Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th June 2013, 19:14   #1  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,299
New host for AviSynth

We finally have a new host: avisynth.nl!!!

The stuff on avisynth.org is still out there. If Richard comes here again I will ask him to hand over his domain.

The last few weeks i was busy moving all contents of avisynth.org to the new host. The translated sections should be the only ones which are not moved yet (will do that the coming weeks). So let me know when i forgot something else.

Much of the new wiki looks the same as the old one, but there is one thing which is different. I changed the user group rights in the following way
  1. all:
    Everyone can read any page and create an account. In order to create an account you have to answer a question correctly (to keep the spammers out).
  2. registered users:
    After creating an account you become a registered user, and you will be able to edit pages and change your user preferences. For the first ten edits you will need to answer a question again.
  3. emailconfirmed users:
    When a user has his email address authenticated he/she will become an emailconfirmed user. You will be able to create and move pages and upload images in addition.
  4. autoconfirmed users:
    After making ten edits you will be promoted to an autoconfirmed user and you can do the same as you could before but without answering any questions to edit a page.

Hopefully that will leave the spammers out. If not I will disable the account creation and let a few people do that for you.

If you have problems getting your emailaddress confirmed (I have read somewhere that an address with two dots will fail) or you have a problem with answering the questions drop me a pm.

If you want to help with the new wiki, the to do list can be found here: http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Avisynth_wiki:Current_events I asked WarpEnterprises to update the plugins. If anyone is interested, you can get my latest package (yes I know it's not complete): here (~345 MB). Let me know if you want ftp access.
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2013, 21:31   #2  |  Link
mariush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 563
Cool. Any reasons why you didn't use avisynth.net?

Unrelated... For me personally it will annoy me to no end to see that "index.php" in the urls. I'd change that to "pages" or something like that... you can do that easily with a plain entry in the virtual host configuration and some entries in localsettings.php of the wiki

$wgScriptPath = "/wiki"; // <--- folder where the mediawiki is on the server
$wgScriptExtension = ".php";
$wgArticlePath = "/pages/$1"; // <--- pages is what will show up in url
$wgUsePathInfo = true;

example of a virtual host on my dev server ... with mod_alias enabled outside in the modules list.

<VirtualHost *:80>
RewriteEngine On
ServerAdmin contact@example.org
DocumentRoot c:/projects/exampe
ServerName dev.example.org
# ServerAlias www.example.org
Alias /pages c:/projects/example/wiki/index.php
ErrorLog logs/examplewiki-error.log
CustomLog logs/examplewiki-access.log common

<Directory "c:/projects/example">
AllowOverride All
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/css text/js text/javascript application/javascript text/html
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>

</VirtualHost>
mariush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2013, 22:27   #3  |  Link
creaothceann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 358
Note that "rawsourceSeq_25_dll_20060412.7z" is a HTML error message and "tc2mp4_doom9dotorg_20070124.rar" is password-protected.

Last edited by creaothceann; 4th June 2013 at 22:29.
creaothceann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2013, 16:44   #4  |  Link
Gavino
Avisynth language lover
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,380
Wilbert, thanks for your work on the new wiki (and your efforts on the previous one too).

I notice that the history of each page has been lost with the move, with only the latest version preserved. Is there any way it can be brought across too, as it's sometimes useful (especially for authors) to look back at the history of changes to a page?
__________________
GScript and GRunT - complex Avisynth scripting made easier
Gavino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2013, 06:19   #5  |  Link
Forensic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California, USA
Posts: 121
I have never contributed before but do want to help

I just added a new example to (http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Overlay). This was my first time adding to the Wiki format and hope that I followed proper netiquette. It isn't much, but I want to walk before I run.

Last edited by Forensic; 11th June 2013 at 06:30.
Forensic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2013, 03:37   #6  |  Link
kurish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Three cheers, Wilbert. Thank you.

I bet you had a lot of other things you could've worked on, and this lurker appreciates your efforts. The wiki is a valuable resource; may it live long and prosper in its new home.

kurish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2013, 11:52   #7  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,299
@mariush

I can't get that to work. I changed the following lines in LocalSettings.php:

Code:
$wgScriptPath = "";
$wgScriptExtension = ".php";
to

Code:
$wgScriptPath = "";
$wgScriptExtension = ".php";
$wgArticlePath = "/$1";
$wgUsePathInfo = true;
So pages should appear like

http://avisynth.nl/AviSource

instead of

http://avisynth.nl/index.php/AviSource

if i understand it correctly. But when uploading the modified LocalSettings.php it makes no difference. It doesn't recognize the first url.

