Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th September 2002, 11:12   #1  |  Link
Nic
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,285
My Windows Media 9 Encoder

Here's my quick attempt at a Windows Media Encoder. It takes .avs files as the input & is a bit easier to setup. & hopefully it might work on Win98 (??)

http://nic.dnsalias.com/WMNicEnc.zip
(21kb)

You will need the Windows Media 9 codecs, you will have got these if you have Windows Media Player 9 or Windows Media Encoder 9 installed. If you dont have them installed then download & run:
http://nic.dnsalias.com/wmfdist.exe
(3.7mb)

Hope it works ok for you & helps with testing of the new WM codec.

Cheers,
-Nic
Nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2002, 13:12   #2  |  Link
zulu
Registered User
 
zulu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany, KS
Posts: 269
hey nic,
many thanx!

finally i can test an avs with wm9.
your tool looks very promissing.

a few questions though:

- what does "quality" in the video options mean?
- the quality textbox in the vbr frame is always enabled, even if i don't select quality vbr. is this a bug?

i'll run a test now. thanks again.
__________________
::zulu's devpage::
zulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2002, 13:17   #3  |  Link
Nic
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,285
Quality sets the percentage quality of the encode. Always have set to 100% unless you are getting dropped frames at low bitrate.

The second point is probably a GUI bug

Good luck with it

Cheers,
-Nic
Nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2002, 17:47   #4  |  Link
trbarry
Registered User
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 2,092
Nic -

Very extremely cool!

If this allows me to go right from HDTV to WME on my Win/Me box it will be a real gem.

Thanks,

- Tom
trbarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2002, 17:59   #5  |  Link
atracus
Registered User
 
atracus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 93
2 questions

Nic,
great work, but...

a. how can I feed (via avisynth) 6x wav's or 1x ac3 to the encoder? is there a particular syntax which you'd suggest to me? I know how to mux a single .wav, but I have no clue on how to do it for Multichannel 5.1 encoding... of course it's possible with MS WMEnc, but NOT with AVISynth.

b. concerning the "VBR Options" form: does the "Use VBR" flag + "Uncostrained" refer to Video only, or to both Video and Audio? My point, you see, is that I'd like to use Uncostrained on both of them (with the 5.1 channels output).

thanks in advance

[atx]
atracus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2002, 19:08   #6  |  Link
mtrooper
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Very nice and when it gets 5.1 support it's gonna be great!

Btw: offtopic for this thread, really, but: is there any way to mux wm9 audio+divx 5 or am I wishing for something unreachable?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2002, 19:48   #7  |  Link
Nic
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,285
The 5.1 audio is something im interested in too, ill have to look up how to do that though...

WMA is quite VBR even in CBR mode, hence cant be used in AVI files. But maybe WMA9 is proper CBR & can be used (?) Someone needs to test it, but I very much doubt its true CBR.

Unconstrained only deals with the video VBR mode & means that there is no ceiling bitare used when encoding in VBR mode (i.e. if it thinks it need 2Mbit to encode the scene it will use it, even if you've specified an average of 600k)

Cheers,
-Nic
Nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2002, 19:53   #8  |  Link
mtrooper
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I did test 192kbit 5.1 CBR audio. Muxed it with divx 5.02 and well, result is interesting: first few seconds all is great and then it's strating to get out of synch. I shall test it more when I find some more time to do it, for now I'm was just wondering if anyone else did mux it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2002, 21:43   #9  |  Link
huch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
I haven't tried this yet, but for those who's interested in 6 channel WMA9Pro with this tool, you can try to encode video with this tool and audio with WME9 separately and use "Windows Media Stream Editor", part of WME9, to mux them.
huch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 06:03   #10  |  Link
Dali Lama
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 331
Re: My Windows Media 9 Encoder

Quote:
Originally posted by Nic

You will need the Windows Media 9 codecs, you will have got these if you have Windows Media Player 9 or Windows Media Encoder 9 installed. If you dont have them installed then download & run:
http://nic.dnsalias.com/wmfdist.exe
(3.7mb)
So are you saying that I don't NEED WMP9 or WME9 to encode and playback WM9 files? That's awesome...but I think I'm wrong.

Bye,

Dali
Dali Lama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 06:18   #11  |  Link
-h
Kilted Yaksman
 
-h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,303
Wmfdist.exe contains some files that aren't actually needed - I dare say all you'd have to do is install the WMFSDK.inf file to enable encoding/decoding. That avoids installing the DRM stuff that's in there too.

Of course if you want the DRM stuff, you can install the drm.inf file which will give you such wonderful additions as "blackbox.dll". Then again I'm not sure whether the WM9 codecs will function without the DRM stuff, but I'd sure hope they would.

I'd experiment on this, but would rather not have it playing around on my system until I have it ghosted.

