Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th January 2014, 07:50   #1  |  Link
Mole
Registered User
 
Mole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Thailand
Posts: 259
Infognition Super Resolution plugin for AviSynth

Super Resolution is a method to resize by using information from neighboring frames. This plugin uses quarter-pixel motion compensation and a fusion process to combine motion-compensated previously upsized frames with spatially resampled current frame. The SR process doubles the resolution and if different resolution is specified in the argument, it will first upscale with SR to 200%, then resample to desired resolution.

Usage is:
SR(width, height, numThreads, options)

For example:
LoadPlugin("avssr.dll")
AviSource("video.avi")
SR(1920,1080,12)

This will resize the video to exactly 1920x1080 using 12 threads.

Default setting SR() is to upscale to 200% in high quality mode using all logical cores.

Please check readme for detailed usage.

This plugin is multi-threaded and it's recommended to not use SetMTMode at all, or SetMTMode(5).
Using SetMTMode(2,0) for example will greatly decrease the performance.

Tests on i7 2600K with Hyper-Threading enabled, optimal performance is achieved with 12 threads.

Also works very well with ffdshow AviSynth filter for real time resizing.
For SD content, such as 704x400 or 832x468, I get great results with SR 200% resize, and let the Enhanced Video Renderer resize to 1920x1080.

On my i7 2600K, 704x400 the CPU load is only around 20%.
Real time upscale should be possible on any i3 CPU.

Unregistered version of this plugin will draw some watermark lines in the video.
If you have Infognition Super Resolution plugin for VirtualDub registered, then this AviSynth plugin is free and it's already registered too.

You're also eligible for license if you already have a license for Video Enhancer.

http://www.infognition.com/super_resolution_avisynth/

Last edited by Mole; 27th January 2014 at 07:58.
Mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 10:54   #2  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
I tested it and got tons of aliasing like something caused by upscaling with bicubicresize (b=-1,c=0)
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 12:29   #3  |  Link
DmitryPopov
Registered User
 
DmitryPopov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 65
Would be nice to see some samples of that aliasing problem. Make sure you don't just look at first frame (where no temporal info is accumulated yet), let it process some number of frames first.
I use this plugin to watch some rips on my laptop now using default 2x upsizing and letting the player to resample the result to full screen resolution. Comparing to available resize methods in MPC-HC I usually see sharper and more detailed image than with bicubic resize. Sample:
Bilinear
Bicubic
SR
Try opening in neighbor tabs and switch back and forward to see the difference.
DmitryPopov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 13:05   #4  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,492
While there is a visible difference between bicubic and SR, a lot of it disappears if you apply a Photoshop sharpen to the bicubic one.
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 13:52   #5  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
here
original

sr () (look at the boxed areas, I donno what this kind of pointresize styled artifacts is called, I call it "aliasing" for now)

dither_resize16nr (1440,960,kernel="spline",taps=32).ditherpost () (I didn't get any artifacts at all!)

edi_resize16 (1440,960) (my own moded version of mawen1250 "nnedi3_resize16") (sharp, thin edge, and still no artifacts at all)
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 14:17   #6  |  Link
Mole
Registered User
 
Mole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Thailand
Posts: 259
How will I be able to view the full size images and not just thumbs?
Mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 14:18   #7  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mole View Post
How will I be able to view the full size images and not just thumbs?
just click the thumbs
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 14:21   #8  |  Link
Mole
Registered User
 
Mole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Thailand
Posts: 259
I get an image which is 350x234, is that correct??

http://thumbnails109.imagebam.com/30421/1eda93304207421.jpg
Mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 14:25   #9  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
no the image should be 720x480 1440x960 1440x960 and 1440x960 in PNG format
original http://110.imagebam.com/download/qPwhi4gReP5gDUdjYRFt9Q/30421/304206246/original.png
sr http://104.imagebam.com/download/vfKsT9rRZ9AisibvkJUtpQ/30421/304206358/sr.png
dither_resize16nr http://111.imagebam.com/download/JJ3E8-ya-nfuLRdoJMuvRA/30421/304207167/spline.png
edi_resize16 http://109.imagebam.com/download/weQK0PjCPJZxxHFaEyf8Jw/30421/304207421/edi.png
and the artifacts is very similar to manalyse in mvtools2 with wrong "dct" parameter settings

Last edited by feisty2; 27th January 2014 at 14:30.
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 14:31   #10  |  Link
Mole
Registered User
 
Mole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Thailand
Posts: 259
Nevermind, stupid me... I had a look in my options.

