Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th July 2013, 01:10   #1  |  Link
DeeSeven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
Trouble with a hybrid source

Hello,

I captured this off my tivo and i can't quite figure out how properly add the filters for IVTC or Deinterlace (at least i think that is the problem)

Mediainfo on my source file is as follows


Quote:
Format : MPEG-PS
File size : 687 MiB
Duration : 42mn 27s
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 2 263 Kbps

Video
ID : 224 (0xE0)
Format : MPEG Video
Format version : Version 2
Format profile : Main@Main
Format settings, BVOP : Yes
Format settings, Matrix : Custom
Format settings, GOP : Variable
Duration : 42mn 27s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 2 090 Kbps
Maximum bit rate : 15.0 Mbps
Width : 528 pixels
Height : 480 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 4:3
Frame rate : 29.970 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.275
Time code of first frame : 00:00:00;00
Time code source : Group of pictures header
Stream size : 635 MiB (92%)

Audio
ID : 189 (0xBD)-128 (0x80)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Muxing mode : DVD-Video
Duration : 42mn 27s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 128 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 38.9 MiB (6%)

Text #1
ID : 224 (0xE0)-CC1
Format : EIA-608
Muxing mode : A/53 / DTVCC Transport
Muxing mode, more info : Muxed in Video #1
Bit rate mode : Constant
Stream size : 0.00 Byte (0%)

Text #2
ID : 224 (0xE0)-1
Format : EIA-708
Muxing mode : A/53 / DTVCC Transport
Muxing mode, more info : Muxed in Video #1
Bit rate mode : Constant
Stream size : 0.00 Byte (0%)
the avs script I use is

Quote:
MPEG2Source("C:\Documents and Settings\admin\Desktop\encoding\Dr.G.Medical.Examiner.The.Mourning.After.d2v")
Telecide(guide=1,gthresh=15).Decimate(mode=3,thres hold=1.0)
I then use Simple X264 launcher and encode it...4 hours later it is done but in my eyes the image is still a "blocky" or "jagged" not too bad but bad enough where I can notice it. Am I doing something wrong? or is this as good as it will get for a hybrid source?

Last edited by DeeSeven; 28th July 2013 at 03:13.
DeeSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 01:15   #2  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Dr. G is probably video. Did you try deinterlacing with (say) qtgmc instead of IVTC? Why do you think it is hybrid?

Your file name is looking torrentish. You should use proper names to avoid any doubts about your material. Thank you.

Last edited by Guest; 28th July 2013 at 01:18.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 03:12   #3  |  Link
DeeSeven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
thanks for the reply neuron2

I haven't tried qtgmc yet but im willing to try anything at this point...I think its a hybrid cause well megui told me it was lol.

and thanks for the heads up with the filename..it definitely isn't a torrent its my own rip im just trying to conserve space until black friday so I'm converting all my videos instead of leaving them raw
DeeSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 12:36   #4  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
If you can post a link to an unprocessed sample, we can tell you whether it is interlaced, hybrid, telecined, etc.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 18:41   #5  |  Link
DeeSeven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
thanks neuron2

https://mega.co.nz/#!Jlpz3LxK!IJFr-AXm7zxzLT3AJWBtvHRfFFM-G2CgAqhdOQgmojc
DeeSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 20:20   #6  |  Link
creaothceann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
Seems to be classic video (i.e. purely interlaced). Use QTGMC, see parameters "preset" and "fpsdivisor", maybe look into multithreading.
creaothceann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 20:54   #7  |  Link
DeeSeven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
thanks for the advice creaothceann
DeeSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 22:36   #8  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
It's video but strangely it does have irregular field repeats so you have to be a little careful. You have to make a project with Honor Pulldown in DGIndex. Then deinterlace as needed. creaothceann's idea of qtgmc is a good one.

Last edited by Guest; 30th July 2013 at 22:43.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 21:27   #9  |  Link
DeeSeven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
alright so I read into qtgmc and added "present= very slow" to my script

but when I start it it throws an error.

Quote:
Simple x264 Launcher (Build #506), built 2013-07-05

Job started at 2013-07-30, 21:35:38.

