Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > One click suites for DVD backup and DVD creation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd February 2003, 20:30   #1  |  Link
red321
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 44
100% still recompresses ??

Hi,

Just ran throught MIB 2, where the movie is small enough to allow 100% on th emain movie, and 30% on the extras.

I expected that the MOvie would rattle through uncompressed, as it does in dvd2one, but it looks as if it was run through like any other compression. Anyone confirm / deny this ?
red321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2003, 20:37   #2  |  Link
mrbass
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,034
I confirm this ...to not be true. It just moves it over to the .pdi files....Proof is when I usually transcode (e.g. 80%) I see it flucate (speed that is) between 700KB/sec to 1.5MB/sec. When I have done 100% (done it 20 times or so ..just testing subs, audio, navigation, etc. does whole thing in about 20 mins) I get a speed of 18MB/sec to 20MB/sec.

One other thing is I've looked at the original and 100% transcoded and it's 100% like the original.
mrbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2003, 20:47   #3  |  Link
red321
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 44
Thanks for the reply. That is what I expected, but checking The 2nd Title set on MIB2, it has decreased in size by about 150M, even though I didnt strip anything (intentionally) and the compression rate was 100%.

I will check it out again.

UPDATE : Ran it again, only with the main movie, and it whistled through unchanged. odd !

Last edited by red321; 22nd February 2003 at 21:39.
red321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2003, 20:49   #4  |  Link
MackemX
..DVD GOD..
 
MackemX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,838
did it take the same amount of time to complete or was it quicker?

doing Stuart Little 1 and I'm sure it was @100% for the movie yet it took longer than a 2 hour movie @70% to complete

If it wasn't 100% it was quite high, so the higher the % the slower it must go

Is this true or was it just a one off?

surely @100% it should just extract audio & subs and be a lot faster

Last edited by MackemX; 22nd February 2003 at 20:51.
MackemX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2003, 20:51   #5  |  Link
int 21h
Still Laughing
 
int 21h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Around
Posts: 1,312
If it is recompressing, it goes the same speed no matter if its 20% or if its 80%.
int 21h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2003, 20:53   #6  |  Link
mrbass
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,034
Quote:
Originally posted by int 21h
If it is recompressing, it goes the same speed no matter if its 20% or if its 80%.
correct....99% will take just as long as 30%. Only 100% is it telling it to not transcode.
mrbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2003, 21:03   #7  |  Link
MackemX
..DVD GOD..
 
MackemX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,838
I musta had mine darn pretty close to 100% as I never normally set the menus to less than 60%

DOH!, cudda sacrificed that little extra on menu's to make main movie 100%

thanks for info guys
MackemX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2003, 18:25   #8  |  Link
red321
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 44
Ok,

After much messing around I get these results.

1) Deselect all the extras, set the main movie to 100% - no recompression

2) Deselect most of the extras, set the main movie to 100% - no recompression.

3) Deselect most of the extras, set the main movie to 100%, and then change one of the extras compression setting away from the default -
recompression !

So I cannot produce a 100% main movie without recompression, unless I cut out enough extras to allow the Main movie to be expanded back to 100%, without changing the compression on the remaining extras.

Looks like a bug

Last edited by red321; 23rd February 2003 at 18:35.
red321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2003, 18:30   #9  |  Link
MackemX
..DVD GOD..
 
MackemX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,838
Quote:
Originally posted by red321
Ok,

After much messing around I get these results.

1) Deselect all the extras, set the main movie to 100% - no recompression

2) Deselect most of the extras, set the main movie to 100% - no recompression.

3) Deselect most of the extras, set the main movie to 100%, and then change one of the extras compression setting away from the default -
recompression !

So I cannot produce a 100% main movie without recompression, unless I cut out enough extras to allow the Main movie to be expanded back to 100%, without changing the compression on the remaining extras.

Look slke a bug
so I musta set Stuart Little to 100% as the menus weren't 100%, this is what I mentioned in my earlier post as I was sure I set it to 100% for the main movie, but this confirms I did

thanks for info
MackemX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2003, 17:37   #10  |  Link
paranoidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2
I have not yet managed to get movie without transcoding. Yes, I have set the slider to 100% and tried to avoid bugs which MisterX described. There isn't just any way to do that... they should fix this ASAP :P
paranoidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.