Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th June 2014, 08:31   #1  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,100
smdegrain crashing, how to solve?

Well didn't know what to write for the title.
But it's pretty simple, smdegrain is crashing the application which uses it (avs2avi, virtualdub etc), although virtualdub doesn't crash, it continues as if it was working, the the framenumber is stuck so it's just going infinite.

I tried many things, Avisynth+, Avisynth 2.6, made some faster settings for smdegrain, but it always crashes anyway.

I am not sure what to do, as far as i know smdegrain is just a simplification of the MDegrain, so in turn would mean it's MVTools that's the culprit?

I have updated MVTools to the latest: 1.11.4.5

So, any suggestions?
As this doesn't seem to be an Avisynth related problem, but rather the Plugin.
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2014, 09:26   #2  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,119
you need MVTools 2.6.05 not mvtools 1.x
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2014, 09:35   #3  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,100
Oh, well got that one as well.
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 07:26   #4  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,100
No ideas at all?

I thought of trying it on 64bit, but noticed that Dithering isn't supported yet.
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 07:35   #5  |  Link
osgZach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Waterloo, WI - USA
Posts: 650
Is it running out of RAM maybe? Tried using SetMemoryMax(int) ?
osgZach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 07:48   #6  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,100
It shouldn't be, it's at 400mb or something when it crashes (differs a bit, but not close to 1.2gb at all).
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 13:44   #7  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,084
Post your full script that causes the crash and if possible a small sample. There's a handful on unknown variables that may help in helping you (source filter, resolution, colorspace, exact Avisynth version, etc).
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 14:30   #8  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,100
Nothing to post really, Avisource, RGB, 640x480, Avisynth+ and Avisynth 2.6 Alpha (both of them tested).

Tried to save with different Codecs, UT and MagicYUV same results.

Tried saving with VirtualDub, same results.

Can't really provide a sample as it's a bit private sadly.
But it's nothing special, a normal 640x480 RGB file, it was Lagarith Originally, but resaved it with ffmpeg to UT just in case if that was the problem (Lagarith can have corruption on decode, never happened to me though).

So i am totally lost really.
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 14:35   #9  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,084
Are you trying to process RGB as RGB or are you converting to YV12 for processing? Also you're talking about SMDegrain and not SMDegrain Mod, correct?
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 14:45   #10  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,100
I am converting it to YV12, thanks for mentioning that!

And i am also using: SMDegrain Mod (Didn't know it was called Mod, sorry for that).
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 14:59   #11  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerowalker View Post
Nothing to post really
You can at least give us your full script, can't you?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 15:31   #12  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
You can at least give us your full script, can't you?
Here it is:

Quote:
Avisource("Z:\TestGraph - ffmpeg.avi")
ConvertToYV12(matrix="Rec601", interlaced=false)
smdegrain(tr=3,lsb=true,thsad=300,lsb_out=true)
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 15:34   #13  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,717
It might be helpful to run the script through AVSMeter and check the memory usage there. Also, have you tried different source filters (LSMASH, FFMS2)? I vaguely remember some trouble with Avisource and a lossless file.

Last edited by Groucho2004; 18th June 2014 at 15:37.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 15:37   #14  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,100
Yes it is, and yes i have.

Though i have smdegrain lsb on.
But i have tried without the Dithering to 16bit and just the normal (2 stacked pictures) output.

Will do that, i guess you mean, run till it crashes, and post the CMD output?

EDIT:

I have not tried using anything other than Avisource.

I have tried 2 versions of the same file, or rather one filtered and one original. The thing though is that one was UT Video Codec, other MagicYUV, so tried both just in case there was a decoding issue.

Last edited by zerowalker; 18th June 2014 at 15:41.
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 15:40   #15  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerowalker View Post
Yes it is, and yes i have.

Will do that, i guess you mean, run till it crashes, and post the CMD output?
Sorry, our posts crossed and I edited mine.

Yes, use the -l switch to create a log with AVSMeter and post that.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 16:10   #16  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerowalker View Post
I have not tried using anything other than Avisource.
You should do that.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 16:33   #17  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,717
The problem might be avstp which allocates memory beyond what is set with setmemorymax. I just ran a quick test with your script and an sd source and the memory usage was > 800 MB (4 threads) after a few minutes.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 17:29   #18  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Is avstp built in to SMDegrainMod, or how did you guess he is using it?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 17:41   #19  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Is avstp built in to SMDegrainMod, or how did you guess he is using it?
The modified version of mvtools2 and dither.dll are using it. So yes, it's basically built in.

Edit: It seems that simply removing or renaming avstp.dll disables multi-threading. Should be worth a try for the OP.

Last edited by Groucho2004; 18th June 2014 at 17:48.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 17:47   #20  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
I see. Thank you very much.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.