Source file: C:\Documents and Settings\admin\Desktop\encoding\Dr.G.Medical.Examiner - Burning.Questions.avs
Output file: C:\Documents and Settings\admin\My Documents\My Videos\Dr.G.Medical.Examiner - .Burning.Questions (2).mkv

--- SETTINGS ---

RC Mode: CRF
Preset: Veryslow
Tuning: None
Profile: Auto
Custom: --ref 11 --level 4.1 --no-fast-pskip --no-dct-decimate --bframes 5 --b-pyramid normal --direct auto --deblock -2:-1 --subme 10 --partitions all --trellis 2 --aq-strength 0.80 --psy-rd 1.0:0.0 --b-adapt 2 --me umh --merange 48 --thread-input

--- CHECK VERSION ---

Creating process:
"C:/Program Files/MuldeR/Simple x264 Launcher v2/toolset/x86/x264_8bit_x86.exe" --version

x264 0.135.2345 f0c1c53
(libswscale 2.3.100)
(libavformat 55.11.100)
(ffmpegsource 2.17.4.0)
built by Komisar on Jul 4 2013, gcc: 4.7.3 (multilib.generic.Komisar)
configuration: --bit-depth=8 --chroma-format=all
x264 license: GPL version 2 or later
libswscale/libavformat/ffmpegsource license: GPL version 2 or later

Creating process:
"C:/Program Files/MuldeR/Simple x264 Launcher v2/toolset/x86/avs2yuv_x86.exe"

Avs2YUV 0.24bm2

x264 revision: 2345 (core #135)
Avs2YUV version: 0.24.2

--- AVS INFO ---

Creating process:
"C:/Program Files/MuldeR/Simple x264 Launcher v2/toolset/x86/avs2yuv_x86.exe" -frames 1 "C:\Documents and Settings\admin\Desktop\encoding\Dr.G.Medical.Examiner - Burning.Questions.avs" NUL

error: Plugin C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\fftw3.dll is not an AviSynth 2.5 plugin.
(C:\Documents and Settings\admin\Desktop\encoding\Dr.G.Medical.Examiner - Burning.Questions.avs, line 3)

PROCESS EXITED WITH ERROR CODE: 1
my script is as follows

Quote:
MPEG2Source("C:\Documents and Settings\admin\Desktop\encoding\Dr.G.Medical.Examiner - Prescription.for.Change - 2005.d2v", cpu=0)
LoadPlugin("C:\Documents and Settings\admin\Desktop\megui\tools\avisynth_plugin\TIVTC.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\fftw3.dll")
TFM(mode=5, slow=2, clip2=QTGMC(preset="very slow",sourcematch=3, tr2=0, FPSDivisor=2)).TDecimate(hybrid=3)
DeeSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 21:54   #10  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
It's just video so ditch the TFM/TDecimate. This works fine for me with your sample (make the project with Honor Pulldown):

dgsource("sample.dgi")
qtgmc(Preset="Very Slow", TR2=0 )
lanczosresize(640,480)
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 21:58   #11  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,340
The real error is that fftw3.dll is a helper dll for fft3dfilter, don't load it explicitly. It should go in the Windows folder, or anywhere else that's on the DLL load path.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 23:12   #12  |  Link
DeeSeven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
got it! thanks for all your help neuron2 and thanks to foxyshadis for the extra bump
DeeSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2013, 18:27   #13  |  Link
DeeSeven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
alright so the video encoded but upon looking at the tech info for the file i saw that the FPS had dropped to 23. instead of the 29 it was at before I encoded. Did I miss something in my script? or ?
DeeSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2013, 20:59   #14  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Well, I told you to ditch TFM/TDecimate. Did you do that?

Post your current script used to do the encode.

qtgmc alone will double it to 59.94. If you need 29.97 (and don't mind the loss of temporal resolution), then add SelectEven() at the end of the script.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2013, 21:41   #15  |  Link
DeeSeven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
hm only removed Tdecimate, removed TFM now and added SelectEven() to the end of my script. Encoding now

thanks for all your help neuron2
DeeSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2013, 22:16   #16  |  Link
creaothceann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
[...] then add SelectEven() at the end of the script.
There's also the FPSDivisor parameter. Might be faster?

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Post your current script used to do the encode.
This.
creaothceann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2013, 23:23   #17  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by creaothceann View Post
There's also the FPSDivisor parameter. Might be faster?
Highly doubtful, and SelectEven() is more intuitive.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2013, 03:49   #18  |  Link
DeeSeven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
current script for encode is

Quote:
MPEG2Source("C:\Documents and Settings\admin\Desktop\encoding\Dr.G.Medical.Examiner - (S02E04).Prescription.for.Change - 2005.d2v", cpu=0)
LoadPlugin("C:\Documents and Settings\admin\Desktop\megui\tools\avisynth_plugin\TIVTC.dll")
QTGMC(preset="very slow",sourcematch=3, tr2=0)
SelectEven()
its slowly encoding .89 fps ETA is 8 hours started it 11 hours ago.
DeeSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2013, 15:03   #19  |  Link
DeeSeven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
hm that didn't work...My FPS dropped to 23 again
DeeSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2013, 16:19   #20  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Open the script in VirtualDub and look at File/File information...

What is the reported frame rate?

If it is not 29.97, then maybe your project was made with Force Film. Post a link to your D2V file.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.