 8:21:46 PM] Video Size: 1158382080
[11/11/2003 8:21:46 PM] Running compressebility test.
[11/11/2003 8:32:03 PM] Compressebility percentage is: 66.40
[11/11/2003 8:32:03 PM] New width is : 672
[11/11/2003 8:32:03 PM] Predicted comptest value is: 71.84
[11/11/2003 8:32:03 PM] Running first pass.
[11/11/2003 11:28:20 PM] Expected quality of first pass size: 78.61
[11/11/2003 11:28:20 PM] Running second pass.
[11/12/2003 2:26:50 AM] Muxing Audio.
[11/12/2003 2:28:55 AM] Splitting video into: F:\trease planet\tp.CD1.avi
[11/12/2003 2:29:57 AM] Splitting video into: F:\trease planet\tp.CD2.avi
[11/12/2003 2:30:55 AM] Finished encoding.
and the dvd decrypter file:

Code:
0x20 - Subtitle - English / Normal Captions / LBA: 16982 / PTS: 00:00:28.407 / Delay: 28120ms
0x21 - Subtitle - Franšais / Normal Captions / LBA: 14189 / PTS: 00:00:21.287 / Delay: 21000ms
0x22 - Subtitle - Nederlands / Normal Captions / LBA: 17188 / PTS: 00:00:28.967 / Delay: 28680ms
0x23 - Subtitle - Franšais / Forced / LBA: 5 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: 0ms
0x24 - Subtitle - Nederlands / Forced / LBA: 6 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: 0ms
0x25 - Subtitle - Franšais / Normal Director's Comments / LBA: 6341 / PTS: 00:00:02.727 / Delay: 2440ms
0x26 - Subtitle - Nederlands / Normal Director's Comments / LBA: 6344 / PTS: 00:00:02.727 / Delay: 2440ms
0x80 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / English / LBA: 5323 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: 0ms
0x81 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / Franšais / LBA: 5324 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: 0ms
0x82 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / Nederlands / LBA: 5325 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: 0ms
0x83 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / Nederlands / LBA: 5326 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: 0ms
0x84 - Audio - AC3 / 2ch / 48kHz / DRC / English - Director's Comments / LBA: 5327 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: 0ms
0xE0 - Video - MPEG-2 / 720x576 (PAL) / 16:9 / Letterboxed / LBA: 4799 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: 0ms
Hopefully this helps and you can solve the problem. Besides all this, it is a really great program

Oh yeah i have done this with 0.33 alpha.And the splitting worked fine for me, and the movie wasnt oversized.

Last edited by XenoDaSouljah; 13th November 2003 at 04:30.
XenoDaSouljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2003, 09:06   #218  |  Link
PeebZ
Registered User
 
PeebZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Auckland
Posts: 9
@ len0x,

oversizing issue that I experienced has indeed been resolved with 0.33 relese. Nice !!

PeebZ
PeebZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2003, 11:54   #219  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
discussion about name for GKIF4U

I've started this thread: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=64971
everybody's welcome to join me there
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2003, 12:04   #220  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally posted by ((( atom )))

i would have a very very big wish: a second audio track.
supposingly this has been discussed here before, but - really sorry - i wouldn't find the time for the reading.
this was on my todo list. and it'll be done eventually. But before I have several milestones: first stable release, divx5 support, job queue support.

Quote:
Originally posted by ((( atom )))

one other question i am having is: how comes, you don't use convolution3d?
Lets don't start discussion about filters here. Everyone has his own preferences about it. What yoy missed though - a couple of time in this thread I mentioned that I'm gonna do a config file which you can edit manually and which contains section for avs script like: deinterlace, ivtc, noise filters, resize. So everyone who uses the same settings all te time can put whatever he wants. This will have limited support from me though
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.