Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > IFO/VOB Editors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th October 2002, 00:29   #1  |  Link
amishbob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1
Ifoedit and Windows XP

I was pulling my hair out over why Ifoedit does not work for me until I read other posts that explained that it doesn't work with Windows XP. I've tried to run the programs by simply going under properties and changing it to run on Windows NT but that doesn't work either. The errors I get on Windows XP read something like this: "error opening C:/jazz_10/viedeo_ts/video_ts.ifo Seems it doesn't exist" Another another error I get when trying to play the vob files is: "no valid dvd-video volume could be located". My question is when will Ifoedit support Windows XP if it doesn't alreay in the newest version that I just downloaded. Also are there any other programs that work like Ifoedit that work with XP. I have a brand new Dell Precision 8200 loaded. Can I replace windows XP with Windows 2000 professional from my old computer or will that screw everything up on my hard drive. Any help is greatly appreciated. Keep up the good work.

-matt
amishbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2002, 00:48   #2  |  Link
tumbar
the "Master's" apprentice
 
tumbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: South West Texas
Posts: 87
The errors I get on Windows XP read something like this: "error opening C:/jazz_10/viedeo_ts/video_ts.ifo Seems it doesn't exist"

this is a normal warning, occurs when you are done saving vobs and right before saving vob pointers. Just press okay and let process continue. Then close Ifo edit. Reopen program and go to new video_TS ifo and get VTS sectors, press yes or okay to each prompt.

Now burn the new VIDEO_TS and an empty AUDIO_TS with nero udaf/iso mode.

I use ifoedit and windows xp. Have a 2.4 gig dell 4500 dimension, just out of the box last week. One heck of a deal!

regards Jim
__________________
On your grave marker they'll put.... (year of birth - year of death).

What are you doing with your DASH?
tumbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2002, 04:39   #3  |  Link
lwdarling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 50
I've used every version of IFOedit since 0.6 on Windows XP without problem...

The other error message about no DVD volume just means that there is no DVD volume in your DVD-Rom drive. It appears on all OS's and you can ignore it...
lwdarling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2003, 00:38   #4  |  Link
Josephus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8
Tumbar: Amishbob is pointing to something else than you are referring
I have exactly the same problem as he does , and only on one system running XP.
My two other machines both with 2000 run properly.

I rip a DVD with DVD Decrypter (ifo mode) and after that i use ifoedit
to strip unneccesay streams.
As soon as i select strip streams, select the streams to keep and press ok it gives me the same error.
There is no way to continue, it will stop right there and then.
It does no stripping at all and therefore the problem seems to be with ifoedit and windows XP.

lwdarling: do you use it to strip streams too ??
Josephus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2003, 01:52   #5  |  Link
Dre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 83
I've used IfoEdit on WinXP without any problems.
Dre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2003, 02:02   #6  |  Link
Josephus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8
Hi Dre ...

I've found the culprit ...

It is not Ifoedit that is behaving badly under XP , it turns out that dvddecrypter's ifo mode does not work properly under Win XP.
I used file modus with an older version of dvddecrypter and then ifoedit did run properly and stripped the streams as supposed.
<clouseau voice> So the case is solved you know </clouseau voice>
Josephus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2003, 11:47   #7  |  Link
ericelza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 36
I am using win xp pro and the only problem i have with ifoedit is remuxing m2v files. That wont work. Otherwise the program works fine.
ericelza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2003, 13:23   #8  |  Link
Josephus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8
Hi Eric ..

this is a local problem i guess , i use ifoedit on everything running XP and all other functionality works as supposed.
So perhaps check and doublecheck your setup (perhaps codecs or so) because muxing under xp is working here.
The only problem i reported didn't turn out to be a ifoedit problem but like i wrote it is caused by dvddecrypter's ifo mode.

success ermee vriend ;-)
Josephus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.