Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st June 2002, 02:56   #1  |  Link
Mosaic
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Caribbean
Posts: 202
Maestro version

What is the current version of Maestro
__________________
Life is Like a Multiangle DVD.
Full of surprises!
Mosaic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2002, 03:32   #2  |  Link
Deepa DvD
Registered User
 
Deepa DvD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California, U.S.A
Posts: 286
- I dont know.I did try it at a studio, long time ago and it sort of looked a bit weird coz I've been used to other programs.
__________________
SuperDuperDVD@hotmail.com
Deepa DvD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2002, 03:41   #3  |  Link
Arky
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,477
Well, how can I put this..."OFFICIALLY", Apple's buyout of Spruce left licensed Maestro users in limbo, with Apple (obviously) having very little interest in paying Spruce engineers to continue to develop the program on the windows platform. I don't know what version licensed users are currently using, but I can tell you that the most erm... "popular" late version is 2915a.


Arky ;o)
Arky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2002, 14:58   #4  |  Link
auenf
avatar doesn't support IE
 
auenf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Great Southland
Posts: 2,238
'officially,' the latest version of DVDMaestro is pre-3.0

Enf...
auenf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2002, 10:22   #5  |  Link
mikeathome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally posted by auenf
'officially,' the latest version of DVDMaestro is pre-3.0

Enf...
... should have said better

'officially,' the last version of DVDMaestro is pre-3.0

see the small difference with great impact.

mike
mikeathome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2002, 00:01   #6  |  Link
Arky
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,477
yeah, and that "little" difference is the result of several hundred thousand dollars exchanging hands, and the reason why hundreds of Maestro users, who've each spent several thousand dollars, have been left very cheesed off indeed!


Arky ;o)
Arky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2002, 13:31   #7  |  Link
easy2Bcheesy
Moderator
 
easy2Bcheesy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 621
We're not *that* cheesed off to be honest. The product does practically anything you can ask of it. Updates would have been nice to iron out some of the bugs that remain, but overall, unless the an enhanced DVD format takes over, Maestro will continue to do the job just fine as it is, for the foreseeable future. Spruce Technical Support was always shit any way, so it's not as if we're losing anything that substantial.

No, what really pissed us off was abandoning the Conductor series of tools and only updating the Maestro codebase. Conductor was a great way to effectively get Maestro but with massive savings. Conductor+PowerPack was 10,000 less than Maestro and did pretty much everything apart from region encoding (which with command sequences you can program yourself) and CSS (which is pointless any way).
easy2Bcheesy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2002, 14:16   #8  |  Link
auenf
avatar doesn't support IE
 
auenf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Great Southland
Posts: 2,238
CSS isnt pointless to the major studios, altho they can afford the extra price for that feature alone.

and im guessing the region restrictions via command sequences is basically the same as RCE?

Enf...
auenf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2002, 15:11   #9  |  Link
mpucoder
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,530
That's interesting, 10,000 pounds to set the value in one byte of every .ifo - a task that any hexeditor can do. I guess it's true that no one in an edit bay (or off in a corner pre-mastering) has a clue how this all works at the bit level.
mpucoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2002, 14:18   #10  |  Link
auenf
avatar doesn't support IE
 
auenf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Great Southland
Posts: 2,238
uhh, isnt css discs a different sector size or something?

Enf...
auenf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2002, 15:18   #11  |  Link
mpucoder
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,530
I was talking about the region mask.
No, CSS does not use a different sector size. The keys are just in an area you can't access easily. It was also my understanding that this is done by the replicator, and does not appear in the DLT masters.
mpucoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2002, 13:56   #12  |  Link
auenf
avatar doesn't support IE
 
auenf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Great Southland
Posts: 2,238
when writing the DLT or DVD-R(A) the img is 'formatted for CSS'

Enf...
auenf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2002, 17:14   #13  |  Link
easy2Bcheesy
Moderator
 
easy2Bcheesy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 621
Yes, you can use command sequences to simulate region encoding, just like RCE. Conductor+PowerPack has full access to the command sequences needed to read off the SPRMs.

I said CSS is pointless because the entire protection system has been cracked and circumventing it only adds a few minutes work to someone who knows what they are doing.
easy2Bcheesy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.