For some reason it was disabled. Can't recall that I've ever set this option before though...

Last edited by Mole; 27th January 2014 at 14:34.
Mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 14:36   #11  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mole View Post
But the links you've posted are all to the thumbnails, not the full image...

Links to full imagebam images are supposed to be like this:

http://www.imagebam.com/image/aa35e0304206246
http://www.imagebam.com/image/16c77b304206358
http://www.imagebam.com/image/0e345f304207167
http://www.imagebam.com/image/1eda93304207421
open the links you posted or the links I gave you should see the original images, I've tested them, maybe you should change a web browser (or use a proxy server) and try again?

Last edited by feisty2; 27th January 2014 at 14:44.
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 14:47   #12  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
so can anyone tell me what that pointresize styled artifacts is? I'm very curious
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2014, 16:52   #13  |  Link
DmitryPopov
Registered User
 
DmitryPopov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 65
Hmm, I'll look at the pictures on another monitor tomorrow, it's hard to see the difference now on my laptop.
What it looks to me now is like the nnedi & spline results are either in RGB or YUV 4:4:4 i.e. there is no chroma subsampling while SR one is in YV12 (with U and V half the resolution). Am I right? In that case you may try converting to RGB24 or RGB32 before applying SR, this way it will work in full resolution on all channels.

Also, sometimes SR makes some ghosting artifacts when parts of previous frame add some patterns to the current frame.

Note: when the source is blurred due to bad focus, motion blur or just low bitrate, you won't see much difference between different resize methods. A sharper source video will give more interesting results.
DmitryPopov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 00:29   #14  |  Link
ChiDragon
Registered User
 
ChiDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 600
I get these grid artifacts.



Last edited by ChiDragon; 28th January 2014 at 00:32.
ChiDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 04:48   #15  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
Clearly its not chroma subsample error cuz the artifacts are on plane y and I did all tests on yv12, it seems like bad motion compensation artifacts
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 07:50   #16  |  Link
Forensic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California, USA
Posts: 127
I have had great success with VideoEnhancer, but only when run as the final step of my process and in its EXE form (not the plug-in). I usually need to run an Unsharp or Sharpening tool as the last filter. But then again, all my work is with surveillance videos so my usage may not be that common. Although VideoEnhancer is a bit dated (I believe it is based on MSU's 2012 work), I have yet to find anything that works better for my needs.
Forensic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 09:09   #17  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiDragon View Post
I get these grid artifacts.


your grid artifacts are actually the same things I'm talking about

EDIT: these weird artifacts can also be found in their official demos

Last edited by feisty2; 28th January 2014 at 14:09.
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 11:31   #18  |  Link
DmitryPopov
Registered User
 
DmitryPopov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 65
Forensic,
these AviSynth and VirtualDub plugins share the SR engine with Video Enhancer 1.9.9 released just a month ago. If you're using an older version of it, I recommend downloading the latest version, it's significantly faster (and quality is higher on some files).
It's not based on MSU work. VE first appeared in 2006 and later we had one common project with MSU on super resolution for a particular client, but SR engine of Video Enhancer and these plugins is not based on that code.

feisty2 et al.,
thanks for pointing out these artifacts, we'll try to find what exactly causes them.
DmitryPopov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 14:31   #19  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by DmitryPopov View Post
thanks for pointing out these artifacts, we'll try to find what exactly causes them.
are you a member of the developers of this sr filter? your filter is really interesting, cuz it did gave me some more exquisite upscaled result on some areas full of dense and small details (like lots of fallen leaves on the ground) than simple lanczos4resize, just the artifacts are too bad, and are you interested in writing a detail enhancing filter using the same sr technology instead of this upscale filter, that could be a lot more useful
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 14:50   #20  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
I did another test
original

lanczos4resize (1440,960)

sr

eedi3 (dh=true,sclip=nnedi3 (dh=true)).turnleft ().eedi3 (dh=true,sclip=nnedi3 (dh=true)).turnright ()

edi_resize16 (1440,960)

sr gives me slightly better result on boxed area

EDIT: added more tests

Last edited by feisty2; 28th January 2014 at 15:05.
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.