Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th August 2018, 02:02   #1  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,810
pixelscope - pixel value displayer

Download: pixelscope0.1.zip v0.1 - includes source

pixelscope, a debugging filter to display pixel values.


Yes, the numbers are very small; I view it at 200% in VirtualDub2.

At the moment, it only understands the "classic" colourspaces: RGB24, RGB32, Y8, YUY2, YV12, YV16, YV24, and YV411. If there's any interest I'll think about adding more.

There are four DLLs in the zip file - x86 and x64 versions, plus statically-linked versions so you don't have to go around installing more runtimes if you don't want to.

Code:
pixelscope (v0.1)
=================
(c) David Horman, 2018

This debugging filter displays individual pixel values. It currently only
works with the "classic" Avisynth colourspaces (RGB24, RGB32, Y8, YUY2,
YV12, YV16, YV24, YV411).

Usage
=====

pixelscope(
  clip,
  (int)    scale      = 32,
  (bool)   hex        = false,
  (int)    darken     = 1,
  (bool)   grid       = true,
  (bool)   interlaced = false,
  (string) matrix     = "rec601",
  (bool)   nocrop     = false,
  (bool)   right      = false
)

Parameters
==========

scale:
  Upscale factor.

hex:
  Displays values in hexadecimal.

darken:
  This parameters darkens the input video for display. It does not affect
	displayed pixel values.

    0: do not darken video
    1: darken video (default)
    2: darken video more

grid:
  Enable/disable grid lines.

interlaced:
  For YV12 video, this determines whether the video is treated as interlaced
  when converted to RGB for display, and also changes how the UV values are
  displayed to reflect interlacing.

matrix:
  Colour matrix to use when converting to RGB for display. See converttorgb.

nocrop:
  By default, pixelscope crops the input so that the output does not exceed
  4K resolution - this is to avoid crashing Avisynth or your viewer.
  Setting this to true disables cropping.

right:
  Right aligns pixel values instead of centering them.
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor

Last edited by wonkey_monkey; 27th August 2018 at 02:19.
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2018, 06:09   #2  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 903
Interesting.
Quite!
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2018, 08:54   #3  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,490
+1
Thanks for sharing.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2018, 14:40   #4  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,087
+2
Thanx for sharing.

The RGB24 numbers look familiar, did you use some other plugin debug mode as inspiration ? (what plug).

EDIT: Can you post image of YV12 Interlaced=True, sample, am curious how you do it. [chroma numbers layout]
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 27th August 2018 at 14:44.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2018, 15:08   #5  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,810
Well it's not pretty:


I may add some arrows or something to more properly indicate that lines 1 and 3 share chroma, lines 2 and 4, and so on.

As for the numbers, I drew them myself - there are only so many ways to draw 3x5 characters.

For RGB32 a white alpha number is added above red.

For YUV inputs, U is blue and V is red.
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor

Last edited by wonkey_monkey; 3rd July 2019 at 13:43.
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2018, 15:12   #6  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,087
Lovely David, thanx, better than anticipated.
Would it then be Mpeg1 chroma placement as opposed to mpeg2 [just throwing you a curved ball ]

EDIT:
Quote:
I may add some arrows or something to more properly indicate that lines 1 and 3 share chroma, lines 2 and 4, and so on.
Maybe not neccessary, should be reasonably obvious.
EDIT: Or maybe use different pairs of [EDIT: background] colors for "pairs of chroma pairs", if you get what I mean.
(red,grn,red,grn, - blue,yel,blu,yel) or something like that.

EDIT:
Quote:
As for the numbers, I drew them mysself - there are only so many ways to draw 3x5 characters.
I think that Sinclair QL used a 3x5 font (excluding spacing), was almost impossible to create an alternative
font to the builtin one (because as you say, there are only so many ways you can do it).

EDIT: Maybe its the QL style font that is familiar to me [I did comercial s/w for it for several (4 or 5) years].
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 27th August 2018 at 15:40.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2018, 16:19   #7  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,919
Thanks for the filter

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidhorman View Post

At the moment, it only understands the "classic" colourspaces: RGB24, RGB32, Y8, YUY2, YV12, YV16, YV24, and YV411. If there's any interest I'll think about adding more.

Would it be difficult to add additional ones ?

10bit is becoming more prevalent in consumer space
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2018, 18:45   #8  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,810
It shouldn't be too hard, but I probably hardcoded a bit too much to make it really simple. Plus so far I've had no need of >8-bit myself, so it was/is low priority. It will happen at some point, though.
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.