Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st January 2018, 12:18   #1  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 235
Create Dolby Atmos

I wouldn't know if such a file would exist on BD. It's a file created by the Dolby Atmos Production Suite, if I'm right.

I can imagine that this *.atmos masterfile needs more processing to be BD compliant.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2018, 12:25   #2  |  Link
Eseninzhiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 52
as far as I know, this master file can be obtained in this way
Your 8 waves are open in Pro Tools 12.8 and newer
Dolby Atmos Production Suite can be used to record a master file set (.atmos)
This can then be used to encode Dolby Atmos in Dolby Media Producer Suite




if anyone has this software
Pro Tools 12.8 and newer
Dolby Atmos Production Suite
respond, need an experiment

Last edited by Eseninzhiv; 31st January 2018 at 12:57.
Eseninzhiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2018, 15:08   #3  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 235
Interesting!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eseninzhiv View Post
Your 8 waves...
Is'n it so that you need extra audiodata for the height channels? Looking at this picture I wonder if this isn't just about the 7.1 channel (2D) layout.
I don't know how this encoding suite works, but I can imagine the Atmos Suite requires extra, separate audiofiles that represent the "overhead" channels, to be able to integrate them properly in the resulting Atmos-track, for backwards-compatbility reasons (2D TrueHD).
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2018, 15:40   #4  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
I can imagine the Atmos Suite requires extra, separate audiofiles that represent the "overhead" channels
I guess that they are incorporated in the atmos file that we see on the picture, the output file being above ("destination path").
And each mono file for 7.1 has to be opened below.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2018, 17:52   #5  |  Link
Eseninzhiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 52
in the item Details insert master file set (.atmos), Without this file, after encoding output only TrueHD Audio
below insert 8 mono files
As a result, the output after encoding is obtained Dolby Atmos/TrueHD Audio
Eseninzhiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2018, 21:23   #6  |  Link
Eseninzhiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 52
if anyone has this software
Pro Tools 12.8 and newer
Dolby Atmos Production Suite
respond, need an experiment
Eseninzhiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2018, 02:21   #7  |  Link
etc6849
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3
I don't have this software either, but I am interested in its capabilities as well. Mainly my use would be for converting TrueHD Atmos tracks to PCM as I have a 16 channel digital AES.

I'm not sure what software would play greater than an 8 channel PCM back, and the Dolby Atmos Production Suite is for Mac only? and I use a PC
etc6849 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2018, 23:16   #8  |  Link
etc6849
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3
Hoping you were able to test this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eseninzhiv View Post
if anyone has this software
Pro Tools 12.8 and newer
Dolby Atmos Production Suite
respond, need an experiment
etc6849 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2018, 12:20   #9  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,343
Quote:
Originally Posted by etc6849 View Post
I don't have this software either, but I am interested in its capabilities as well. Mainly my use would be for converting TrueHD Atmos tracks to PCM as I have a 16 channel digital AES.
I'd quite like a dedicated hardware device that was capable of splitting/separating out the spatial audio channels to multiple PCM streams.

I doubt such a device will ever be created for use in the home though
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.