Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd June 2015, 20:53   #1  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,312
AviSynth 2.6.0 [May 31st, 2015]

A few days but 2.6.0 has gone live!

Get AviSynth_260.exe and Avisynth_260_src.zip from Sourceforge. Six years and five months have passed since the last stable release Hopefully the next one will be a bit sooner ...

AviSynth_260.exe is x86 only (so there is no x64 version).

The changelog can be found here. (It's too long to put it in one post, that's why the link.)
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2015, 21:04   #2  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 856
I was pretty excited over the email notice from SourceForge.

Great job for everyone who contributed thus far.

Feels like there should be a speech with each stable release.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 17134 | GPU Caps Viewer 1.40.1.0
NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 (GP108) 2047MB/GDDR5 | (R417.22)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2015, 23:13   #3  |  Link
mastrboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 287
Off topic, mods should delete if too inappropriate

Those who keep projects on sourceforge should carefully monitor their exe installers, as sourceforge lately injected ad-ware into popular project installers.

Reference material:
http://arstechnica.com/information-t...ushing-adware/
__________________
(i have a tendency to drunk post)
mastrboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2015, 01:51   #4  |  Link
mariner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 536
Can 2.6 coexist with 2.58?
mariner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2015, 04:05   #5  |  Link
l33tmeatwad
Registered User
 
l33tmeatwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariner View Post
Can 2.6 coexist with 2.58?
Why would you want to do that?
l33tmeatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2015, 09:42   #6  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariner View Post
Can 2.6 coexist with 2.58?
The question is too general.
Could you install both in parallel and have the client application choose between them? No.
You can however switch between Avisynth versions very quickly as described here.

Unless you have to use a program that demands an older version of Avisynth there is no apparent reason not to use 2.6.

Last edited by Groucho2004; 5th June 2015 at 12:00. Reason: typo
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2015, 12:43   #7  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
Could you install both in parallel and have the client application choose between them? No.
Well, in same cases applications can choose between different versions...

I found out about this by pure coincidence. Until recently I was still using AviSynth 2.57 because my good old DVD2SVCD would not show a preview with any newer version.

But now I can use AviSynth 2.60 and still make the DVD2SVCD preview use 2.57. How?

I installed 2.60 normally, AviSynth.dll resides in the System32 folder. Additionally I copied AviSynth.dll 2.57 into the DVD2SVCD root folder. Now the preview (which is done by the DVD2SVCD executable itself) uses the AviSynth.dll it finds in its own folder, while any encoder (which resides in a different folder) uses the installed AviSynth version 2.60. Very nice...


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2015, 12:51   #8  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
I installed 2.60 normally, AviSynth.dll resides in the System32 folder. Additionally I copied AviSynth.dll 2.57 into the DVD2SVCD root folder. Now the preview (which is done by the DVD2SVCD executable itself) uses the AviSynth.dll it finds in its own folder, while any encoder (which resides in a different folder) uses the installed AviSynth version 2.60. Very nice...
I was referring to a normal install without any modifications. One install would simply overwrite the other.
Also, some applications load avisynth.dll explicitly from system32/syswow64 so your trick would not work in that case.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2015, 00:01   #9  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 975
That's actually not the application choosing to use a different version, that's normal Windows DLL loading behavior (I would assume if the program simply queries the system %PATH% rather than hardcoding a DLL location). Windows itself has a loading hierarchy; it starts with the program's directory, and then moves to the system. Although Windows won't let you override some system DLLs with this method, but it should work for most %PATH%-aware queries (you can also swap avisynth.dll copies in and out of FFmpeg's folder if you need to use different versions there as well - and in its case, yes, it does just query the system by using LoadLibrary(AVISYNTH_LIB)).

I'd mentioned this tactic in some of that discussion in the MKVToolNix thread regarding the idea of substituting Wine DLLs (which turned out to be one of those cases where Windows won't let that work, although DirectX DLLs can be overridden with Wine's).
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2015, 09:07   #10  |  Link
jmac698
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,862
Big news.. congratulations on completing this
jmac698 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2015, 20:10   #11  |  Link
8-BaLL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 74
Is there a freaking reason, why the Install Folder which is automatically created, still called Avisynth 2.5?

