Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th August 2014, 18:38   #1  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
MPEG1 upscale?

Hello,

I'm trying to find a good filter to smoothen out an old MPEG1 VCD I want to upscale. Like a blurry jpeg, it has these typical low-res blotches on it.

I was wondering whether someone can recommend a good filter for that kind of stuff. Most of the filters I have usually are meant for material that is already HD(-ish).

Thanks.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2014, 18:43   #2  |  Link
vid.user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
By up-scaling you will only loose, never gain, why would you want that?
vid.user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2014, 19:15   #3  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by vid.user View Post
By up-scaling you will only loose, never gain, why would you want that?
Properly upscaling SD material can often do wonders for how it looks. Anyway, the upscaling (Lanczos4Resize) is only the post-process step: it's about getting rid of low-res blotches.

EDIT: I found filters like Blockbuster, but that seems to be doing something else (also useful, btw).
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!

Last edited by asarian; 26th August 2014 at 19:21.
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2014, 20:14   #4  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 5,690
Might want to try nnedi3_rpow2 for upscale, also I would prefer Spline36Resize or Spline64Resize.

Code:
    nnedi3_rpow2(int rfactor, int nsize, int nns, int qual, bool pscrn, string cshift, int fwidth,
                 int fheight, float ep0, float ep1, int threads, int opt, int fapprox)
No particular suggestion for the blotches, although temporal / spatio temporal can help if blotches vary frame to frame.
My favorite spacio/temp filter is FF3DFilter. (Favorite spacial only is VagueDenoise).
ExBlend() intended for (NTSC) 3/2 blend removal of eg SD converted for VCD via ReduceBy2.

EDIT: Other deblock filters I have on disk are FunkyDeblock, DeBlock_QED, and SmoothDeblock.
Only used SmoothDeblock which was very good for a particular clip (although slow I think).
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 26th August 2014 at 20:17.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2014, 21:46   #5  |  Link
creaothceann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
Dither might help too.
creaothceann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 05:23   #6  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Might want to try nnedi3_rpow2 for upscale, also I would prefer Spline36Resize or Spline64Resize.

Code:
    nnedi3_rpow2(int rfactor, int nsize, int nns, int qual, bool pscrn, string cshift, int fwidth,
                 int fheight, float ep0, float ep1, int threads, int opt, int fapprox)
No particular suggestion for the blotches, although temporal / spatio temporal can help if blotches vary frame to frame.
My favorite spacio/temp filter is FF3DFilter. (Favorite spacial only is VagueDenoise).
ExBlend() intended for (NTSC) 3/2 blend removal of eg SD converted for VCD via ReduceBy2.

EDIT: Other deblock filters I have on disk are FunkyDeblock, DeBlock_QED, and SmoothDeblock.
Only used SmoothDeblock which was very good for a particular clip (although slow I think).

Thanks! I also found some good info on the process at:

How to upscale with Nnedi3?

I always thought Lanczos4Resize was the best, LOL.

Speaking of VCD, 352x288, that doesn't really look like true 4:3 to me (more like 4:3.2727). Should I just upscale to 1440x1080 (4:3) and call it the day?
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 05:55   #7  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,119
eedi3 is a smooth and high quality upscaler
nnedi3 is way too sharp for crappy clips
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 06:01   #8  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,119
use this script
http://pastebin.com/Zj4GMDxG
Code:
dither_convert_8_to_16 ()
ediresize16 (x,y,kernel_u="bicubic",noring=true,cplace="mpeg1") #x,y is your target resolution
ditherpost (mode=6)
the result is soft and artifacts free

Last edited by feisty2; 27th August 2014 at 06:03.
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 06:21   #9  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
use this script
http://pastebin.com/Zj4GMDxG
Code:
dither_convert_8_to_16 ()
ediresize16 (x,y,kernel_u="bicubic",noring=true,cplace="mpeg1") #x,y is your target resolution
ditherpost (mode=6)
the result is soft and artifacts free
Thank you kindly!
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 06:50   #10  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Btw, just to give you guys an idea of how very bad it really is:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2u3gx0ffv8...rybad.jpg?dl=0

LOL.

EDIT: Hmm, direct images to dropbox apparently don't work here.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 07:29   #11  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
use this script
http://pastebin.com/Zj4GMDxG
Code:
dither_convert_8_to_16 ()
ediresize16 (x,y,kernel_u="bicubic",noring=true,cplace="mpeg1") #x,y is your target resolution
ditherpost (mode=6)
the result is soft and artifacts free

Odd. I'm getting the following error all the time:

"There is no function named dither_convert_8_to_16"
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 07:43   #12  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
Odd. I'm getting the following error all the time:

"There is no function named dither_convert_8_to_16"
you need dither package
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 07:56   #13  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
you need dither package
Doh.

Just my luck, though, Dither 1.26.1 download site seems gone now.

http://ldesoras.free.fr/src/avs/dither-1.26.1.zip
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 12:32   #14  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 5,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
EDIT: Hmm, direct images to dropbox apparently don't work here.
Try PhotoBucket.com next time, images appear direct on forum post. (EDIT: Immediately)
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 27th August 2014 at 12:40.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 13:20   #15  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
you need dither package
Nearly there, I think Now I get:

"No function named UnDefined()" in your script, at:

sclip = Default (sclip, UnDefined())
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 13:25   #16  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
Nearly there, I think Now I get:

"No function named UnDefined()" in your script, at:

sclip = Default (sclip, UnDefined())
whats your avisynth version, the script requires avs 2.6 or avs+
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 13:54   #17  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
whats your avisynth version, the script requires avs 2.6 or avs+
Oops, I'm still on 2.5.8. Is 2.6 downwards compatible? Don't want to ruin my entire setup.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 13:58   #18  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
Oops, I'm still on 2.5.8. Is 2.6 downwards compatible? Don't want to ruin my entire setup.
2.6 is completely compatible with 2.5.8 scripts and plugins, and there are some new filters can only be called on 2.6 platform
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 13:59   #19  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
2.6 is completely compatible with 2.5.8 scripts and plugins, and there are some new filters can only be called on 2.6 platform
Okay. Thanks for all your help!
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 14:50   #20  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
Okay. Thanks for all your help!
and you need eedi3mod here instead of eedi3
its much faster (at least 4x faster) and can be even faster if set mclip=true in ediresize16
https://www.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1654880#476
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.