Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

View Poll Results: Do you like the concept of this Beta version?
Yes 7 53.85%
No 6 46.15%
Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st December 2012, 20:51   #1  |  Link
S1N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
EncodeX x264 GUI

You can view screenshots and download from HERE.

Last edited by S1N; 8th January 2013 at 06:56.
S1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2013, 16:12   #2  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,084
Simple x264 Launcher and tx264 look much better than this.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2013, 22:31   #3  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,158
Don't work in Win32.
Attached Images
 
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2013, 01:46   #4  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,756
Probably compiled with VS2012 without Update-1. Either that or the "XP compatibility" option (toolset) has not been selected.

If so, the resulting binary doesn't run under Windows XP. Support for Windows XP has been re-added to VS2012 with Update-1, but still needs a special option.

(Might also be possible that the executable has been compiled as a 64-Bit binary and you were trying to run on a 32-Bit Windows)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 2nd January 2013 at 01:49.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2013, 03:41   #5  |  Link
S1N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Indeed it was compiled with VS2012 without Update-1.
I will install the update and I'll be uploading v0.2 shortly.
In this release I have added support for "Intended output file size",
employed mediainfo.dll ,and hopefully will have resolved any issues encountered while trying to run on Windows XP.
S1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2013, 05:27   #6  |  Link
S1N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Version 0.2 is now available for download HERE
S1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2013, 10:45   #7  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,158
Version 0.2 work now, but with some issues:
- I can't access some buttons: CABAC, Interlaced, ...
- I can't see some boxes: # of Slices, ...

(Using a 22 inch. 1920x1080 Desktop)
Attached Images
 
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2013, 15:24   #8  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,245
- analysis and "Input/Output" is empty,..
- allows the usage of values that conflict with the specified profile@level
- crashed (grayed out + not responding) when I made a typo in an avisynth script I used as source
- doesn't delete temp files

missing features:
- audio can't be passed through
- drag&drop
- dvd/blu-ray/vcd input

-> you might want to add somewhere that this is alpha or pre-alpha and not beta software,...
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 07:52   #9  |  Link
S1N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
EncodeX v0.3 now available for download.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Version 0.2 work now, but with some issues:
- I can't access some buttons: CABAC, Interlaced, ...
- I can't see some boxes: # of Slices, ...

(Using a 22 inch. 1920x1080 Desktop)
v0.3 is now available for download HERE.

*In this version I attempted to correct the display issues that tebasuna51 was experiencing.
*Ability to save your current profile, limited to only 1 profile for now.
*Dragging/Dropping of the source file is now incorporated as well.
*Deletes temp files.
*Added Direct Copy Audio.

Plans to add re-size resolution support very soon.

As always, anyone who is willing to test and give feedback is more than appreciated.

Last edited by S1N; 3rd January 2013 at 12:57.
S1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 07:50   #10  |  Link
S1N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
EncodeX v0.3.1 now available for download.

Added in this release:

-Ability to re-size resolution(common/custom)
-Cropping of borders.
-Improved saving and loading of user profile.
-Minor usability tweaks.

EncodeX v0.3.1 is available for download HERE.

Plans to add some controls to the "Analysis" tab in the next release.

Last edited by S1N; 5th January 2013 at 08:49.
S1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 09:08   #11  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,158
Solved my issues with v0.3.1.
Thanks!
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 13:25   #12  |  Link
S1N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
EncodeX v0.3.2 released!

-Added support for viewing the log file of your last encode(regardless of when your last encode was).

-More minor usability/appearance tweaks.

EncodeX v0.3.2 is available for download HERE.
S1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 16:48   #13  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,084
1) don't use lame .zip compression. Use .7z (ULTRA preset). 15 MB (zip) vs 10MB (LZMA)
2) why do you have to include cmd.exe in archive?
3) Why did you set form style to toolbox? Lack of minimize button.
4) why dropboxes are editable? You can type some random letters there
5) During encoding process i can not move window?! Also window is semi-transparent for some unknown reason.
6) Progress bar is totally broken
7) I can not even terminate encoding !
8) in which aspect your gui will better than x264 simple launcher or tx264 ?