@creaothceann,

Will look at it.

@Gavino,

Yes something went wrong. I guess i ticked the wrong box when exporting the pages and didn't check whether the history was included when importing the pages in the new wiki. It's too late now. I modified and updated several things after importing the pages and don't want to redo that again.

@Forensic,

Yes you did fine. Go ahead.
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2013, 03:41   #8  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,084
Hello everyone,

First of all, thanks Wilbert for all your efforts on preserving the AviSynth documentation. Kudos.

I recently changed the Deringing section to Deringing & Mosquito Noise in order to add MosquitoNR.
I know they're not the same, but since ringing and mosquito noise are often loosely associated with one another I though it would no problem to do this.
I think it's better than creating a separate section just for one plugin. I may be wrong so if anyone has a better idea please do say so.

Last edited by Reel.Deel; 25th June 2013 at 03:51.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2013, 16:28   #9  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,299
Quote:
Note that "rawsourceSeq_25_dll_20060412.7z" is a HTML error message and "tc2mp4_doom9dotorg_20070124.rar" is password-protected.
I didn't realise you got them from the zip-file. The first one can be obtained here. The password of the second one is doom9.org (see filename).
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2013, 20:15   #10  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 5,582
List of bad links in the AviSynth Filter Collection, here:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...70#post1651270

LinkChecker v8.4 (v8.2 on sourceforge is bugged) here:-
http://wummel.github.io/linkchecker/
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2014, 19:52   #11  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,299
Something weird is happening on avisynth.nl.

Each time I edit a page (for example http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Convert), i don't see any content at all anymore. If you click on edit you will see it's still there, it's just not visible anymore ...

I never have seen this before, and i don't know what to do ...

http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Import empty too, what the hell?
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Filter_SDK/Cplusplus_API ditto
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Filter_SDK/avs2pcm
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Filter_...g_instructions
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Filter_...ler_optimizing
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Filter_SDK/Ben_docs
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Filter_SDK/Two-Five_SDK
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Filter_SDK/SDK_license

Last edited by Wilbert; 5th November 2014 at 20:04.
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2014, 00:24   #12  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,376
I've been Googling - I think it's this reported bug:
[RESOLVED] No wiki rendered - text OK.
also here:
Manual: Errors and symptoms: All pages have no content, but when editing a page the wiki text is there
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2014, 02:00   #13  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,270
Ah, so it may have had to do with recent server security updates bringing along a new PCRE.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2014, 02:46   #14  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,084
Strange. I've done a few edits just a couple of days ago and did not encounter that problem. I hope this can be easily resolved (the external filters page is blank ).

Edit: I also see that the view counter at the bottom of the page is also gone.

Last edited by Reel.Deel; 6th November 2014 at 02:53.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2014, 08:52   #15  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,376
Problem has spread to Main Page now...
You need to downgrade PCRE, or update MediaWiki to version 1.22.1 or newer

EDIT:
You're back! Hooray!

Last edited by raffriff42; 6th November 2014 at 14:11.
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2014, 22:04   #16  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,299
So i guess i need to update to version 1.22.1 (1.22.3?). I have no idea how to downgrade PCRE ... How do i find out which PCRE version I have, I didn't install it myself?

edit: it appears to work again, but i didn't do anything.

Last edited by Wilbert; 6th November 2014 at 22:07.
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2014, 23:12   #17  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,270
It looks like it runs FreeBSD, so if you open a commandline, then:
Code:
pkg info pcre
will give you that info. Probably better to just update wiki before it happens again, though.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2014, 04:38   #18  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,084
Wiki makeover? yay or nay? Just experimenting a little bit; would be nice to give the main page of the AviSynth Wiki an overdue makeover.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2014, 05:46   #19  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,069
I like it.

It is better for high resolution displays. Though maybe keep the white lack of background?
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2014, 19:26   #20  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,299
The text is much too small for me (i'm looking at it on a widescreen laptop). Must be even worse on a non widescreen laptop/screen.
Sorry, i can't say it's an improvement.
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.