Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th March 2005, 21:01   #1  |  Link
Red Raven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 35
Script For S/VCD To DVD ?

What would be a good script to convert s/vcd to dvd,keeping in mind best quality possible?

I'm using CCE SP 2.7 & Avisynth 2.5

Cheers!

Last edited by Guest; 16th March 2005 at 22:10.
Red Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2005, 21:20   #2  |  Link
Leo 69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 227
directshowsource("C:\video.mpg")
Leo 69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2005, 21:30   #3  |  Link
Red Raven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 35
Anything you can add to that Leo? -- i'm not much of an expert on
avisynth scripts

Few question;
How would i change AR?
Would i need to crop picture?
Can i improve picture quality?

Red Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2005, 22:07   #4  |  Link
Leo 69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 227
What kind of video do you have ? What resolution is there, are there any borders, is it noisy ? Post at least a screenshot or cut a short clip from it and upload somewhere... @ rapidshare...

Last edited by Leo 69; 16th March 2005 at 22:12.
Leo 69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2005, 14:31   #5  |  Link
Abond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 416
Quote:
directshowsource("C:\video.mpg")
Should be better Mpeg2source("C:\DVD2AVI_Project_file.d2v")
Run your SVCD files through DGIndex and make a d2v file (project file). This file you can load in avisynth.
For the resizing:
Load the mpg file in VDubMod. Add filter nulltransform. Crop the black borders. Write down the values.
Load mpg in FitCD. Apply the values for cropping. Select the target. On the screen down left you will get ready to use avisynth script (except there is DirectShowSource and you need Mpeg2source.
Use Lanczosresize for resizing. You may try to improve the picture quality with some limited sharpener - then use LimitedSharpen ( )function or also good is ModerateSharpen()(for this look removegrain thread)
Also good luck!<-- it is very important.
Abond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2005, 14:53   #6  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,547
you'll probably want the SVCD deblocked...

try:

mpeg2source("blahblahblah.d2v",cpu=4) # if interlaced, add "ipp=true" as well.

you may want to leave the AR how it is and just resize it to 720 width. to do this, you have to bear in mind the fact that the 480 width assumes a frame width of 704x576/480 rather than 720x576/480. so do this:

lanczosresize(704,576).addborders(8,0,8,0) to get up to 720.
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2005, 17:55   #7  |  Link
Red Raven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 35
Thanks for the input -- much appreciated!

One more question;
Would the same script/process be used to load an mpeg1 from a VCD?
Red Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2005, 21:35   #8  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,351
For MPEG1, you must load the clip with DirectShowSource as Leo 69 posted earlier. You can deblock by using Deblock() or BlindPP(CPU=4), both are in the latest dgdecode.dll. Use FitCD to get the correct resizing parameters if you are unsure.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2005, 08:39   #9  |  Link
Abond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 416
Mpeg1 from standart VCD (352x288/240) is DVD compliant (except the audio must be 48K). So for DVD you don't need to reencode the video.
Abond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2005, 15:48   #10  |  Link
ronnylov
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bors, Sweden
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally posted by Mug Funky
...bear in mind the fact that the 480 width assumes a frame width of 704x576/480 rather than 720x576/480. so do this:

lanczosresize(704,576).addborders(8,0,8,0) to get up to 720.
I don't think this is correct. For correct aspect ratio from SVCD to DVD just resize the 480 width directly to 720:

lanczosresize(720,576)

See capture guide:
http://www.doom9.org/index.html?/cap..._advanced.html
Section 5.2.1 Sample rates of some standard formats

The table say that the SVCD width corresponds to 53.333 s sampled with 480 pixels, and DVD with width of 720 pixels do also correspond to 53.333 s. If this is true then 480 pixels width of SVCD should be resampled to 720 pixels width of DVD when converting SVCD to full DVD resolution. After this resampling you can crop 8 pixels left and right if you want a DVD with 704 pixels width.
__________________
Ronny

Last edited by ronnylov; 18th March 2005 at 15:51.
ronnylov is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.