Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 7th January 2015, 16:55   #1  |  Link
rogs

Avisynth script for 'typewriter style' text sequence

I am pretty new to Avisynth usage, so please excuse any comments that may appear to have an obvious solution!

I had a requirement to create a 'typewriter style' incremental text sequence, which needed to appear as if a real (human) typist had made it.
That of course meant using 'random' spacing to make the effect more human like.
Armed with an audio track simulating the correct sequence of key presses, I used my audio editor to discover the exact 'frame' locations of each key press.

I then wrote a simple (but quite long!) AviSynth script using SubtitleEx to create the 'sequential' text file, with characters appearing at selected frame locations.

It all seemed to work pretty well - there's a sample of the finished file HERE - (The file is only about 1MB).

For some reason though, I was forced to create each line separately. Although I could usually run the whole script (about 85 lines) in AvsPMod OK, Virtualdub would crash every time - about 2/3 way through - with the warning:

'An out-of-bounds memory access (access violation) occurred in module 'SubtitleEx'...
...reading address 00FDC511...
...while running thread "Dub-I/O" (thread.cpp:197)'

Cutting the script in half, and all was well (although extra editing was required afterwards of course!).

The script was very simple - if a bit cumbersome at 85 odd lines - but as a beginner I couldn't think of an alternative approach.
I've attached a short sample from the script (the rest is simply a logical continuation of the same).