I mean with the betas and RCs Id understand it, but in the final? Come on...

You know its freaking irritating every single time Im trying to paste something in the folders or work with the plugin paths.

Last edited by 8-BaLL; 9th June 2015 at 20:27.
8-BaLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2015, 20:34   #12  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,312
Just uninstall, and enter Avisynth as install folder when doing a fresh install.
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2015, 08:00   #13  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,386
The installer defaults to just %ProgramFiles%\Avisynth now, but for existing installs it'll pick up and continue to use your old folder, as you'd expect. You don't even need to uninstall, just rename it and reinstall with the new folder name.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2015, 13:54   #14  |  Link
YamashitaRen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: France
Posts: 33
Even better, you can rename the folder and regedit the relevant key
(tested on Wine)
YamashitaRen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2015, 16:09   #15  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 6,056
Great stuff guys, lovely to have Officially stable v2.6

Is there a published machine minimum requirement for v2.6 (or v2.58 for that matter, on windows) ?

Also,

from v2.6 docs
Quote:
Future plans
AviSynth v2.61:
This version will use the free Microsoft compiler. It will be feature identical to 2.60 i.e. Source new syntax changes only!
Has it been decided yet which of the free compilers will be chosen (there are a few of them) ?

Thanxs
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2015, 16:40   #16  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Is there a published machine minimum requirement for v2.6 (or v2.58 for that matter, on windows) ?
It will probably run on a Pentium 1 or even below but who would want to do that? Even masochistic people would run it at least on a P4 / Athlon64.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2015, 17:42   #17  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 6,056
Thanx Grouchy, had not seen any official requirement post anywhere, suspected P1.
I, is one of them there masochisticals with 3 (or is it 4) P4's and 1 Athlon64.
Thanx for the answer.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2015, 18:40   #18  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Thanx Grouchy, had not seen any official requirement post anywhere, suspected P1.
I have not found a system requirements statement either.

There are a lot of factors that determine the minimum CPU requirement. Avisynth.dll itself is probably the easiest to please, assuming that there are C/C++ variants for all functions (no MMX/SSE/3DNow only functions).

Once you add external filters, things will change since many plugins are built with newer compilers and these may produce binaries which won't run on ancient CPUs.

I'm not sure about DevIL.dll, the newer versions may require a newer CPU.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2015, 19:55   #19  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 6,056
Thanx again Grouchy.
Dont want to step over and above what is officially supported by the Avisynth dll, so I guess that may put it about PIII (I think Manolito
and at least one of the devs/contributors to Vapoursynth use PIII), guess I'll just stick with straight CPP and avoid anything non-standard.

Ive got one of those Elonex ONE+ things (300MHz i386 [equivalent], bit faster than my original Pentium I @ 133MHz), but alas not the MIPS variant that
was hacked to install a more open (usable) version of Linux (LLL, The Little Linux Laptop). So I guess there could be some i386/i486's out there running
Windows that could be faster (on paper) than Pentium I (with/without FPU).

I've been targetting XP, is W2K officially supported by AVS ?, also, are there C/CPP variants for all functions ?

Some kind of System Requirement entry could be a good idea on the Wiki, even if it has to be a bit vague.

EDIT:
From AVS+,
Quote:
Shortcomings compared to Avisynth
- Support for Windows 98/Me/2000 dropped. Oldest supported OS in Windows XP.
From Vapoursynth homesite:
http://www.vapoursynth.com/2012/11/m...-requirements/
Unfortunately that post was quickly followed by "R25 – Death to Windows XP!":- http://www.vapoursynth.com/2014/11/r...to-windows-xp/

So I guess that rules out my ever trying Vapoursynth
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 11th June 2015 at 21:53.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2015, 05:20   #20  |  Link
innocenat
Registered User
 
innocenat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
also, are there C/CPP variants for all functions ?
No. In Avisynth you need at least MMX processor, so minimum is PMMX. Resizer is one of the code that doesn't have C/C++ code, not sure if any other. Avisynth+, however, supports all the way down to 80386 with 80387 coprocessor, 486DX, or 486SX with 487 coprocessor, given than you re-compile it with no ISE, since the official one use SSE for floating point calculation
__________________
AviSynth+
innocenat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.