This looks more like pre-alpha than beta LOL.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 02:37   #14  |  Link
S1N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
1) don't use lame .zip compression. Use .7z (ULTRA preset). 15 MB (zip) vs 10MB (LZMA)
2) why do you have to include cmd.exe in archive?
3) Why did you set form style to toolbox? Lack of minimize button.
4) why dropboxes are editable? You can type some random letters there
5) During encoding process i can not move window?! Also window is semi-transparent for some unknown reason.
6) Progress bar is totally broken
7) I can not even terminate encoding !
8) in which aspect your gui will better than x264 simple launcher or tx264 ?

This looks more like pre-alpha than beta LOL.
I'd like to thank you for your feedback! I will be correcting mostly all of your concerns. I have been coding EncodeX for nearly 1 month now and it is only aimed at being an alternative to any other GUI.
S1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 03:02   #15  |  Link
Groucho2004
ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
1) don't use lame .zip compression. Use .7z (ULTRA preset). 15 MB (zip) vs 10MB (LZMA)
2) why do you have to include cmd.exe in archive?
3) Why did you set form style to toolbox? Lack of minimize button.
4) why dropboxes are editable? You can type some random letters there
5) During encoding process i can not move window?! Also window is semi-transparent for some unknown reason.
6) Progress bar is totally broken
7) I can not even terminate encoding !
8) in which aspect your gui will better than x264 simple launcher or tx264 ?

This looks more like pre-alpha than beta LOL.
The problem here is not so much that this program is unusable but that the author failed to learn basics about programming in general and Windows programming in particular (Your points 3-7 clearly show this).

@S1N
How about learning programming first and then releasing your software? I don't want to discourage you but you really need at least some basics (for example understanding how message processing works in Windows or what common controls are supposed to do).

Also - another encoding gui? Really?
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 03:46   #16  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
5) During encoding process i can not move window?! Also window is semi-transparent for some unknown reason
This sounds like the program will call a blocking encode() function from it's main thread, which does not return until the encode is done.

If so, this will prevent the main thread from doing any "message pumping" while the encode is running and therefore the program cannot react to user input.

The proper solution is to do all lengthy work in a "background" (worker) thread, while the "main" thread continues message pumping...

(This of course requires a bit more complex logic to "update" the GUI form the background thread, because only the "main" thread may access GUI controls)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 6th January 2013 at 03:49.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 09:57   #17  |  Link
S1N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
This sounds like the program will call a blocking encode() function from it's main thread, which does not return until the encode is done.

If so, this will prevent the main thread from doing any "message pumping" while the encode is running and therefore the program cannot react to user input.

The proper solution is to do all lengthy work in a "background" (worker) thread, while the "main" thread continues message pumping...

(This of course requires a bit more complex logic to "update" the GUI form the background thread, because only the "main" thread may access GUI controls)
Background worker is now fixed .. Ability to terminate and pause encoding will follow very soon! Plans to look into the progress bar accuracy as well for the next release.
S1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2013, 13:39   #18  |  Link
S1N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
EncodeX v0.4 released!

Available for download HERE.

-Progress bar is now deadly accurate during x264 encoding process.
-GUI is now fully functional and responsive during encoding process.
-Drop down lists(excluding bitrate and filesize) no longer allow custom user input text.
-Zip file will now be compressed LZMA, resulting in smaller file size.
-No longer including cmd.exe in zip file. (oops)
-Now includes the standard minimize button.
-Minor stability fixes.
S1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2013, 16:19   #19  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,084
crash at the very begining



Quote:
-Zip file will now be compressed LZMA, resulting in smaller file size.
7zip compression is still higher (10MB vs 12MB)

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 7th January 2013 at 16:21.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2013, 16:39   #20  |  Link
S1N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
crash at the very begining




7zip compression is still higher (10MB vs 12MB)
Apparently the progress bar is a little too deadly accurate, I thought I had it sorted out. And I'll have to look into the other archiving methods. 2MB is a pretty big difference for such a small program.

Thank you for testing and reporting back so soon!
S1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.