Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th November 2012, 15:39   #1  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Line flickering problem on doorframes etc on Progressive video

Hi all

Firstly, I apologise in advance for being a relative noob at all this stuff

I've got a DVD in VOB format where at the beginning of the scene (and in other parts) there's horizon & vertical line flickering which is *really* offputting, and I want to try and get rid of it the best I can when encoding it.

Here's a screenshot to show you what I mean, as a screenshot is going to show much better than me trying to explain it properly! xD

http://gyazo.com/1ed09b9ef10ddbb3e63...png?1352036954

As you can see, the jagged lines on the doorframe close to the 2 people, and the lines of the tiles on the floor, and most noticably at the bottom of the door in the left background, there is also flickering on the door handles in the background on the 2 doors to the left of the 2 people.

This screenshot is from the untouched vob file, source is PAL and 16:9 Progressive, there's no visual interlace at all in any of the entire video, just these annoying jagged lines!

Just some other info for what I use when encoding

MeGUI (latest dev version)
Avisynth 2.5
QTGMC deinterlacer
SDB Profiles for MeGUI
DGIndexNV

Also, to kill 2 birds with 1 stone (in other words, I might as well ask another question at the same time) I have these avisynth scripts set up for use in avisynth script creator in MeGUI, do these look okay for use with each type of video, or am I missing something that should be there?

#Interlaced 30fps BFF script
SetMemoryMax(1400)
setmtmode(5, 4)
<input>
setmtmode(2)
AssumeBFF()
SelectEven()
<crop>
QTGMC( Preset="Slower", edithreads=1 )

#Interlaced 30fps TFF script
SetMemoryMax(1400)
setmtmode(5, 4)
<input>
setmtmode(2)
AssumeTFF()
SelectEven()
<crop>
QTGMC( Preset="Slower", edithreads=1 )

#Progressive script
SetMemoryMax(1400)
setmtmode(5, 4)
<input>
setmtmode(2)
<crop>
QTGMC( Preset="Slower", InputType=1 )

#Telecined script
<input>
TFM()
TDecimate()
<crop>

Thanks in advance guys, I'm a novice with avisynth etc, so you'll have to bear with me when explaining stuff

Kind Regards
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2012, 23:07   #2  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Anyone able to help please? Thank you,.
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2012, 02:17   #3  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 714
try an antialiasing method for the jagged lines like this :

NNEDI3(field=-2)
Merge(SelectEven(),SelectOdd())
#note: for progressive video
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2012, 14:38   #4  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Thanks, will give this a try
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2012, 14:46   #5  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
I've just tried it and its made it worse, the lines have like a wave effect when there is motion...

Any other ideas at all?

Thanks.
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2012, 15:18   #6  |  Link
LemMotlow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 237
d l t d

Last edited by LemMotlow; 1st March 2013 at 10:49.
LemMotlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2012, 15:22   #7  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
a) yeah, the source is Progressive, but its been badly deinterlaced... can anything be done about it?

b) Alright thanks, so SelectEven() should be at the bottom of the script?

c) <crop> is in there as part of the 'default' script, if it stays as <crop> it doesnt crop at all, the <crop> bit changes if I use MeGUI and crop something, its like a placeholder for it.

d) I did some reading up on the QTGMC script and apparently its quite good at removing artifacts from Progressive video, so I thought I'd give it a try. I use it for general deinterlacing normally.
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2012, 15:31   #8  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Btw, for a Progressive video shall I put SelectEven() at the bottom of the script, or shall I only use that for Interlaced content?

I've now changed my avs default script for Progressive to:-

<input>
<crop>

<input> changes to the location of the .dgi file when I open it in the avisynth script creator in meGUI as does the <crop> line if I have to crop something.

Is that alright?

Thanks for your help/suggestions btw.

Last edited by simcut; 11th November 2012 at 15:36.
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2012, 04:06   #9  |  Link
LemMotlow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 237
d l t d

Last edited by LemMotlow; 1st March 2013 at 10:48.
LemMotlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2012, 18:55   #10  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Thanks for your reply, will upload a sample of the source VOB, what's the best way of cutting part of the vob?

Thanks.
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2012, 05:07   #11  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by simcut View Post
Twhat's the best way of cutting part of the vob?
One way is to open the VOB in DGIndex and use the [ and ] buttons to isolate the piece you want. Then File->Save Project and Demux Video. Upload the resulting M2V.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2012, 14:11   #12  |  Link
LemMotlow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 237
d l t d

Last edited by LemMotlow; 1st March 2013 at 10:46.
LemMotlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2012, 02:22   #13  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Okay, thanks, will do this tomorrow, thanks guys
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 17:13   #14  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Really sorry folks for never posting up the vob, had some computer problems.

I'm just about to demux the video and will post it.
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 17:30   #15  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by simcut View Post
a) yeah, the source is Progressive, but its been badly deinterlaced... can anything be done about it?
Who deinterlaced it? What is the DVD and where did you get it? Rule 6 red flags are waving.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 21:34   #16  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Who deinterlaced it? What is the DVD and where did you get it? Rule 6 red flags are waving.
Hiya

It was in response to someone saying that it was badly deinterlaced (and I agree, the company who put it on DVD have really made a mockery of doing it!)

I bought the DVD and have a physical copy of it, I am trying to encode from Source DVD to mp4 x264

Will be quite happy to prove the legitimacy of it.

Bit frustrating spending money on a DVD and then find out it looks like shit when u play it :\

I'm just in the process of making an .iso from the source dvd so that I can do work on it without having to keep the dvd in the drive, will put up the demuxed video in a bit

Last edited by simcut; 27th January 2013 at 21:38.
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 23:05   #17  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Right, here's the demuxed video at long last.

http://www51.zippyshare.com/v/16656039/file.html

and here's a screengrab of what DGIndex shows for it - http://i.imgur.com/Id08CiE.jpg

it shows it as Interlaced TFF 25fps (so must be PAL)

If you want me to upload the .dgi as well let me know

Thanks in advance, hope you can help with this, you'll really notice the problem on the doorframes etc..

Last edited by simcut; 27th January 2013 at 23:09.
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2013, 23:29   #18  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Please can anyone help? Thank you
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2013, 23:52   #19  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
The source is trashed, there is no magic bullet.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2013, 00:14   #20  |  Link
simcut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Damn no hope with it at all?

Annoying to say the least, shocking that it was put out for release this way.
simcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.