-h
-h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 06:49   #12  |  Link
Shamballa
Registered User
 
Shamballa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 8
mm how wmv calculate bitrate ? if i put 1200 i have i file whose done only 175 kilo....
Shamballa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 09:04   #13  |  Link
Nic
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,285
@-h: You'll scare people now Nice thought though, ill rip out all the WMV stuff from the archive and try & test what you can & cant have to get WM9 working.

@Dali:
Yup you only need install the codecs (wmfdist.exe), you can then playback & encode without installing the player/encoder. Unfortunatly Windows Media Player 6.4 doesn't like playing back WMV9, so I highly recommend Gabest's Windows Media Player Classic

Cheers,
-Nic
Nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 09:11   #14  |  Link
Koepi
Moderator
 
Koepi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,455
Nic!

What's up with "the other GUI", did you build a version which runs without sse2 now?

Btw., nice work on wm9encoder - I'd really like it if it's just a smaller installr necessary for the wm9 dlls...

Regards,
Koepi
Koepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 09:27   #15  |  Link
Nic
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,285
Well really weird as it is:
http://nic.dnsalias.com/WMF9.zip

is huge! at 4.7mb its far bigger than the normal wmfdist.exe but its got the same & less files in it! I dont know quite how that works, but still. I dont know how to make it much smaller than that (I suppose WinRAR would do the job) (uploading a 3mb WinRAR 3.0 version now: http://nic.dnsalias.com/WMF9.rar )

I hope this archive works, its basically the codecs without the DRM DLLs inside. Hopefully youll still be able to encode without them.

Cheers,
-Nic

ps
@Koepi:
I havent touched that little project in a while. Ill try to today & send you the code (ps if you want the code to WM9 Enc as well ill send that along too)
Nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 09:39   #16  |  Link
Koepi
Moderator
 
Koepi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,455
Do you think WM9 could use a 2pass mode, too? (isn't the "normal" wm9 encoder 2pass by default?) I can try to add that, but I'm not quite sure that we get the info necessary for that without finding the right hooks like nando did with divx3...

Thanks for your great work and efforts, Nic, as usual your work is highly appreciated!

Best regards,
Koepi

EDIT:
It could be possible to write a NSIS installer for those dlls, Nic. There the compression is very nice as well, it should perform as well as rar - and it would be easy to install... If I only could eMail yu and won't get a connection timeout with your mail-host, I'd send yu an example where I built such an installer from a .inf file :-/

Last edited by Koepi; 17th September 2002 at 09:41.
Koepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 09:45   #17  |  Link
Nic
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,285
Theres the Use MultiPass Encoding button at the bottom, this does two passes (if used with the right codec settings)

Unfortunatly I dont think you can make a specialised two pass version...which is a real shame

Cheers,
-Nic

ps
I hadn't noticed yoru edit Hmmm, yup a NSIS would be good, Id have to find a computer here without WM9 on to test it as it is for now.
(You can always use nic @ everwicked.com as well )

Last edited by Nic; 17th September 2002 at 09:49.
Nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 09:55   #18  |  Link
Koepi
Moderator
 
Koepi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,455
I'm sorry, scratch that,m I just searched my HD and found that I deleted the .nsi already as everything worked fine and no further tweaks were necessary (it was the source for dx81-yuv-fix, installing huffyuv that way it "replaces" msyuv.dll in the registry).

But you can see that in the xvid nsis script as well how to do that, it's just a little "unoptimzed" for pure dll installing yet.

Sorry for the bad news,
best regards,
Koepi
Koepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 11:13   #19  |  Link
majerle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hi all
I installed wmf9.rar and wmfdist.exe, the gui and video are fully functional ( opened in wmp, xp version) but i can't hear any sound, i tryed almost all sound combinations (btw i can only choice windows media audio 9,acelp.net, wma 9 voice, wma 9 pro, wma lossless).

Windows media player at file proprierties say audio codec: unknow

Any tips ??

Below in my avs

# PLUGINS
LoadPlugin("D:\Divx\2Pass\Autodub1.3\SOFTS\AVSFILE\MPEG2DEC.DLL")
#
# SOURCE
Clip=Mpeg2Source("D:\Divx\Vob\superman.d2v")
#
# CROPPING
Clip=Crop(Clip,0,72,720,432)
#
# RESIZING
Clip=BilinearResize(Clip,544,224)
#
# FINISH
return Clip

P.S. : Awesome codec, Superman at 544*224, but without (?) audio come 625mb (2h,25m), vbr quality 100
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2002, 11:18   #20  |  Link
Nic
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,285
Wheres the audio coming from in your AVS file?!? Try reading through the readme.txt & that should give you an idea of what you need to do.

-Nic
Nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.