Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th February 2013, 22:37   #1  |  Link
rustyconc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
mp4 and directshowsource

All,

A really basic question: I am using DirectShowSource to read an H264 MP4 video into VirtualDub. It works on one of my PCs, but not another - DirectShowSource on that machine does not 'support the format'. I presume there is something installed on the other computer that allows DirectShowSource, but I cannot figure out what is missing. The basics are identical between the machines: Avisynth (with the DirectShowSource.dll in plugins folder), VirtualDub, XVid, and Quicktime.

Ideas?

Thanks
R
rustyconc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 23:00   #2  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,169
It could be missing some filters like e.g. LAV Filters. DirectShowSource is usually recommended only as a last resort, though. Try ffmpegsource.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 23:23   #3  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 802
VirtualDub can open MP4 files directly, if you have the MP4 input plugin, plus the x264 VfW and AAC ACM codecs.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 23:35   #4  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,168
Render your media file is GraphEdit or GraphStudio to diagnose what is missing.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2013, 15:08   #5  |  Link
rustyconc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks for all the tips...

On the computer that already played the MP4 with DirectShowSource:

- after adding the FFMS2 files to Avisynth plugins folder, calling FFVideoSource in avs script works very nicely

- after adding the QuickTime plugin listed here and installing the x264VfW and AAC ACM codec I can load the MP4 directly into Virtualdub, and it partially works: it shows every second frame, while every other frame is a black frame.

On the PC which did not work originally
- FFVideoSource is only able to show the first 3 frames, and then returns empty frames (Virtualdub reports this Avisynth error)
- the Virtualdub plugin + codecs route behaves similarly to the other PC, showing every second frame as black

Reading around, it seems to me that FFVideoSource is my best option overall? So, I'm focusing on solving that problem. Further ideas then?

Thanks again.
R

Last edited by rustyconc; 26th February 2013 at 15:51.
rustyconc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.